We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springfield House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Preston B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

lovely place to stay ,great location although it can be difficult to find without a sat nav we where greeted by friendy staff
we had room No2 which was at the front of the hotel it was lovely clean and quiet,the shower in the bathroom was excellent,we opted for an evening meal and had a table de hote meal for £19.95 which was first class we will be going back as we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Springfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lovely small Georgian hotel set in the most beautiful countryside and the gardens are fabulous.Enjoyed every minute of our two night stay,so many places to visit including Blackpool what a transformation on the Promenade.The breakfasts may rank about the best we have had freshly cooked to order by our delightful hostess.Do have the evening meal great value.We shall certainly return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent a night here on a KGB deal and paid an extra 15.00 for the Bridal suite. We enjoyed the stay for the offer price but would not pay the full price as the Hotel in lots of places looks a bit tired and needs a bit more TLC. The lady owner was very nice and am sure a lot of effort is being put into running this hotel but the furniture in the bar area with leather seats showing the foam stuffing and paint chipping off wardrobe let the ambiance down. They do have a lot of weddings here and beautiful gardens so a lot of people must be satisfied with the look as it is.Perhaps we are over fussy but with a little more attention to detail like bathrobes and slippers ,fruit and a choice of hot breakfast, more toiletries in bathroom and perhaps as well as tea and coffee in room also have hot chocolate and fruit teas then this could be a Fantastic hotel and well worth the full price.We enjoyed the evening meal but again little things like brown not white sugar with coffee ,water on table the wine being poured would again have added those extra touches. Whilst being a good hotel there is still potential for it to be better.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank lilypops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently stayed overnight at the Springfield House Hotel on a KGB deal, £39.00 for B & B, which was excellent value for money. This Hotel is essentially a wedding venue that takes guests when not being used for a wedding.
It is a small hotel with only 8 rooms, the exterior of the building is lovely and the grounds are beautiful. The public areas are in keeping with the age of the building.
We were rather disappointed with our room, There were 3 large cream coloured fitted wardrobes and dressing table area along one wall which completely overpowered the room and looked very dated, the bed was only a small double and there wasn't a lot of space in the room due to the unnecessary amount of wardrobe space. The bathroom was spacious with fluffy towels and toiletries provided.
We had dinner at the hotel and ate from the set menu, £19.99 for 3 courses and coffee. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The breakfast the next morning was also delicious, freshly cooked to order with lots of hot coffee. The only thing missing for me was the lack of any fruit on the buffet table, there was just fruit juice and cereal, also there was no menu to choose breakfast from so don't know if there was an alternative to full english.
The owners are very friendly and the young staff were very well groomed and polite.
The ambience is very relaxed and unhurried and we had a very pleasant stay. We will certainly return if a deal comes up in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Venus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked a night away with Living social £39 for B&B. Very good value for money in a nice setting between blackpool and Lancaster, although billed as being Preston because it does have a Preston postcode.
Were greeted by a friendly face and showed to a nice room with four poster bed! Room was clean but a tad dated. Grounds were lovely and ideal for a wedding, which we suspect is the hotels main fare.
Enjoyed a wine in the lovely conservatory,once we had ditched our overnight case. Later we had a very nice meal in the restaurant.
Would need a car to get out and about but worthy of a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This venue could be a fabulous holiday stay if the owners polished their act a bit. This is a family run hotel that has been refurbished on the ground floor since the current owners took over about two years ago. The main business of this hotel appears to be wedding and events (there were wedding brochures but no leaflets on local attractions). As you enter the drive there are bows tied to all the lamps. In both the small and large dining rooms the chairs are permanently enveloped in full-length white covers with large bows at the back. Both, which appear to be a labour-saving device, just felt odd. When asked for details of the surrounding area our hostess told us they had been far to busy with the hotel to find out much about the locality. However, she did offer advice that a trip to Knott End on Sea would enable us to take the ferry to Fleetwood. She also directed to to turn right at the end of the drive and left at the t-junction to make our way to a huge deserted beach.
The small dining room overlooked the car park and a series of dowdy outbuildings. When I suggested to our hostess that the lovely verandah would be a much better dining venue for guests I was told that it was used for dining sometimes but the drawbacks (butter melted in the heat and flies in the summer). Odd, this was April and the outside temperature was about 10c. We liked the fact that at breakfast butter and jam was served in small dishes rather that fiddly packets that leave fingers greasy and sticky. Tables (for two and four) were rather on the small side when you consider that, in addition to breakfast and side plates, they had to accommodate a flower vase, toast rack, cutlery, condiments, coffee pot, cerial dishes butter and preserve dishes. We put our breakfast plates on the windowsill so that we could deal with our toast comfortably. The young waitress, who spent most of her time in the kitchen, clearly needed better training. She came to our table three times before removing the used dishes. Food was great, but on the second day our fried eggs were served with crisp brown lacy edges (our grand-daughter, who is a chef , would have binned them). Our room was clean, well furnished and the bed comfortable. There was a double wardrobe with two large drawers below, a chest of drawers with three large and two small drawers, and two larger than normal bedside cabinets, plus two armchairs. Plenty of room for two weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom was compact and the bath narrow (a problem to get out of at our age). There was no shower gel. When I asked at reception our hostess could not find any in the storeroom. She went to her private quarters and gave us her own bottle of gel. The sashcords were missing from the window, which would be a problem in hot weather. I was told that the first-floor was next on the list for refurbishment. Public rooms were well-furnished in keeping with the age of the house. There was lovely garden at the rear of the house, but the end of the path was block to prevent access to a large lawn/meadow beyond. There is a huge lawn at the front that has no decorative features or points of interest. When booking it would be advisable to ask if there are any weddings or events during your stay. On the first evening we thought there was an argument in reception. When I went downstairs to investigate I found the noise came from the big dining room where a large gathering of Masons were conducting preprandial coversations.
Clearly a work in progress but there is potential for this to be a memorable stay.
A conversation with our hostess revealed that she is not happy abouty Trip Adviser reviews. I agree that guests should make their views known at the time of their stay (as I did) but I have found the reviews very helpful in choosing hotels. I can believe her assertion that some guests could use the prospect of a bad review to put pressure on owners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retiredjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

01/05/2012
As a retired 'Mystery Shopper' I have visited many Hotels & B&Bs to gather information for the owners to improve standards. Springfield House Hotel, in my opinion, is very, very good value as is the restaurant @ £19.99 for a wonderful 3 course meal followed by coffee and mints.
The room was clean, large and quiet, the bed comfortable, the bathroom warm, with fluffy towels. It is convenient for Blackpool, Preston and Freeport Fleetwood (when my wife wants to go shopping). I would recommend staying here as it ticks all the right boxes.

Room Tip: As the property is well away from any road, I would think all the rooms would be quiet. Ours was.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveandGila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
12.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
997 reviews
10.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
647 reviews
16.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#7 of 15 in Preston
722 reviews
14.8 mi away
Legacy Preston International
5.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Hotel

Address: Wheel Lane | Pilling, Preston, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Springfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing