We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cuisine”
Review of Kayal

Kayal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $48
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kayal - The first authentic Kerala seafood speciality - has become the most popular of its kind to the people of Britain and this family run group of restaurant has become a favourite with dedication and passion for good food. Numerous awards and recognitions proved them distinctive to the normal fellow restaurants. 'Healthiest Restaurant Award' proved that Kayal do care about healthy food. Kayal is all about tradition, qualities, discoveries, fresh ingredients and aromas. Facilities: Entertaining Clients, Groups, Private Dining, Reservations, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Dessert and Bar Scene.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the cuisine”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Loved the food!!
I am from the southern part of India. So, I usually favour such restaurants :-)

Visited on a friday evening, and it was quite busy. The taste is very close to the authentic South Indian taste (except of course, the spice level :-D ). I wouldn't call this Kerala cuisine. They served other dishes as well, like dosa, kesari etc. which were all equally tasty.
The staff were very courteous. Overall an enjoyable dining experience.

Will be definitely visint again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    195
    57
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely atmosphere and great service.
Everything tasted really fresh and the mixed seafood curry was the best, shall definitely be going back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You must eat here!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fabulous curry. Attentive service. Nice atmosphere. I go every month and and love it every time. I also bring lots of American friends and they love it too. If you like mushrooms and peas I always get the curry with that in it. The only thing I don't like us they charge for rice. But all Asian and Indian restaurants do too here in the UK.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As I usually favour Punjabi, I thought I'd try the Kerala based cuisine out before taking my mother to this restaurant (she used to work out in Kerala). I was not disappointed and found the food refreshing and light yet filling.

Yes there is a bias towards fish (just look at where Kerala is located on a map) but the lamb and chicken dishes went down well with my fellow diners. There is also a healthy vegetarian selection.

The staff were attentive and helped with very useful advice, even when this meant we ordered less food; a refreshing change.

Don't pop in here if your after a post pub belly burner, it's not that kind of place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, service and value”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A great evening with tasty food, not too hot, not too heavy. Interesting breads, delicious vegetables, good atmosphere. Very attentive service without being intrusive. Lamb special tasty but not hot. Spicy prawn with juicy tomato sauce. Good value including wines.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayal also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Kayal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing