We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our gateaway”
Review of Ashwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Me, my boyfriend and a friend stayed here this weekend while we were looking for a flat. Although we didn't book in advance, the lady was really flexible and got us a really nice room w/breakfast included. For the first day we wen't for the private bathroom because we were afraid the shared ones would be dirty or always busy but we were wrong, they were really clean so we decided to change room to one without a bathroom (cheaper £7).
The breakfast that was served was really nice (English Breakfast) and a great way to start off our days!
Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinaalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

what a lovely place in preston town centre ideal for shopping or as a base point withinin easy reach to chorley euxton etc spotless all throughout friendly full choice of breakfast ideal for family couples business people and only 58 pounds for a double room with en suite and breakfast for us both . A really cheap but spotless place we were made up

Room Tip: we were at front of house slept a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staff were helpful, welcoming and friendly. Room was fine, good shower, bit warm but that was the summer heat. Slept well and came down to a good traditional breakfast, well cooked. Inexpensive. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I took my own advice based on my stay at the Ashwood 4 years ago and was not disappointed. We had booked the same room as last time but on our arrival about 8am Diane was ready to store our luggage until our room was ready. She also had 2 other rooms that she thought we might prefer over the one we had booked and we definately did as one was larger and on the main floor rather than up the stairs to the second floor. How did she know that 'old legs don't like stairs!'. Although we were at the front of the hotel, directly on the main road, we had absolutely no problem with street noise. Breakfast was better than the average B&B, freshly cooked to order, more than sufficient and served in a very classy looking dining room. The only negative I have with the Ashwood is that it is too far away
from Canada for me to visit both the hotel and the very friendly staff more often.

Room Tip: For tired legs, ask for a ground floor. Also note that some rooms are not ensuite so book according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanbri1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited my daughter who is attending UCLAN for a semester. Booked an ensuite single for a week via email. I arrived a couple of hours before check in, and decided to at the very least drop my bags and find somewhere to have lunch - no worries there. The receptionist checked and my room was ready so I was able to check in early. The room was very comfortable, toward the back of the hotel so I wasn't getting traffic noise, bright and welcoming. The bed was comfortable, plenty of storage for my clothes. Room was clean. I loved the HUGE window that let in lots of sun. On Friday during my stay there was a problem with the hot water system on my end of the hotel, so Marjorie at first gave me the key to an unoccupied room so that I would have access to a shower until repairs could be made to the system. (Why do things like that always seem to happen near or during the weekend?). By Saturday she was moving me across the hall (into another wing) and into a twin ensuite for the weekend because the problem had returned.

Room Tip: Be sure to request an ensuite if you're not into shared bathrooms, although any time I passed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyliram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A test of a place is sometimes whether it is as good the second time around. I had stayed here overnight a while back and this was a revisit. Arriving late, having booked a basic single room I asked about an upgrade (to an en-suite). This was only an extra £5 and because there was spare capacity, I was given a double - quite a bonus. The room was light and airy with all the facilities you would need plus a compact en-suite shower room. A comfortable bed with good quality linen and, in the morning, a decent breakfast, cooked to order.

This was all for £40 B&B in a central location only a few minutes from the station and therefore really useful for onward travel. Nothing fussy but staffed by people who aim to please.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for a night when I needed a room at short notice. Receptionist was friendly at check in and the room was tidy and of a reasonable standard given the very budget price of the hotel.

I should point out the few negatives as well though. The obvious one was that my room wasn't ensuite, a shared bathroom isn't something I've had before, having said that, it was clean and available when I needed it.

The breakfast was ok, though veggie choices were limited. Again, friendly service and no complaints given the price.

The final negative was that the parking spaces at the front aren't the best, and you have to be careful when parking and leaving.

Overall though, more than happy given the price paid. Wouldn't hesitate to use for a night or two. Any longer and I'd want some creature comforts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h_kanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#8 of 15 in Preston
625 reviews
3.4 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#10 of 15 in Preston
757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
5.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Hotel

Address: 11-13 Fishergate Hill, Preston PR1 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashwood is a warm and comfortable family run guesthouse. Located just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and railway station, we are ideally situated for the university, local bus station and records office. With 25 bedrooms, we offer a high level of service and take pride in our accommodation. Parking is available to the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ashwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing