We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Preston B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked a night away with Living social £39 for B&B. Very good value for money in a nice setting between blackpool and Lancaster, although billed as being Preston because it does have a Preston postcode.
Were greeted by a friendly face and showed to a nice room with four poster bed! Room was clean but a tad dated. Grounds were lovely and ideal for a wedding, which we suspect is the hotels main fare.
Enjoyed a wine in the lovely conservatory,once we had ditched our overnight case. Later we had a very nice meal in the restaurant.
Would need a car to get out and about but worthy of a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

This venue could be a fabulous holiday stay if the owners polished their act a bit. This is a family run hotel that has been refurbished on the ground floor since the current owners took over about two years ago. The main business of this hotel appears to be wedding and events (there were wedding brochures but no leaflets on local attractions). As you enter the drive there are bows tied to all the lamps. In both the small and large dining rooms the chairs are permanently enveloped in full-length white covers with large bows at the back. Both, which appear to be a labour-saving device, just felt odd. When asked for details of the surrounding area our hostess told us they had been far to busy with the hotel to find out much about the locality. However, she did offer advice that a trip to Knott End on Sea would enable us to take the ferry to Fleetwood. She also directed to to turn right at the end of the drive and left at the t-junction to make our way to a huge deserted beach.
The small dining room overlooked the car park and a series of dowdy outbuildings. When I suggested to our hostess that the lovely verandah would be a much better dining venue for guests I was told that it was used for dining sometimes but the drawbacks (butter melted in the heat and flies in the summer). Odd, this was April and the outside temperature was about 10c. We liked the fact that at breakfast butter and jam was served in small dishes rather that fiddly packets that leave fingers greasy and sticky. Tables (for two and four) were rather on the small side when you consider that, in addition to breakfast and side plates, they had to accommodate a flower vase, toast rack, cutlery, condiments, coffee pot, cerial dishes butter and preserve dishes. We put our breakfast plates on the windowsill so that we could deal with our toast comfortably. The young waitress, who spent most of her time in the kitchen, clearly needed better training. She came to our table three times before removing the used dishes. Food was great, but on the second day our fried eggs were served with crisp brown lacy edges (our grand-daughter, who is a chef , would have binned them). Our room was clean, well furnished and the bed comfortable. There was a double wardrobe with two large drawers below, a chest of drawers with three large and two small drawers, and two larger than normal bedside cabinets, plus two armchairs. Plenty of room for two weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom was compact and the bath narrow (a problem to get out of at our age). There was no shower gel. When I asked at reception our hostess could not find any in the storeroom. She went to her private quarters and gave us her own bottle of gel. The sashcords were missing from the window, which would be a problem in hot weather. I was told that the first-floor was next on the list for refurbishment. Public rooms were well-furnished in keeping with the age of the house. There was lovely garden at the rear of the house, but the end of the path was block to prevent access to a large lawn/meadow beyond. There is a huge lawn at the front that has no decorative features or points of interest. When booking it would be advisable to ask if there are any weddings or events during your stay. On the first evening we thought there was an argument in reception. When I went downstairs to investigate I found the noise came from the big dining room where a large gathering of Masons were conducting preprandial coversations.
Clearly a work in progress but there is potential for this to be a memorable stay.
A conversation with our hostess revealed that she is not happy abouty Trip Adviser reviews. I agree that guests should make their views known at the time of their stay (as I did) but I have found the reviews very helpful in choosing hotels. I can believe her assertion that some guests could use the prospect of a bad review to put pressure on owners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retiredjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

01/05/2012
As a retired 'Mystery Shopper' I have visited many Hotels & B&Bs to gather information for the owners to improve standards. Springfield House Hotel, in my opinion, is very, very good value as is the restaurant @ £19.99 for a wonderful 3 course meal followed by coffee and mints.
The room was clean, large and quiet, the bed comfortable, the bathroom warm, with fluffy towels. It is convenient for Blackpool, Preston and Freeport Fleetwood (when my wife wants to go shopping). I would recommend staying here as it ticks all the right boxes.

Room Tip: As the property is well away from any road, I would think all the rooms would be quiet. Ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveandGila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here this week using a KGB deals voucher. The accommodation is much as described in the hotel literature. It is primarily marketed as a wedding venue and it has that air about it. There were only a couple of other couples staying while we were there and it meant that everything was very quiet. The room (no 1) was quite spacious and pleasant. We had a four poster bed which was comfortable but its creaks and groans killed all thoughts of passion! There was also a wardrobe which seemed to creak wherever we stepped in the room.
Nice views over the garden and lovely sunshine into the room in the mornings. Bathroom was small but adequate. Other facilities were fine.
Breakfast was good- asked for poached eggs and they were cooked perfectly. Despite everything being very quiet, the hotel proprietors and staff are all very friendly. We had dinner on the second night- it was good and reasonable value for money- £19.95 for 3 courses plus coffee. £12.95 for a bottle of house wine.
The location is very remote- you have to travel several miles to experience centres of civilisation or anything else of much interest but that will obviously suit some but not others.
The stay was good value because of the voucher.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at Springfield House which we booked on a special deal for £89 for 2 nights. For the money we paid it was good value but if we had paid any more I would have been very disappointed. The hotel is a beautiful Georgian House in a lovely peaceful setting, but is does need a huge amount of money spending on it. The room we stayed in was a bit dirty and depressing, with very out dated decor, but in its day it must have been glorious. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. The gardens are beautiful and have a lovely 'English' feel to them. With a massive investment this hotel could be a little gem but as it stands it is just ok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed there a few weeks ago for a romantic weekend away, it was lovely, the room was beautiful, the service was excellent very welcoming and friendly, the food was brilliant ! the only thing is is that the hotel is abit out of the way so there wasnt much to do for us at night but apart from that the hotel is fabulous would most probably stay again :) loved it

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckieliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few months ago and was pleasantly surprised. Very clean rooms, great service and the food was lovely. On top of this the surrounding area is very relaxing. What more could you ask for

Room Tip: Superior room if you can!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
12.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
766 reviews
12.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Birley Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
680 reviews
14.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ye Horns Inn
Ye Horns Inn
#1 of 2 in Goosnargh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Hotel

Address: Wheel Lane | Pilling, Preston, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing