We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a bit more..... Italy?”

Baffito's at the Waterfront
Ranked #204 of 544 Restaurants in Preston
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Baffito's at the Waterfront is beautifully located on the Marina at Preston Docks. Please take a moment to look through our photographs. You can do a virtual tour with Google Streetmaps by visiting our website. Better still come and visit us soon and try our delicious Italian food and extensive range of wines, beers, spirits and cocktails.The premises has undergone a major refurbishment transforming it into a modern bar & restaurant. Bookings are strongly advised at the weekends as we are often full. Online booking is available via our website.
Preston, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Could do with a bit more..... Italy?”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have been here numerous times and enjoy the atmosphere here; the open kicthen. The menu is very diverse and there is something for everyone yet i was disappointed with the traditional Italian dishes; the pizza was nothing spectacular and the lasagne was too saltly which let the place down.
Also i think the whole joint could maybe be a bit more authentic, maybe play Italian music and employ Italian-speaking people or at least make sure the staff have knowledge of a few Italian words: Si, ciao etc.
However i enjoyed the starters and the others times i have eaten here the food has been very nice; so if they just tweaked the place a little bit, it could be the best restaurant in the city quite easily. Moreover the service was amazing, and the waiting time was the shortest i have ever experienced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    53
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lacking ambience and Italian staff and style”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Bland everything from lack of itailion feel ,tacky odd color chairs look like they from children's nursery cheap tacky menus and food not up to scratch for such a high priced resturant no atmosphere at all would never go again sorry i sound really fussy but been to loads of Italian restaurants and never felt this way before it's a shame really I wish them luck ,but think they need to re think the ambience and make it more inviting and maybe at least get 1 italian waiter/waitress and maybe they stand a chance

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012Meohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool england, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Met up with an old school friend here a couple of days ago for lunch. Arrived at aprox 12.30pm. Were given the option of indoor or outdoor seating, and as it was a hot sunny day we chose outdoors. Had a couple of drinks before we ate, and didn't feel pressured to order our food, despite the fact we had been chatting for a couple of hours. Eventually ordered and chose the 2 course special lunch menu £9.99. Food arrived in not too long a wait and it was all nice. I had the Fegatini for starters, and if anything the sauce was a little too wet, but tasted ok. The 'smaller' portion of Carbonara was quite large, and maybe could have done with being a little less dry, but, again tasted ok. The bar and waiting on staff were very pleasant and helpful. Being in such a nice location ,it was a pleasnat lunch. Will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location good food good service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A family get together for 24 adults and 4 children on the 20th of July turned out to be a great attenuated by everyone of us food was lovely and the service was first class nothing was too much trouble we were looked after from going in to leaving . We will definitely book again for our next family reunion Thanks Jake and all the staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baffitos 11.07.14”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location great
Atmosphere ok
Service good until the point you make a complaint and then the waiting on staff disperse to the four corners.

Food....where to begin?
Starters arrived in good time all ok if a tad over priced.
Mains hit and miss.... 2 decent pasta dishes, 1 ok chicken dish, 1 shocking lamb dish. Prices pretty good value.

But, Is it me or does anyone else agree that a salad has no place on a main meal that contained stuffed roast lamb, mash potatoes and veg.
The manager of this establishment clearly thinks there is nothing wrong with this and was quite happy to argue that as no one else had complained we were clearly in the wrong.
His line of questioned was did you complain... Yes we did
What did the waitress do.... Took it back and removed the salad and added more veg
Did you eat it... No
Quite simply, the dish described in the menu is in no way representative of the dish that you are served.
My advise is take it off the menu as what was a good night out was spoiled by this confused dish.
The conversation ended with, as others describe, the manager stropping off.
Although to be fair we didn't pay for the dish.
Will return at some point but probably stick to pasta and pizza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack123388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baffito's at the Waterfront also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Baffito's at the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing