We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chain Hotel for Preston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Preston Central
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was the cheapest and slightly out of town centre, but still an excellent, newly refurbished hotel, perfect stay for a couple of nights. Ideal for shops and PNE football game. No.16 bus is regular outside. Breakfast pricey though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 565 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has to be the worst run hotel I have ever stayed in
1 the car park has to be an accident waiting to happen no room to turn large posts at each side of each space.
2 breakfast was a disaster at no point was the whole of the breakfast range available ,hot food not filled up at one stage there were no clean cups ,no cutlery,no glasses for juice only 1 four slice toaster for over 50 people sitting in the bar at one sitting.
3 we asked for a manager as we checked out to be told that no manager was available until Tuesday .
I would not stay at this hotel again and would be reluctant to use travelodge in the future it looks like it's back to premier inn

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAJARA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review KAJARA1. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard and ensure all breakfast items are readily available for our customers, so it is regrettable that the service fell below the standards we would expect on this occasion. We’re sorry to learn of your disappointment and we’ll be sure to pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team so this can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For the second time in three years I stayed in the Travelodge Central Preston in Lancashire. During my September 2013 visit I was impressed with the refurbishments that have taken place since my first visit a few years ago. Newly decorated, better room furnishings and carpeting this Travelodge is one of the better ones of the company's many hotels. The staff were extremely friendly especially those allocated to the bar/restaurant area. They were very knowledge about the local area and advised where all the night spots were situated with precise instructions on how to get to them.
The hotel is just a couple of miles from the M6 exit for Preston and is easy to find as it is on the main road into the city in a prominent position. What is not easy to find is the hotel's entrance as it is in an adjacent courtyard that is not well signposted from the road.
There is ample car parking for guests but watch out for the very tight turns in the upper floor car park which can easily cause damage to cars.
There is a late opening supermarket directly opposite the hotel and a polish restaurant within 100 yards.
A good overnight stop if heading for the Lake District, Scotland or Blackpool and travelling the M6.

Room Tip: Family rooms seem to be larger than the standard twin or double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good value but .......First room given virtually no hanging space for clothes. Loads of parking but very very tight with loads of pillars to negotiate. Considerable noise from late night smokers and early morning workmen leaving the hotel from between 4am and 5.30am.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 4th November with my husband as we were going to the frog and bucket for a night out and did not fancy the drive home. firstly on arrival was greeted by a lovely friendly lady, who explained things to us, the room was clean and welcoming, however the problem came as we went to go down for something to eat and drink before we left for our night out, I sat at a table while my husband sat at the bar trying to get someones attention, after fifteen minutes without a single member of staff speaking to us we upped and left, and had our meal in the town. we are not an awkward couple, if one person had of just said, wont be a minute, or even a smile we would of waited, do not like being ignored. with that out of the way, it will not put us off Travelodge as I am staying at the York one in November with my sisters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misty081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback misty081. We’re really sorry to learn that the service you received fell below our expectations on this occasion. Our staff should provide high levels of service at all times and your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

not the best place to locate and not as near to town with a baby in a buggy

great room

poor parking

noisy at night from outside in the car park

was surprised to see dogs allowed in the restaurant at breakfast time

Room Tip: not overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

You know what to expect from Travelodge - the basics but hopefully done well - this refurbished hotel was extremely clean, comfortable and efficient. Ken checked us in and served us at the bar, and he was brilliant, very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#8 of 15 in Preston
626 reviews
3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#10 of 15 in Preston
757 reviews
1 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Whitburn House Hotel
Whitburn House Hotel
#13 of 15 in Preston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Address: Preston Farmers Office, 47 New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Preston Central 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travelodge
Preston Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing