We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good location”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed at the Falstaff on business, yes the decor is a little dated but for the cost of the stay i'm not sure what more people expect?! Its in a good location with a nice atmosphere and the included breakfast was lovely. A good selection and good service to match.
If you are looking for a good value comfortable hotel i would recommend.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank bezza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

I'm too shocked after mystay here to even write. It's disgusting and I didn't feel comfortable in the most run down hotel room/hostel I have ever tried to sleep in. Dirt, noise, poor staff, poor manners, awful food and no services whatsoever make this faulty towers. Avoid at all costs if a business traveller. Such a pity as poor choice elsewhere it seems.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOGETHER_WE_TRAVEL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed here with work for one night. If I was booked in for more than one night I would have moved myself to another hotel!
Please don't be fooled by the entrance and bar as the rooms are extremely dated and not particularly comfortable!
For £65 it's not a great deal and is just off the main road so really noisy. I think my room was above a generator and the light from the road shined into my room even though the curtains were closed!
Bar service was ok and whilst the two guys working were trying their best they seemed extremely stretched. Consequently service was slow, and the bar wasn't cheap!
As per the other reviews on here we will be recommending that this hotel is removed from our business hotel options.
Thank goodness I was with two friends from work otherwise it would have been one miserable night!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28montgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Grandiose foyer&reception area are misleading..as is the first imressipn of your room-spacious with massive bed...but although not dirty,just not very clean.layers of dust on walls&window..bathroom is extremely dated&very basic(not even posh toiletries to soften the blow!) I wouldn't recommend eating in the restaurant and you'd be better getting breakfast elsewhere unless you're happy with very basic cooked breakfast,tinned fruit,toast or yoghurt..not a pastry in sight and only basic selection of bread and pieces of fresh fruit..personally ill be going elsewhere next time and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I, along with 3 of my work colleagues, had the misfortune of being booked into this hotel by my company, for 2 separate business meetings in Nov 2010. On both trips we were all given completely different rooms, none of which were of any quality. I found my rooms to be unclean, tired and dated, to say the least. Other issues were that only scalding hot water came out of the shower head, meaning I was eventually ushered by a member of staff into an unoccupied room one morning just to use the shower in there! One of the bathrooms smelt and there was a leak behind the sink. Mould could be found on the bathroom tiles. The net curtains were ripped. The spare blanket that was issued smelt as though a dog had been curled up on it! One of my colleagues arrived initially to find that his room had not been cleaned, even though we arrived well after the specified arrival time. We were all extremely unhappy with our accomodation and got talking with other business guests staying at this hotel, who felt the same as we did. They also intended on informing their company to take this hotel off their books from now on. Stay here at your peril!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkey082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days on Business over a weekend during January. I paid for 1 day while my company picked up the 2nd days cost. I booked over the web with the hotel as the cost was £65 for the King Size bed...

On arrival was given room 31 which had a double bed, no king size available. The room was small but fine for a short stay. Straight away I could hear some kind of music constantly playing from somewhere near the room I was staying in but couldn't locate it.

Having left for the evening for dinner everything seemed fine, we arrived back late evening and enjoyed a drink in the bar before bed. First thing in the morning, 6am the music started again and the noise from downstairs was unbearable. Room 31 is directly above the dining area and it turns out the hotel lobby speakers which are built into the ceiling causes all the noise in the room.

We asked to be moved and this time were given a king size bed.... This room was quiet, this time the only problem was the bed was made from 2 separate sections which were different heights, it made it difficult to sleep close to my partner... It wasn't the best... But it was only for 1 more night...

Finally the room we were moved to only had a bath, no shower... Who takes a bath in a hotel in this day and age?

Location, the hotel is a winner, very short walk to the town centre and within a nice quiet street.

Breakfast was pretty poor, we went down at 8.30am to be told the delivery hadn't arrived so no bread for toast and a hot meal would take 20mins to make....

I was still billed £10 for this

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJohnAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked 3 night new year celebration stay, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was a good size, clean, comfortable bed (decent pillows for a change), good shower. Food was good,in fact too much for us. Entertainment was okay not brilliant. Good location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken.dobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: $91 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing