We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply depressing experience”
Review of Grand Union - CLOSED

Grand Union
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tapas & Specials Tuesday - SundayBrunch, Tapas, A la Carte Friday to Sunday
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deeply depressing experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is quite possibly one of the worst places we have ever eaten. Cold, overpriced food which we had a to wait a ridiculous amount of time for, inexperienced staff struggling to cope and very rude manageress. And dirty table and floor. Horrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyQ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Live Music Night”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I brought a party of 18 people to the Grand Union on their friday night live music night. It was a great night with a great intimate atmosphere, in this lovely small pub. Although we were a large group the manageress and staff had reserved an area, decorated with candles/tea lights to create a lovely ambiance, added extra seating and made us feel very welcome. We all enjoyed the variety of live music on offer and look forward to returning in the near future. Excellent night !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
3 Thank musicmeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Family Christmas Get Together”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our party of eight, four brothers and our wives, met for our annual Christmas get together at the Grand Union for dinner. We opted for the Christmas dinner menu set at £29 per person. This turned out to be excellent value for money. There were a few choices for each course but that was enough to satisfy us. The food quality and quantity was good to very good. The service was efficient, friendly and informal. The ambiance of the restaurant is quirky in an interesting/nice way. On the night of our get together there was live music provided by a very good, versatile, solo vocalist.
The restaurant is rather small and the music, although good, was too loud to permit normal dinner party conversation. This was a shame because the main reason for our get together was to catch up on each others gossip. After the meal we retired to the bar so that we could converse without the need for megaphones.
In conclusion, well worth a visit but chose your night carefully based on your preference for lively music or peaceful intimacy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NTFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Celebration with friends”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First time on going to the Grand Union, after the booking, we checked Trip Advisor and became a little concerned as several negative reviews. On arrival we were greeted and taken to our table. All good, pleasant staff and quirky surroundings. We ordered champagne as it was a celebration and we all decided to have Tapas. Food was great, the staff kept us fully informed on times for our meal and even apologised for the wait (it didn't appear to take that long as were having a very relaxed evening.) We cant comment on desserts as we were too full from all the lovely food we had eaten, but I'm sure they would of been just as wonderful. All in all I'm pleased I ignored the bad reviews and we would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standards dropped”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went here for a meal with friends after going last year and enjoyed it- but this year I was served two tomatoes and rocket for a price of £12- very poor value and felt starving afterwards! Waited to get change back after paying, but no change was offered. Left feeling very short changed and wouldn't recommend this place unless you have a lot of money to waste and a small appetite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gem c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegrandunion, Owner at Grand Union, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We were very upset to see the response from 1 of the party of 8. We were advised that there was a number of dietry requirements that would need to be catered for on the day, including vegetarians, vegan - gluten free. In addition to the a la carte and tapas menu the chef put together a futher menu made up of 5 starters, mains and desserts to specifically accommodate the groups requirements . Everyone appeared in very good spirit and was happy we had gone to the trouble of a bespoke menu for the group. As it was a nice day I offered the outside terrace as an alternative to the restaurant and re-arranged the tables so everyone could sit and enjoy the warm weather. Which appeared to go down very well. Drinks were offered throughout and all requests catered for. Everyone else appeared more than happy and two of the party with dietry requirements came to thank us personally on the way out for our attention. As explained in an email to the lady who unfortunately was dissatisfied but did not make any negative comment on the day (table checks were made on service of food), if we had been made aware of any dissatisfaction this would have been rectified immediately at the time. The meal chosen wasTomatoes stuffed with mixed Vegetable rice, red pepper couli and rocket salad, exactly as it stated (there were other options available) As I understand it wasn't the quality but the size of the portion which was in question. Unfortunately It is always difficult to rectify any dissatisfaction if not pointed out at the time. We have however taken on board the comments made and offered a future discount.. It is sad that this could not be dealt with at the time, as this could have been a very different response, as everyone else appeared very happy with both the food and service. Regarding the change everyone paid individuallyy some by card others by cash which was put into the wallet with a surplus amount, which was given to the waitress. It transpires the lady in question did not take her change from the surplus in the wallet before it came back to the till. We have also arranged to forward this on as reqyested by the lady £6 plus any other surplus which had been left. We pride ourselves on our friendly approach and aim to cater for any special requests, as you will see from previous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Union also viewed

Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing