We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a two night break on special deal. It was lovely the town is really interesting and should be seen. The staff in the hotel are so friendly and helpful could not do enough for you and nothing too much trouble. Room was nice but very warm but then we did have a lovely day. If your going to Leamington it is worth going to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 747 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in an Executive Room. Pros and cons are as follows:

Pros:
- The location is great, it is only a 10 minute walk to most areas of the town so perfect for shopping, eating etc. It's only a 10 minute drive to Warwick Castle too, which is a great day out.
- The shower and bath in our room were great.
- Nice sized room (didn't see the size of standard or superior rooms though)

Cons:
- My main complaint was the room we were initially given (room 5). We had paid to upgrade to an executive room and it was only when we got into bed at 11:30 that we realised the mattress was broken (and certainly not possible to sleep on) as well as being heavily stained. The daily room inspection should have spotted this so why were we given this room. When I complained, the only staff member in the hotel was somebody who had only been with the hotel a short time and didn't know where extra mattresses were kept, didn't know how to check the computer for spare rooms. It certainly wasn't good enough for him to be left on his own when he clearly had no idea how to help (not his fault, the hotel's fault). We eventually got a change of room to room 9 which was much nicer.....which begs the question, given it was empty why hadn't we been given that one originally? There were no apologies about having to move all of our stuff across at midnight and the inconvenience of it all.
- The bar is VERY expensive. A bottle of beer and a malibu and coke came to over £8.
- The scrambled eggs at breakfast came very under-cooked and inedible (3 other people also sent their eggs back) - when you are paying this sort of money you expect the hotel to employ a chef capable of cooking eggs.
- Car parking spaces are the smallest spaces I have ever seen!
- The waitresses at breakfast, although attentive were quite miserable (especially the blonde one) and you felt like a bit of an inconvenience.
- Would be better for the hotel to provide each table with their own coffee pot at breakfast rather than having to keep ask the staff every time your cup is empty.
- Dinner menu was very expensive which put us off having dinner there

Overall, average at best and we probably would come back to Leamington Spa but not to this hotel.

P.S. A couple of recommendations for great meals out are Kayal (Indian) and Il Piccolino's (Italian) - we had a really lovely meal at them both.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HattersOnTour86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Good stay at the episode! The hotel is very central and close to all the attractions in Leamington. Receptionist was very welcoming. The hotel is modern style and rooms reflect this - clean, spacious and modern inside - although a little tired looking!
Leamington has got lots of shops and nice bars - it has also got lots of parks all writhing easy walking distance. Breakfast was okay - the blonde girl serving however was very grumpy! Would stay here again should we return to Leamington and was great value for only £60.00 a night including breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've been there just for one night for a business trip.
The hotel is quite clean and comfortable, but I didn't enjoy very much the breakfast.
The buffet is quite poor and when I ordered scrambled eggs with bacon I got a very small portion.
Anyway, I spent 80 GBP for bed and breakfast, which is a reasonable price in Leamington.
The TV has just 6 channels, only in English.
There's non frigobar, but all the necessary for coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del_Spooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice location to walk to the town. Generally nice staff. Breakfast very basic (and they don't have beans!) Room for us was nice but not for those who can't jump into bed from the bottom end. Overall a good experience

Room Tip: Don't go for the loft room if you can't jump into bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_Ste17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and i came to Leamington for our anniversary. I have to say i thought the hotel was great! We enjoyed our time here and would recommend as a base to anyone coming to leamington Spa for an affordable break. A few points for improvement but nthing that should put anyone off going at all! We had a lovely room which was spacious and spotlessly clean and also used the treatment rooms for a massage which was soo nice and relaxing and nicely decorated too.

Improvements :
1. Room 5 does not have a bolt/deadlock on the inside. The door does not open from outside but i would assume staff can still enter with a key. this would improve traveller safety in the room if there was a bolt inside.
2. Bar prices are VERY high. I have never paid so much for two drinks, even in central London.
3. Matress is in dire need of replacing. Comfortable but lumpy.
4. Invest in a digitbox for each room. We didnt watch much television but only channels 1 - 5 availbale and digitboxes are very affordable now.

Plus Points:
1. Spacious and well presented
2. Spotlessley clean
3. Breakfast was lovely. well cooked and a good amount on offer.
4. Bar area and restaurant very nice.
5. Staff polite and helpful
6. Treatment rooms very nice

Room Tip: room five was very nice! as long as they replace the Mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stecky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a two night break. The staff and hotel were great but our sleep both nights were disturbed firstly by the guests in the neighbouring room returning at 1 am and being able to hear every part of their conversation whilst they got ready for bed (weird for us and I'm sure they would've been mortified if they'd known!!) and tonight I am writing this waiting for a function to finish directly under our room. It would have been nice to have been pre-warned about the disco so we could've made other plans or asked to be located elsewhere in the hotel. I would think twice about returning just for these two reasons which is a shame because otherwise the hotel ticks all the right boxes for a visit to Leamington Spa.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
763 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: $89 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing