We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel poor dinner service for coach travellers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Preston
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel poor dinner service for coach travellers.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The holiday inn Preston is much like any other holiday inn with one exception the dinner service for coach tour guests. Unlike the normal holiday inn dinner service portions served to coach travellers are pitifully small, the choice of main course were a quarter of a chicken breast in sauce, half a fillet of fish in sauce or a quarter of a stuffed aubagine for the non meat eater. The vegetables were undercooked (raw). Starters and deserts were also small.
I must stress that this was a coach tour and normal meals may have been better.
The breakfast was far superior being of normal holiday inn quality with a wide choice of continental and cooked choices.
Rooms again are up to the normal holiday inn standard of comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Anthony G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dinner service.

Your feedback in relation to the catering for the coach party that you were part of, have been shared with the food and beverage team, to ensure value for money and consistent food and drink service is applied to all our dinning guest.

We look forward to welcoming again should you choose to stay with us in the hear future.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    246
    144
    39
    29
See reviews for
56
150
44
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was okay. Check-in was quick and easy the room offered us all we needed. The location was good with easy access to Preston within easy walking. Parking was easy using the bus station car park opposite

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DvdJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear DvdJP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found facilities and location accommodating to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was told to book here by a colleague because of its location, which is all I feel it has going for it. I've been awake all night due to road noise and last night saw that I have been completely blocked in by another car in the car park. I'm hoping it will be able to be sorted when I go down in a few minutes. It is a rather tired HI rooms are generally ok but I have big wooden doors for window blinds and they do nothing to block out the noise, which really kicks in at about 5 AM with the buses

Room Tip: Definitely not one facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear MickyDip,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We continuously work towards ensuring noise is controlled to ensure our guest enjoy a good nights sleep, with noise which is within our control. Unfortunately being situated near to the city centre bus station this can sometimes be problematic, we are working towards improving the insulation to prevent external noise.

With regards to cars double parking, we ensuring that our guest car registrations are noted on arrival, so that they can be contacted to move their cars if they are blocking in another car.

We hope you do choose to stay with us in the near future as we endeavour to ensure we look after our guests and deliver a great service experience.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

cleanquiet tidy rooms with all usual freebies. very helpful staff. breakfast brilliant - wide choice available. town short walking distance away. taxi under a fiver from train station. lifts quick to work and access. bar a bit pricey but you do realise this staying in hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Elaine H,

Thank you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holliday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback on bar charges have been noted. Our prices are competitive within the hotel market pricing strategy and applied as the standard of a city centre, corporate hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again, should you choose to stay with us in the hear future.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June, we had prebooked so booking in was quick and easy. The room is a decent size with a toilet and shower room en-suite. There was a kettle for making tea or coffee but only enough milk for one cup, I went to ask at the bar for more milk and had to wait nearly 10 minutes to get served even though there were hardly any customers in the bar.
It was very expensive for a weekend visit but can be cheap to visit mid-week.
It has easy acess to the ring road of Preston and is close to the Motorway, didn't try the food but it looked expensive on the Menu so choose to eat out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

Apologies for the delay at the bar, this has been fed back to the team to ensure guests do not experience a delayed service, in particular during quiet periods.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed overnight en route to Scotland for the second time. Our room was excellent, with all necessary items and we enjoyed our meals. The restaurant staff were lovely, friendly and efficient, notwithstanding the fact that the air conditioning was not working properly and they must have been melting on a very hot evening.

Our only problem was that the air-conditioning in the room didn't work correctly (kept shutting off after 30minutes or so.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear paulandvalerie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Holiday Inn Preston and writing another review on you recent stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies with the air con we have been having some minor problems during the period you have stayed, this has been resolved.

Look forward to welcoming you again should you choose to stay again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

An overnight stay gave us a room overlooking the car park which was quieter than others we have had facing westwards.
The room was clean and functional, in room refreshment supplies were minimal,2 sachets of tea, coffee and sugar, more available on request.
Dining room under pressure at breakfast as approx. 60 people arrived at the same time, lengthy waits resulting at the hot food server.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear menubuster,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

Your feedback in relation to tea and coffee amenities have been relayed to our housekeeping team to ensure there is plentiful supply for our guest moving forward.

We also advise our guests when we are accommodating coach tours, that breakfast will be busy and the time to avoid should you require a quieter breakfast experience and to avoid ques.

We look forward to your visit , as we have noted you are a returning traveller.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy Preston International
2.7 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
0.7 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Preston

Property: Holiday Inn Preston
Address: The Ringway, Preston PR1 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Preston 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Preston, a modern and stylish hotel providing a great place to stay & value for money in the City Centre, close to University Central Lancashire; an ideal location for both business and for leisure. Holiday Inn Preston hotel is fully air-conditioned with all bedrooms offering high speed internet access & Wi-Fi is available in our bar lounge. With a full service Restaurant, Bar, Lounge and 24-hr room service, we can cater for all of your requirements. The Ringway Bar & Grill provides a perfect place to dine, experiencing fantastic food & excellent customer service. For leisure and family breaks the Hotel is a short distance from the Guild Hall & Charter Theatre, Preston North End F.C, and Preston Golf Club. The Holiday Inn Preston hotel is an ideal base to enjoy the Lancashire Countryside. Our strong rail and motorway links provide short journeys to Blackpool, the Ribble Valley, Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.The Holiday Inn Preston hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedroom.The new Meetings & Training Centre provides the ideal venue for all business needs; with wi-fi access, unlimited refreshments, natural daylight and desired privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Preston Hotel Preston
Preston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing