We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst but not the best”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not the worst but not the best”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and nice comfy bed. Quiet and nice tv. Lay out a bit of a warren. Breakfast was ok but not outstanding. Nice lunch but medium rare steak was medium well done. Tasted ok though. Ok for business but not for a romantic getaway.in between Warwick and leamington Spa and opposite Warwick College.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DMVEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for completing your review. I have passed your comments to the relevant departments who would like to convey their thanks also. Quality checks should be taking place by waiting staff during your meal. I am sorry if this did not take place on this occasion. I do hope that you consider the hotel when staying in the area again. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    130
    124
    130
    105
See reviews for
61
211
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
298 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Only stayed one night. Room was tired but clean and not as large as I expected. I am a Best western fan so will always pick those first as normally they are very consistent but this was tired and although the staff were pleasant and wanted to help, things like delivering the paper to the wrong room and showing you to a filthy table for breakfast are small avoidable things that can taint your view on an establishment. definitely not worth the slagging given by others and not worth an excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bill,

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. You comments are appreciated and will be used by the team here to prevent future repetition. Overall improvements are currently being made which I hope you will recognise when staying in the hotel in the future. Thank you once again for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Menu in the restaurant is very limited for their evening service & none of the meals arrived at the same time, friendly staff & the rooms weren't to shabby, some don't have showers though, probably one of the worst best westerns I have stayed in, won't be back

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank malbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
PRESTON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business / leisure with a friend check in ok room clean but very dated. Got back late and tried to order some food rang reception no answer so had to go down to order only sandwiches available and when they arrived were stale. Got woken in early hours by fellow residents shouting & banging on doors. Went down for breakfast just after 8 and wasn't even set up. Asked for glasses for juice and the answer was sorry just waiting for then to be washed. Then had to ask for bowls for cereal and then discovered milk was off after we had poured on cereal! No one came to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee . I asked myself is this a hotel??? Really bad we complained and got a refund for the breakfast and sandwiches but felt we should have had a full refund for such a bad experience. Puts me off using this chain again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PrestonNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Hotel provided a very good service to myself and my husband. The staff were excellent and the service was fantastic. The beds were that comfortable I asked where the mattresses were purchased. I cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for completing your review following your recent stay at the hotel. Your comments are really appreciated by the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting the area. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my fiancee for one night in October 2013. We were there for a 40th birthday do which was also in the hotel. We were put in room 60 which is a bit pokey, yet clean. However, there was a lot of stairs to climb (more flights than Richard Branson) & lots of corridors to navigate through. The worst thing about the room was the shower. There was no power in it at all & it kept changing temperature when on. On the bright side, there was a fan & the Internet worked well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SLO2BET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

For a 3 star hotel I found it excellent value for money. The room was clean and well furnished, with a good Tv , coffee & tea making facilities. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good indeed. Nothing was to much trouble. I will definitely be returning to this hotel when next in
Leamington Spar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Graham

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been circulated around the team here. They too would like to convey their appreciation also. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Property: Falstaff Hotel
Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing