We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for ALL the family”

Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sited at the rear of GARDEN CENTRE Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary is a pure volunteer based, non profit group of volunteers.The flying display give you the visitors, Children & Adults, the chance to participate in the flying display and have our birds land on your gloved hand as they fly to you for their food.We have a collection of over 80 birds of prey including eagles, hawks, falcons, owls, vultures and more unusual species.All the birds are housed in large open fronted aviaries, sheltered in a woodland setting. We assist conservation and education of these beautiful Birds and we are involved with an average of 50 rescues each year.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out for ALL the family”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Andy and his hard working team of volenteers, have produced an atraction that suits all, you will be amaised with the love and offection shown to the birds, and the bond between them and humans.
Well done to ALL the team.
Paul Rose MBE

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit.
Please note that the flying displays are at 2.00 pm during the SUMMER HOLIDAYS,
Weather permitting,
Come down and have a go at flying our birds for FREE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,285
    132
    18
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Day Out”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A magical day out for all ages. Fun, educational and magical. The devotion and knowledge of the staff is a welcome change from a commercial attraction, even photographers are made welcome (for a few extra quid, more than worth it for the shots you can get).
My biggest buzz from the visit was watching the interaction between the visitors and the birds, there is always intense eye contact when holding one of these beautiful creatures, the eyes are so beautiful.
The flying exhibition is incredible, you expect these shy birds fluttering between handlers, instead you get the feathered equivalent of teenagers (shy they are not) and you are likely to find an owl next to you, looking quizzical.
An added bonus is a place to grab a coffee or some food and do a bit of shopping at the Garden Centre with a nice eclectic mix of products.
What does make Turbury Woods stand out is we felt welcome, and not some encumbrance upon the staff. 10 out of 10
Oh enjoy some of the photos I took, more are on flickr:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/england78/sets/72157634634239559/

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best day out for years”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I (both pensioners) have just returned from the owl and bird sanctuary at Turbary Woods. It was the best day out (and cheap) that we have had for years. The staff are friendly and impressively knowledgeable about which is obviously a love for them rather than a job (even though they are all volunteers). We watched the longest flying display of owls and birds of prey that we have ever seen. My wife wore the GLOVE for more than six different types of owl to fly across the field and land on. The Birds of prey are all in magnificent condition considering most are given to the sanctuary from people who either found them or no longer want them. Lots have been hand reared by the volunteers at home which shows the passion they have for these creatures. A great day out and highly recommended for all ages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank THOMAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for your great review, we are so happy you had a fab time, we do pride ourselves in the fact that are visitors enjoy themselves, your smiles become ours.
Please visit again as we do have different birds flying at various times of the year.
Regards Andy, Roy, ian, will, John and the volunteers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A no frills friendly & welcoming sanctuary with plenty of birds to see,you get a chance to really hands on during the flying of the birds,proper value for money

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank denfin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A rare experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent a very enjoyable few hours watching and handling owls, hawks and a kestrel. We were lucky enough to be there on a quiet day, it was like having private display just for us.
It was clear to see that the handlers and the birds had a very special bond between them and we felt privileged to be a part of this for a short while.
Please go and support this worthy place it needs more recognition.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We hope you return in the near future to see a different display and enjoy the new birds we are training at the moment.
IF IT IS A HOT DAY LIKE WE HAVE HAD DURING THE LAST 2 WEEKS THEN THE WOODS ARE
an ideal place to come and cool down,
Bring some lunch and enjoy our new picnic area on the grass, under the trees at the side of the lake.
Thanks Andy and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing