We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Preston
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Leicester England Uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay here even though we only stayed the one night. The young lady on reception was very professional and helpful on our arrival. A quick and friendly check in. The room was very clean and tidy, With the usual complimentary shampoo and soaps, plus free basic wifi.

We hadn't booked breakfast, but we were able to upgrade on arrival. The breakfast was amazing a huge choice of Danish pastries, croissants, juices, yogurts fruits, cereals, and of course the full English, self service and plenty of it. It was constantly being refilled with freshly cooked items.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We managed to park on site for free, this was a bonus, we were not expecting.

Location could not have been better for us as we were seeing Paul Weller that evening at the Guildhall so only five minutes walk to the venue
We Would definitely go back.
For saying this is on a busy main road there is no traffic noise at all. We loved the wooden shutters in place of curtains, as really blocked all light out for a great nights sleep.
The only thing I would say in a negative way is there was only enough tea and coffee for one drink each, as we are big tea drinkers we would have liked a few more, but I'm sure if we had asked we could have been supplied with some more.
All in all excellent service.
Thank you

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear RedMel,

Thank you very much for writing a review, following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and comment regarding staff have been shared with the team.

We are pleased that the location was ideal for your visit to the Guild Hall and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    241
    140
    37
    26
See reviews for
52
149
43
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A quick and friendly check in. The room was clean and tidy, with additional touches e.g. Pillow choice, complimentary shampoo and soaps, plus free basic wifi.

We booked a special offer night which included breakfast. The breakfast was lovely, a choice of croissants, juices cereals, and of course the full English, of which the sausage and bacon were fantastic.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We managed to park on site for free, this was a bonus, we were not expecting.

Location could not have been better, only five minutes walk to the Guild Hall and the Town Center. Would definitely go back

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor, due to the hotel being on a busy road. Didn't here any noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dears Tatts 2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and location was perfect for your visit to the Guild Hall.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I arrived at the Holiday Inn in Preston on the evening of Friday 4 October. I picked the hotel because it is within walking distance of the main shopping areas and is on the ring road, so getting in and out of Preston was quick and easy. Staff at reception were "warm" and welcoming and checking in was straightforward and only took a couple of minutes.

I was fortunate in being able to park in the hotel ad park for the first night (free car park) but not the second. Only a slight drawback as there is a public car park across the road.

The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. I had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday evening. Service was efficient and the food was very good. It was also very reasonably priced. I had the full English breakfast on both days and, for a buffet breakfast, it was very good indeed.

I left on Sunday morning and check was quick and easy.

I booked the hotel through a website and the value was very good indeed. All in all, I was very pleased and will stay there again if I need to be in Preston again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and felt you had received value for money. We pride ourselves on the warm Lancashire welcome and look forward to welcoming you again should you choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June and it was a pleasant, good value stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was a free car park. The location was also pretty good in central Preston,
We are visiting Preston in November and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Travelling Gal83,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again in November.

Have you joined our fantastic IHG Rewards, with great benefits....if not, this can be done next time you check in.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There is a plaque as you walk in saying that the hotel was opened in 2001. I think it is safe to say that the rooms have not been touched since then! Clean yes, dull oh so dull and very tired. In need of some serious redecoration. This chain is very good in parts. Sometimes the Express chain is more modern, newer and more comfortable even though cheaper. This is one of those examples. Terrible position in Preston and to be avoided

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pauc2186,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at our hotel. Holiday Inn Preston.

The hotel has been established for over 35 years, and became a Holiday Inn in 2001, whilst new hotels do come onto the market, we do look at ways to ensure that guest enjoy their stay at our hotel, with a traditional Lancashire welcome and good service, which I am confident you would of experienced during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with the team.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Chorley
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location opposite the bus station and the centre of the city centre. Small car park provided adjacent to the hotel but close to 2 large car parks (bus station and market). 15-20 minute walk from Preston train station which is located at the opposite end of the city.

Clean hotel, basic functional rooms with the amenities you would want, comfortable bed and friendly staff - couldn't really ask for more on a 1 night stay for a very reasonable price.

Had breakfast which was fine, good selection of food and plenty room to sit.

Would we stay again? Yes.



Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Aggyguy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.


We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We decided to spend a night in Preston as we had not visited this city before and thought we would also use it as a stop off place to visit Blackpool and Southport. From that point of view it met our needs. The hotel is one of the first places you will see if you arrive on the A6 from the south if you are driving. As you approach the large roundabout take the turn off for the bus station but keep to the left for the hotel car park or you will go up the ramp into the car park. There is complimentary parking costing £4 at this car park but you must pay at reception in the hotel first to get the 24hr discount. The reception is on the first floor and not the ground floor. If you arrive by bus then the bus station is next door if you arrive by train it's about a 20-30 min walk across the city centre. Our room was on the 7th floor but I could still hear the traffic outside as I am a light sleeper. Our bed seemed on the hard side and so that also did not aid a great nights sleep. Use this hotel for a stopover but if you visit Preston the walk is not pleasant to the eye passing run down areas of the city and you have to cross the road to keep on a pathway. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mel271,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and the location suited your needs.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Preston

Property: Holiday Inn Preston
Address: The Ringway, Preston PR1 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Preston 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Preston, a modern and stylish hotel providing a great place to stay & value for money in the City Centre, close to University Central Lancashire; an ideal location for both business and for leisure. Holiday Inn Preston hotel is fully air-conditioned with all bedrooms offering high speed internet access & Wi-Fi is available in our bar lounge. With a full service Restaurant, Bar, Lounge and 24-hr room service, we can cater for all of your requirements. The Ringway Bar & Grill provides a perfect place to dine, experiencing fantastic food & excellent customer service. For leisure and family breaks the Hotel is a short distance from the Guild Hall & Charter Theatre, Preston North End F.C, and Preston Golf Club. The Holiday Inn Preston hotel is an ideal base to enjoy the Lancashire Countryside. Our strong rail and motorway links provide short journeys to Blackpool, the Ribble Valley, Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.The Holiday Inn Preston hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedroom.The new Meetings & Training Centre provides the ideal venue for all business needs; with wi-fi access, unlimited refreshments, natural daylight and desired privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Preston Hotel Preston
Preston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing