We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely day for a walk and afternoon tea

Came to brockles nature reserve for afternoon tea and experienced great service with very friendly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Olivia G
via mobile
Great place for a walk and visit to the cafe

Our daughter treated us to afternoon tea which was very good and worth the visit alone. The nature... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jon L
,
Lymm, United Kingdom
Read all 1,328 reviews
  
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,327 results
Traveler rating
621
405
152
69
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
621
405
152
69
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park visited brockholes floating village wildlife trust play area adventure playground pond dipping bird watching parking fee afternoon tea lovely place zip wire information centre soup guild wheel lovely walk all ages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,327 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a lovely relaxed picturesque setting for a meeting place for my team.
Meeting room was light and stunning views.
Buffet was fresh and tasty. Provided hot and cold dishes.
Very convenient location just off the motorway. Easy access for everyone.
Book with confidence.

2  Thank Jesusmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review - it's great to hear you enjoyed your event with us.

I will pass on your comments to Gillian and to our Catering Team.

Thanks for supporting our conservation work by choosing to book your event with us and we hope to see you again it the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I regularly visit here with my dog as it is a perfect dog walking route! The beauty of this place is that you can make your walk as long or as short as you like, we regularly expand our walk further along the guild wheel, which Brockholes is nestled along.
I haven't been into the visitor centre but I've heard it's a great place for families, and all along the route there are 'things to look for' such as birds and other wildlife. The playpark is lovely, and the little lookouts across the lake are great for spotting other birds off the trail.
Me and my dog have even seen wild deer in Brockholes, it was amazing! Dogs have to be kept under control ie on a lead, as with the whole guild route because of the cyclists, but the muddy path along the river is a great place to let them run wild, as no bikes take that path.
I come here around 4 times a week, and it's got great parking as is exceptionally close to the motorway, though you wouldn't believe it as you can't hear a thing from inside the reserve itself! A perfectly tranquil spot in the midst of a busy city.

2  Thank vikevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review and it's great to hear you have enjoyed visiting Brockholes, but we must stress that Brockholes has a no dogs policy.

Brockholes is a nature reserve that is owned and managed by The Wildlife Trust for Lancashire, Manchester and North Merseyside. We are home to some rare and protected species and need to do all we can to allow the wildlife that calls Brockholes home the chance to thrive. Our no dogs policy is a key part of this. Dogs running loose on the reserve can have a real negative impact on our wildlife.

We display signage throughout the reserve and our Volunteer Rangers are out patrolling the reserve informing any dog owners they come across.

We do have a number of reserves where dogs are welcome, so do have a look at the Lancashire Wildlife Trust website. There is also information on our Brockholes website about dogs. If you need any more information or clarification do not hesitate to contact us on 01772 872000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a lovely place to visit with a lot of lovely sights! However, it is absolutely full of wasps in the summer! Really ruined my day!

Thank Noahsdaddy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are pleased you enjoyed your day out with us. I am really sorry your day was ruined by wasps. It was a great summer for them with the hot weather!

Do come and visit us now the weather has gone colder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great day at Brockholes, the facilities and restaurant are absolutely great. Plenty of wildlife to see, the conference and events building is fantastic, the windows and floor are at water level so it's nice to see the odd duck swim past.

2  Thank BarringtonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your 5* review of your visit to Brockholes. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Our Visitor Village has won many awards for it's architecture and is designed specifically to allow our visitors to connect with the nature reserve and get close to wildlife.

Thanks for supporting the work of Lancashire Wildlife Trust by visiting and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to brockles nature reserve for afternoon tea and experienced great service with very friendly and attentive staff. The floating restaurant offers great views to enjoy a nice lunch after a walk around the reserve which is full of wildlife. A nice place to spend time outdoors and the reserve really implements the important of the conversation of the wildlife.

1  Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review Olivia. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it!

Thanks for supporting the work of Lancashire Wildlife Trust by visiting and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our daughter treated us to afternoon tea which was very good and worth the visit alone. The nature reserve is a great place to walk around though as it is still relatively new it will hopefully attract more wildlife in the future as the habitats that they are planting mature.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jon

Thanks for your review and your kind words. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your visit and your Afternoon Tea.

Why not join us for one of our free guided walks next time you visit? They are every Wednesday and the first Sunday in every month and a great way to learn more about our wildlife and conservation aims.

Thanks for supporting Lancashire Wildlife Trust by visiting and we look forward to seeing you again very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brockholes is a good place to go for a walk amongst nature, the cafe is also good for some refreshments while you are there. Good for a pleasant half day out, also good for children to see some nature and there is a very good play area.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Christine

We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your visit!

Thanks for supporting Lancashire Wildlife Trust by visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a bit of fresh air. My husband takes pictures so while he roamed my mother and I sat in the cafe and watched the swans and ducks. Was a miserable day made lovely by the views and considerate staff.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Justina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Justina

Thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased to read that you had such a great day watching the wildlife from our Restaurant whilst your husband explored the reserve.

I will pass on your kind words about our staff.

Thank you for supporting our wildlife conservation work and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our first visit to Brockholes with friends and our 9 kids (between 3 and 6 yo) which would ordinarily be quite a difficult task, however this place had it all.
The food was great with a good selection for parents and kids, the educational area had lots to pick up, touch and do and the play area was large and safe. We were able to let the kids run around while we had a good catch up before a lovely walk through the woods with a stop off to build a den!!
Highly recommended!!

1  Thank danigibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. You sounds like you all had a fab day!

Thanks for supporting our conservation work by visiting and do come back and see us again very soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a superb afternoon tea, staff were very attentive. Food was excellent. Children were well catered for too.
We then had a great walk around the reserve, the children enjoyed playing on the park and making dens in the woodlands.
Fantastic location for meeting with friends coming from all over with being on the motorway junction!
Thank you Brockholes staff for making our trip so enjoyable!

1  Thank claireandtim2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahL8651, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great feedback! It sounds like you all had a wonderful day meeting up at Brockholes.

We will share your lovely feedback with our team.

Thanks for supporting Lancashire Wildlife Trust and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews