We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea on Mothers' Day”

The Willows at Barton Grange garden Centre
Ranked #65 of 540 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea on Mothers' Day”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked in for afternoon tea with my hubby and both mums for Mothers' Day. I have never eaten in the restaurant before but have been in the cafe a number of times.

We arrived and were promptly shown to our table, positioned near to the window. It was Mothers Day and as such very busy with lots of afternoon teas.

The service however was great and the staff very polite. We were given plenty of tea and coffee and free refills, pots weer topped up without us having to ask.

The tiers were full and a very good selection of fingers and deserts.

When we left the mums were given a small pot plant which was a very nice touch.

It was an excellent afternoon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    68
    27
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was mums birtthday so treated her to afternoon tea in willows restaurant..we arrived at 2.30pm which is when it's served. Seated immediately, friendly staff.. Ordered tea and coffee, and the sandwiches and cakes were brought quickly..portions were on the small side though...I don't think it was worth the £22 I paid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireQueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I come here regularly to meet up with family and friends, great convenient location. Love Afternoon Tea here! Sandwiches are very nice too. Staff quite young so don't expect the most amazing service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and a lovely place”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We hadn't intended on staying for a meal when we visited the garden centre, although when we saw the food we couldn't resist! The food and service didn't disappoint and we will definitely visit this garden centre again.

Helpful?
Thank Chevdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Value breakfast!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent breakfast here .....we all had bacon, large curled Cumberland susage, egg (choice of scrambled or fried), mushrooms, beans, hash brown and toast.......for only £2.99...great value best deal for breakfast in Barton and it was really busy .....the locals love it too....
only down side was, by the time we got seated, it was going cold so couldn't have been piping hot when we were served it! But even almost cold it was very tasty....the place is spotless and the staff are lovely too....You won't need lunch if you have breakfast here!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootleaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willows at Barton Grange garden Centre also viewed

 
Bilsborrow, Lancashire
 

Been to The Willows at Barton Grange garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing