We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Break!”
other travelers have booked this property
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Woodpecker Cottage sits in a beautiful landscape
The well equipped kitchen in the spacious open plan area
Dining area for 6
Cosy up to the log burner on a cold winters night
Seating for 6, a large 40' TV with freeview or relax in the window seat watching the world go b
Dine al fresco and soak up the views
Open the large patio doors and bring the outside in
Sit on the patio looking out over the lake and  . . . Just relax!
After a stroll in the countryside rest your bones in a hot bath
Downstairs bedroom
Perch at the breakfast bar
A room with a view
Just relax
The master bedroom and ensuite is accessed by the attractive spiral staircase
The staircase opens up the room
The master bedroom
The master bedroom with a glass balustrade overlooking the lake
A large shower with fixed head and hand held spray in the ensuite
Afternoon tea in the sunshine
There are tables and chairs dotted around the cottage to sit and enjoy the views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
n b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Break!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we had a relaxing stay at the cottage. Very well equipped and the place is warm and cosy on the chilly evenings. The setting is good with lovely views over the pond and fields, and the location is great with privacy from nearby houses. Large patio area with table and chairs, must make it a lovely place in the sunny days, although the weather was wetter when we stayed we still managed to get out walking and enjoyed the views. The hot tub was lovely and warm and great to relax in after a long walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the patio area with hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky T
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful! Can't wait to come back :)”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights midweek, on short notice from being let down in another cottage. I hadn't planned on staying in this location but when I came across the cottage I couldn't resist. Although I never met Sally or Rob in person, they were ever so helpful and accommodating. Sally was great with dealing with the booking and all my questions and I can't thank you enough for everything you did.
The cottage itself is truly beautiful and exceeded my already high expectations and the gardens and surrounding areas are breathtaking! The underfloor heating was a bonus as the days and nights we were there were a bit chilly!
We had fun trying to move the sheep from the gate when we went out in the car in the evenings, they act like very good guard sheep and this all added to the fun and enjoyment of our stay!
Friendly, relaxing and an absolute treasure! With everything already fully equipped and furnished, made our stay so much easier.
Look forward to returning after the new year! X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseKes...
1 review
“One word - PERFECT!!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What can i say, other than truely amazing! My husband, our 6 month old baby and I had a perfect week break. Breath taking views, beautiful cottage inside and out, well equipped with everything you need! Surrounded by nothing but beautiful nature! Ducks, geese, cows and sheep at your feet! If you want nothing but relaxation then woodpecker cottage is the place for you!!! We will most definatley be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owaindavi...
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My fiancée and I stayed midweek in June for 3 nights. Beautiful cottage, very modern, well looked after and clean. Wish we had booked for longer. Fresh eggs on arrival were a nice touch and Sally and Rob were very welcoming and helpful. Extra plus points were the hot tub, huge garden, amazing views and the fact we could bring our dog on holiday with us. Lola (the dog) absolutely loved it, especially making new friends with the nearby cows and lambs lol. We will definitely return, would be better if weekend bookings during the summer months were available as we struggle with availability. Would like to see wi fi available but other than that we thought the cottage was superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect countryside retreat”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful location, peaceful and private but close enough to local towns and sights. Great property, tastefully furnished with everything you need to hand. The kids loved the hot tub and hugging the sheep! The family letting the property were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent 3 nights here with our son after our wedding and a hectic weekend in London sightseeing. The cottage is truly the best place I have ever been to relax and unwind. Words cannot describe how amazing this place is. Beautiful cottage, extremely clean and has all you could possibly need. The setting is out of this world and our 1 year old son loved all the wildlife. The cottage is very private unlike some lodges we have been to in the past and so peaceful. The garden is very well maintained and is so lovely to relax in even more so with the hot tub. We never got to meet Sally in person but she was great with the booking. We met Rob at the cottage and he is very friendly and really makes you feel at home. We really want to come back and hopefully will be able to in the not too distant future. Thank you so much for our stay, it was just what we needed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: There really are no negatives
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni Z
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was my second visit to Woodpecker Cottage in as many months and it did not disappoint. Decorated and maintained to a very high standard with all the luxuries of home...or better, it really is the place to unwind and relax.
Although situated in the middle of the countryside, Woodpecker Cottage is perfectly placed for visits to the coast, Lake District and Yorkshire as well as all Lancashire has to offer. If you choose to stay at the cottage, the wildlife and birds around the grounds will more than keep you entertained.
Will definitely be recommending the cottage to friends and family...and look forward to returning myself in the near future.
Thanks again, Rob & Sally

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing