We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great service.”
Review of Hand & Dagger

Hand & Dagger
Ranked #6 of 535 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hand & Dagger is a traditional country pub, dog friendly, with an open fire and Beer Garden, enjoying a pretty rural location by the Lancaster Canal at Treales, nr. Kirkham. Serves a range of excellent home-made dishes mixing traditional pub fayre with modern dishes and the best Sunday Lunch in the area. Also bar nibbles and daily specials and all dishes are available in half portions for children. Food allergies catered for on request. Table reservations recommended. Outside catering service offered and available for private functions. Campsite open Friday to Sunday, 5 Pitches available at £5 per night, subject to availability. All pitches must be booked in advance.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This pub/restaurant is in Treales just by the canal.We took a leisurely walk long the canal then went to the hand and dagger for lunch . Food was delicious- they offer light snacks, specials and an extensive menu. My husband ordered sea bass with creamed potatoes and seasonal veg, I had the chicken curry and my daughter had the steak burger. All meals were delicious. The service was excellent, even though the pub was busy, the bartender went out of his way to make sure we were looked after. Reasonably priced too, definitely value for money - would certainly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hck44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    118
    28
    14
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, proper pub!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We eat here regularly, and recently held our daughter's christening celebration here in May. We're always looked after like friends, the food is consistently excellent, and the atmosphere is proper pub, not "chain" pub. One of our favourite places to go for casual dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cescasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back to the good old days wonderful traditional pub”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Meal out with the family tonight lovely food great atmosphere the landlord has certainly turned this pub around - well done highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Owner at Hand & Dagger, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub with the best food in the area”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited Hand and Dagger yesterday lunchtime with 2 small grandchildren. Moment we entered pub Martin and staff could not do enough to make us more welcome. Children can have anything from the menue with smaller plates. Great idea.No beans and chips here!!. Food was wonderful as was the whole experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Owner at Hand & Dagger, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We feel it is important to feed our children well! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, great food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We regularly eat here, I can only agree with the previous positive comments. The team here consistently work hard to ensure all their guests are very welcome and well fed. Our table last night had the Steak Pie, Fish n Chips & Steak n Chips- all freshly and swiftly cooked to order- no freezer to microgrill food here! The puddings were gorgeous too - keep up the good work Martin & team :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hand & Dagger also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Hand & Dagger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing