We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly grim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Preston Central
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fairly grim”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited with our two young children, arrived fairly late around 8pm. Poor signage you can easily drive straight past, luckily there were four vans of police outside and a police helicopter...... reassuring.. so they directed me to it. We drove into the car park, the worst car park I have ever seen, a million pillars waitin to dent your car, thank god my husband is used to driivng a fire engine! Then locked doors, went in from the other doors up two flights of stairs, nobody at reception. Rang bell pager after three attempts lady arrives no apology, dry and total lack of interest. Room okay, sink plug filthy with scum...... yuk. Room okay. Generally a miserable place, didn't want breakfast there and glad to check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review Riverdel. We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so we are truly sorry that this did not happen during your stay. We also expect our rooms to be cleaned to a high standard. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    115
    83
    63
    83
See reviews for
177
111
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, everything was good for the price paid. The room was very clean and the staff were friendly. Try to get a room on the 4th floor (top floor) as you can here everything above you and also to each side, as the walls don't seem very thick.
Breakfast was nice, although it isn't a very big room so all the tables were taken, so we sat on the sofas, not a problem for us but older occupants might want to wait for a table!
Car park is awful. Do not take a big car or you will get stuck in it! 1st floor car park slightly better than the ground floor.
Could do with better sign posts to alert where the driving entrance is, as it looks like the entrance to a factory, we drove passed it the first time.
All in though, would stay again, very reasonable and only 30 mins to the seaside and you don't have to pay Blackpool prices.

Room Tip: Top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestewartfamily15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was the cheapest and slightly out of town centre, but still an excellent, newly refurbished hotel, perfect stay for a couple of nights. Ideal for shops and PNE football game. No.16 bus is regular outside. Breakfast pricey though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has to be the worst run hotel I have ever stayed in
1 the car park has to be an accident waiting to happen no room to turn large posts at each side of each space.
2 breakfast was a disaster at no point was the whole of the breakfast range available ,hot food not filled up at one stage there were no clean cups ,no cutlery,no glasses for juice only 1 four slice toaster for over 50 people sitting in the bar at one sitting.
3 we asked for a manager as we checked out to be told that no manager was available until Tuesday .
I would not stay at this hotel again and would be reluctant to use travelodge in the future it looks like it's back to premier inn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAJARA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review KAJARA1. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard and ensure all breakfast items are readily available for our customers, so it is regrettable that the service fell below the standards we would expect on this occasion. We’re sorry to learn of your disappointment and we’ll be sure to pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team so this can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Montserrat
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For the second time in three years I stayed in the Travelodge Central Preston in Lancashire. During my September 2013 visit I was impressed with the refurbishments that have taken place since my first visit a few years ago. Newly decorated, better room furnishings and carpeting this Travelodge is one of the better ones of the company's many hotels. The staff were extremely friendly especially those allocated to the bar/restaurant area. They were very knowledge about the local area and advised where all the night spots were situated with precise instructions on how to get to them.
The hotel is just a couple of miles from the M6 exit for Preston and is easy to find as it is on the main road into the city in a prominent position. What is not easy to find is the hotel's entrance as it is in an adjacent courtyard that is not well signposted from the road.
There is ample car parking for guests but watch out for the very tight turns in the upper floor car park which can easily cause damage to cars.
There is a late opening supermarket directly opposite the hotel and a polish restaurant within 100 yards.
A good overnight stop if heading for the Lake District, Scotland or Blackpool and travelling the M6.

Room Tip: Family rooms seem to be larger than the standard twin or double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good value but .......First room given virtually no hanging space for clothes. Loads of parking but very very tight with loads of pillars to negotiate. Considerable noise from late night smokers and early morning workmen leaving the hotel from between 4am and 5.30am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 4th November with my husband as we were going to the frog and bucket for a night out and did not fancy the drive home. firstly on arrival was greeted by a lovely friendly lady, who explained things to us, the room was clean and welcoming, however the problem came as we went to go down for something to eat and drink before we left for our night out, I sat at a table while my husband sat at the bar trying to get someones attention, after fifteen minutes without a single member of staff speaking to us we upped and left, and had our meal in the town. we are not an awkward couple, if one person had of just said, wont be a minute, or even a smile we would of waited, do not like being ignored. with that out of the way, it will not put us off Travelodge as I am staying at the York one in November with my sisters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback misty081. We’re really sorry to learn that the service you received fell below our expectations on this occasion. Our staff should provide high levels of service at all times and your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#11 of 15 in Preston
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.0 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whitburn House Hotel
Whitburn House Hotel
#13 of 15 in Preston
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Property: Travelodge Preston Central
Address: Preston Farmers Office, 47 New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Preston Central 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travelodge
Preston Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing