We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice any day of the week”
Review of New Hall Tavern

New Hall Tavern
Ranked #59 of 535 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
1 review
“Top choice any day of the week”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We regularly visit the new hall tavern, it has a homely inviting atmosphere, and the food is to die for. Never disappointed and excellent value for money. If you don't want to break the bank try the burger, its huge, tasty and incredible value for money. It's pub food done right!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie89lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“`Local` pub (with friendly locals!)”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Friendly `local` atmosphere serving a good variety of food at sensible prices. The Monday - Thursday specials are well worth checking and are good quality and value at under £10 (correct at 11/04/2013). Good choice of ales for that true `British Pub` feeling as well as usual choice of wines and spirits. Attentive and friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beany196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food good service shame about the setting”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went with another couple and as always the staff were friendly and efficient. The food is excellent and great value and we will go again. The pub is however let down by the appearance the internal decor and there was a distinct unpleasant smell from the bench seat. With a redocoration and a refurb this could be the best in the area and considering that there are some good ones nearby that is quite an accolade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive first visit”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I met up with my son and his girlfriend last night at The New Hall Tavern. We had four different meals..seafood tagliatelle, steak and kidney pie, cheese and onion pie and the chicken and black pudding roulade. All of us were very impressed with our meals. The chips and veg were fresh and cooked properly. I didn't see any problems with decor or cleanliness as in a previous review.
Will definitely visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited here before going to the cinema, nice country pub and had burger with cheese and chips. Nice chunky chips and nice homemade burgers. Food was good and wholesome. Also had the starter duck spring rolls with hoi sin sauce only problem not enough lol

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazzie230567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Hall Tavern also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to New Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing