We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appallingly rude staff ruin this potentially lovely hotel”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed in the Episode hotel as we had to pick our daughter up from university. The morning after our stay, we rang reception to ask what time breakfast finished, and were told 10am.

I arrived downstairs at 09.55 and when staff finally appeared just around 10.00, were rudely refused breakfast and even the time on my phone was questioned.

Even had it been a minute or a few minutes after, which it wasn’t, it would be reasonable to show some flexibility to guests. This is not a military camp, but a hotel where guests should be the priority not the convenience of the kitchen staff. It was clear they had made up their minds to stop serving and were not expecting anyone else to come down. Rudeness of this kind in a hotel is intolerable.

In the many years we have been staying at hotels all around the world, we have never been spoken to in this manner. On checking out, we registered our complaint and at least the breakfast as deducted from the cost, but in any hotel to be treated in the way we were is entirely unacceptable. The Episode pitches itself as a boutique hotel that seems to aspire to high standards, the building is lovely and the hotel has potential. However, the service currently falls woefully short. We were not the only guests unhappy. I observed two people in the evening attempting to get food from the bar menu (advertised as being 11am to 10pm) at 7.30 guests were being refused bar food and being told they could only eat in the restaurant, as they were too busy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 769 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were not expecting to stay in Leamington Spa but the weather was so bad we decided to stay overnight and return home early the next day. Staff were friendly and helpful but when you are away from home what you want is a really comfortable bed and even if room 33 had had the best furniture/bathroom in the hotel it would have been let down by the bed. It was lumpy and every time we moved it creaked and groaned. The duvet was cheap and so were the pillows. Not much sleep was had and on a Sunday morning when I should have wanted a cosy lie in I couldnt wait to get up and go home. However, the breakfast was really nice and the waiter very attentive. Shame about the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were astonished at how awful this hotel was. We had been bought a 3 night stay in the hotel by friends as a short honeymoon. The hotel were aware it was our honeymoon, having liaised with our friends about it, although they didn't even congratulate us on arrival. The room was pretty average, although had no proper window. Service was shockingly poor. Breakfast was horrible, pre-cooked, extremely cheap. On the second day we were served toast with mould on. When we pointed this out, rather than receiving an apology we were treated in a very surly manner by the waitress. The hotel was extremely overpriced and I would certainly never go back. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julietbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

stopped at the episode in june while visiting a conference... the hotel was lovelly, nothing like the reviews that i had read.. the staff where very nice especially the blonde girl behind reception (who i quite fancied!!) and couldn't do enough for me... the only downside was that we was actually in a little heatwave and the hotel was way to hot.. made it very uncomfortable in the rooms... although that wouldn't put me off from staying in the future...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bird-harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding at a nearby venue. Checked into Room 31 - not sure it was the same hotel as the pictures on the website! The room was small, smelt stale and had a charming view of a drainpipe but that was the best bit. What we expect from an overnight stay is a good nights sleep and an enjoyable breakfast. What we got was a room with creaking floor boards, every door squeaking, a toilet that "screamed" when flushed (this could be stopped by turning on the cold tap), a shaver light that stopped working when the razor was plugged in and one set of towels for a double room. On climbing into the very small bed, we found that also creaked and it was impossible to turn over quietly; the bed was rock hard and had a positive downward slope towards the head end. Needless to say, we got no sleep and were making tea at 4a.m. There was no proper ventilation as we overlooked a void with the kitchen beneath and we were thankful it was not a hot night. We know the exact time the kitchen started work as we heard it and smelt it. Breakfast was extremely average and the restaurant completely understaffed. Felt genuinely sorry for the girls working there who were very pleasant. Three other couples we spoke to also described their stay as diabolical and on complaining when checking out, it was clear the Receptionist had heard it all before. I would like to invite the owner of this hotel to spend a night in Room 31 and see how he gets on as it was clearly not fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueeyes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed at Episode for 2 nights in the week as i was in the area on business. I booked in late on a Wednesday, reception staff were very helpful and advised me to eat in the bar as it was late, i had steak and a few beers and it was excellent just what i needed after a busy day on the road. Rooms were comfortable just what i expected. During my stay i made full use of the facilites which included a treatment in the beauty salon which was excellent. Restaurant looked good unfortuately i didn't get to use it. Car park was full on arrival but i found adequate parking outside the hotel. The only downside of my stay was the reception staff forgot my early morning wake up call.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

the hotel is situated just a short walk from the town centre, our room was very spacious with an ironong board, iron, flatscreen tv and stereo radio, bottled water was also supplied. The bathroom was beautifully fitted an tiled (room 28) and the power shower was the most powerful ive ever seen, and im a bathroom fitter, the internal walls and floors were solid,no flimsy plasterboard so soundproofing was excellent. We were given a discount voucher to eat in the restaurant but decided to explore the town, breakfast is a buffet style with full english, fresh fruit,cereal and pastries, my advice is dont leave it until the last minute. we did and they were starting to clear stuff away, we paid £60 for a double and felt it was a good deal, there are 15 spaces on the car park and we just got the last spot but you can park easily on the road opposit with no restrictions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: $95 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing