We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary
Open today: 10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Review Highlights
A Great Dy at Turbary Woods.

Not been here before. Started with breakfast at theDuxbury garden centre. Then walked through to... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Pauline F
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Great experience

I've been to Turbary Woods a few times. I most recently went with with my girlfriend and 2yr old... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul H
,
Ramsbottom
via mobile
Read all 2,290 reviews
  
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveler rating
2,045
189
25
10
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,045
189
25
10
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying display garden centre flying experience great afternoon run by volunteers excellent value for money volunteer staff different species per adult all ages entrance fee visited today keep up the good work any age be visiting again staff were very friendly family ticket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the admission charge of only GBP6 per adult we had unlimited time to look around and see the birds in their aviaries. The feeding display was at 12.30pm and we didn't really know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised that the display was fun, entertaining, informative and highly interactive. The guides brought out many different owls and birds of prey and allowed everyone who wanted to, to handle the birds. The entire display lasted almost 2 hours which is incredible for the price we paid! We were lucky that we had good weather but we were told that the display might not go ahead in windy or wet weather. The birds were at the back of a garden center which in itself was well worth a visit. So many interesting and unusual items!! Also a nice little cafe in the garden centre. Brilliant value for money. Easy flat access for anyone needing it! We highly recommend this place!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jemStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fabulous venue for the whole family. The birds were well cared for and the staff were extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The display was entertaining with everyone given plenty of opportunities to handle a wide range of birds with some lucky people enjoying a closer experience with birds landing on their heads. After the demonstration was finished the staff were generous with their time to answer questions and I particularly enjoyed Andy demonstrating how he could "speak" to a Raven, noisy Kookaburras, an Eagle and some Cranes.
I have been to a number of bird of prey sanctuaries in the past but in my opinion this was the best.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank MartinAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great trip to Turbary sanctuary and really enjoyed seeing the birds fly. The volunteers are brilliant and have such a passion for what they do. They have a great understanding and are very knowledgeable about what they do. I will definitely be visiting again. We recommend it to friends and they loved it. Keep up the good work.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank jodiewigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on sat 21st sept.what can i say only wow!after walking around looking at all the birds we went to the flying display.absolutely amazing.the interaction you can have with these birds is breathtaking.the passion and enthusiasm these guys have for the birds is just something else.value for money and a hidden gem.will definately visit again and would love to do the experience package!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank aff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really good afternoon out for the family and it won't break the bank you get to get really up close with various birds of prey and the staff are very knowledgable and friendly. Well worth a visit make sure your there for the flying show.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank christophermZ3660JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews