We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for my short trip”

The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ideal for my short trip”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This Hotel/B&B was an ideal location for our 2 night trip to Royal Leamington Spa to see a concert. It is very clean and friendly and though they only offer bed and breakfast it was very good. It is located in a quiet street but near enough to shops and nightlife.

It is within an easy walk, 5/10 minutes, of shops around the centre of the town and a beautiful park. It is small and very family friendly. The Lansdowne has small rooms and you get a TV and there was tea and coffee making facilities and the bathroom was adequate but you would need to bring your own shower gel.

The breakfast, I liked it.
There was a good range of cereal, fruit juice tea and coffee. The bacon and eggs were perfect, but the sausage and the beans do serve only to fill up a few square centimetres of spare plate space, but in saying that I did enjoy it.

The Hotel has some off road parking and also has a limited number of spaces at the front of it; Leamington Spa is a nice town with some good architecture, gardens and quite lively nightlife.
I never was in the town before and it surprised me how much it had in it.

The management team are very pleasant and I would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: i stayed in room no.9 and was happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    74
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
23
61
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a great temporary base for us as we went on a family visit to Royal Leamington Spa to see family. It is very clean and friendly and though they only offer bed and breakfast it was very good.
It is within an easy walk, a few hundred yards, of shops around the centre of the town and a beautiful park. It is small and very family friendly.
They are digging up the road outside at the moment but the heavy machinery should be a good bit up the road by now.
The hotel tried to charge us for paying our bill with a credit card but most people do not carry huge sums of cash with them. Anyway, what happened to profit? Is that not supposed to cover overheads? Does the payment of a bill come to business people as a surprise that they "Forgot" to include in their pricing structure?
When queried the owner forgot about the charge. Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: The best room is number 9. It seeemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sootyreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Lansdowne has small rooms and some tired decor but the management team are very pleasant. The room facilites are OK in that the TV and kettle were modern and efficient. As mentioned elsewhere, the shower gel is woefully inadequate and it is time to invest in some better towels.
The breakfast -- I liked it. There was a good range of cereal, fruit juice te and coffee. The bacon and eggs were perfect, but the sausage and the beans do serve only to fill up a few square centimetres of spare plate space. I never understand why toast is cold at breakfast either - do they toast 100 slices at 7 a.m?
The location is good, in a quieter street ( at least in a town plagued by insomniac boy racers) and very close to shops and nightlife. Given that there is little price difference, if I had had a car I would have chosen one of the characterless hotels with better facilities outside the town... but I didn't. Overall, not bad but attention to a few details would improve it considerably.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevalRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I spent just the one night at the Lansdowne whilst on a day trip to Leamington Spa. The Hotel itself is modest with some off road parking and is a ten minute walk from the centre of the town. The night I stayed, there was some disturbance in an adjoining room (the police arrived at one point) which did disturb me for an hour or so that night. Really this was a problem with the guests that night rather than the hotel and the manager did apologise and seemed genuinely concerned that I may have been disturbed. The room itself was small and basic but quite comfortable and clean. I am a light eater and the breakfast was ample for me although (referring to a previous reviewers comment) I did smile when I saw the sausage! Leamington Spar is a nice town with some good architecture, gardens and quite lively night life.
If I was to have another short stay in the town then I would be happy to stay at the Lansdowne although I would probably look elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

very well located traditional small hotel with good breakfast.
a really good choice for families visiting their students at warwick uni

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWiggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Small but clean room, the bed was so soft we had back ache the next day. cold breakfast with 1 (really, just one) of the smallest sausages I have ever had in a hotel and a teaspoon of baked beans! given this is the only meal they serve you would think they would make more of an effort Friendly staff, but they really scrimp on the breakfast. . Take your own toiletries- the shower gel is rubbish. Close to Leamington town centre which is the saving grace of this mediocre guest house.

Room Tip: Take your own toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

mainly very good hotel . Towels not up to standard, scimped on some breakfast items eg beans. Having beans on toast came with about 20 beans and one slice of very small unbuttered toast.. asked for more and did oblige. It made us laugh as this then was cold.Very friendly staff and i would come again to leamington. If they get breakfast sorted we may come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peoplescollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.2 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
2.4 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 87 Clarendon Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leamington Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing