We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Ribchester Roman Museum
Ranked #13 of 63 things to do in Preston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum contains informative and colourful displays about the prehistory and Roman history of Ribchester, using many archaeological finds from the site, including coins, sculpture and metalwork. There are also remains of the Roman fort and baths outside the museum. Regular events and temporary exhibitions take place throughout the year. Pre-booked guided tours and educational visits can be arranged by email.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I last came here about 15 years ago, and was very pleasantly surprised to find it had been redone. The displays are informative and well laid-out, and there are some impressive monuments. The museum is just the right size for children (not so big that they lose interest!) I thought it was very good value for the £3 adults entrance fee. I love how it's tucked away in a corner of Ribchester, a beautiful village that is well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Atraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place to go poor reception”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are interested in Roman history a great place to visit, the entrance fee is minimal and the museum is very informative. However, upon arrival there was no one to greet up and after a short wait someone came from upstairs and asked for our entrance fee, then shoved a gift aid form at us, I felt I had disturbed their Sunday afternoon. They gave a very quick outline and said press a button if you want more information and promptly disappeared. The museum had some good artefacts but some of the text on the displays had been removed and it was difficult to read, also there were some items that needed to be repositioned as they had slipped on their shelves. If you are paying an entrance fee, in my opinion a little more interest should be shown to the customer. Don't be put off the village and museum is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisndunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A short but interesting visit to the Roman museum. Takes about 30 minutes to view the inside but then you can also view the Roman baths just down the road.

I thought there would be more to see and it was over rather quickly. Still worth going to though if you are in the area and interested in Roman history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“roman museum ribchester”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As a keen researcher and roman history enthusiast I was very impressed by the museum and very pleasantly surprised by the content of the museum and the professionalism of the staff.The exhibits are varied and interesting and the 3 sites (museum,bath house and granery) show how important Ribchester must have been to the Romans.There is a very good Map in the museum that clearly shows the layout of the Harbours,storage depots and forts across England that helped Me understand the tactical deployments of troops required for the Romans to establish themselves in and control the area.The size of the granery makes you realise the importance of keeping the troops fed and the substantial bath house remains demonstrate that the Ribchester Garrison was 'Here to stay'.I thoroughly enjoyed My visit and the member of staff there was very helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonah, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roman Ribchester”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A nice little museum with great information about the Roman fort that was here. Helpful and accommodating staff. Beautiful spot on the River Ribble.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribchester Roman Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ribchester Roman Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing