We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely travel lodge in preston.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Preston Central
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home from staying in this travel lodge. We have stayed here and in Preston Chorley aswell. They are both lovely!!
Yes the car park is.. Let's say strangely laid out, but it's not impossible, a few manoeuvres, a little patience and your in, no bumps or grazes :)
Reception is small, but staff are friendly, they are only a small team so you have some waits for service, but that's not usually a problem, we didn't have one & we travel with toddler twins.
Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had to wait 10 minutes, this turned into about half an hour, but staff offered us refreshments.
Rooms - now we booked very last minute, the only family room they had available was a disabled access. It was huge!! But nonetheless lovely, no toiletries provided, but you could ask reception. My mum who came along had her own room, a double room. No chair for her but she was happy enough, it was a good nights sleep, some outside noise, your outside a pretty main road in preston. This didn't bother us.
In the morning we decided to have breakfast, this cost short of £30 for all you can eat (3 adults, 2 children, who eat free) it was nice enough, they obviously work really hard to cook, clean and provide service on the reception.
All in all, we had a lovely stay, value for money.. Not so great £57 per room, preston chorley is £55 per room and considering we paid £57 for a family room, and my mum paid £57 for just a double. But with preston been so close to Blackpool on illumination weekend maybe it's a tactful price bump as we have seen prices at that room a lot cheaper.
Thanks travellodge preston! Maybe see you in the near distant future :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 542 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

we were looking for somewhere cheapish for a quick night in blackpool with the family, I only booked Travelodge if honest I had a voucher due to problems we had in a hotel in the south, but we are glad we did as it is a really nice clean hotel with friendly staff. the refurbs make the hotel more modern and much more suitable to familys travelling, added bonus of a café bar with good reasonably priced food

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's a generic Travelodge in a converted industrial building in a run-down part of Preston. The room (the standard type found in all hotels of this kind) was adequate, clean and fine for short stays. No toiletries were provided. The food was overpriced and badly cooked, and the bar prices seriously overinflated. The staff were friendly and efficient, to be fair, but I wouldn't choose to eat in an establishment of this kind again. Also, asking £5 for one hour's wi-fi is in my opinion ridiculous. If circumstances had allowed it, ten minutes' walk away is a Wetherspoons with better food, cheaper drinks and free wi-fi. The car park was interesting - so many iron pillars closely spaced made it quite a challenge, and I only have a small car! One useful hint - it's directly opposite a Lidl supermarket. Buy supplies there rather than from the Travelodge itself!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the main road (New Hall Lane), as it gets very noisy from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We’re pleased to hear you had a satisfactory stay with us motorbandit. We do not provide toiletries in our rooms as part of our brand standard, however customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. We are sorry you did not enjoy the food offered in our bar café on this occasion. Our staff are trained to prepare food to a good standard and we’ll make sure our Hotel Management team are made aware of your comments so they can address this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used the Tavelodge in Preston Central as a break on the long journey from Cornwall to Scotland. The hotel is close to the motorway and very handy. It was very easy to find, there were plenty of spaces in the car park, even on a bank holiday weekend and the service was great.
The family room was really comfortable ad clean with a great double bed and a smaller bed for our son. The bathroom was clean, shower was powerful. The breakfast buffet s small compared to other hotels, but had everything you could need. Only downside was size of car parking spaces, which are very tight.
Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jim445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as daughter was dancing in Southport early on Sunday morning. We arrived after 9pm and headed straight to the bar cafe for food and drinks. Food was ok but a bit pricey for what it was. Room was lovely recently refurbished and hotel had new carpet smell. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would def stay again. Only paid £35 for 1 night .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy4672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a regular user of Travelodge, the new one in Preston is the best yet - clean well equipped and reasonably priced, you get free parking (although this is a little tricky to enter) and a cosy bar cafe. The room styles have been updated recently and we appreciated the made up beds for the family - unlike the old style "sofa beds" and general decor. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we arrived after along journey booked in 45mins early cost us £10.00 for that, the room was boiling hot unbearable asked at reception for a fan or change of room got neither went down the road to Homebase paid £32.00 for a fan wanted windows opened receptionist not at all helpfully told me the manager had keys and was not available as she was in Liverpool as for the free wifi o.k in reception area up one floor in room 306 you would have to pay £5.00 per hour or £10.00 all night we left for home after one hot clammy restless night without much sleep we had booked and paid for this bad experience 5weeks before hand so no excuse to put us up in such a terrible room with such traffic noise worst experience ever so won't be using Travel Lodge again our confirmation no. was 343040309

Room Tip: don't go near the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We’re really sorry to learn you did not have a comfortable stay on this occasion due to the temperatures within your room Catherine W. Whilst we do not have air conditioning in this hotel we are offering fans on a first come first serve basis in an attempt to make our customer’s stays more comfortable. It is regrettable that on this occasion they had all been given to other guests. Our windows have restricted opening for safety reasons. We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.0 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Preston Chorley
Travelodge Preston Chorley
#1 of 2 in Clayton le Woods
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Address: Preston Farmers Office, 47 New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $56 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Preston Central 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travelodge
Preston Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing