We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cheap hotel”
Review of Ibis Preston North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Preston North
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last night(friday night).

Pros: Checking in was quick, lovely staff giving brilliant service at front desk..when i got in my room there was a nice smell of a flower air freshner, even though i couldnt see one... the room was clean and the beds were compfy, loved that you can plug a phone or ipod in telly to play out music, plenty of storage space

Cons: The bed linenin was very cheap and thin what ripped easily(sorry), the 'small' duvets wer dis-coloured compared to the bed sheets, not sure if thats how its supposed be. The ice machine produced about 2 ice cubes every 10minutes of holding the button in(if that), there were a nasty stain in the corner of the room, the soap box in shower didnt work..i tried fixing it but then the door lid wouldnt shut and kept falling on me, the telly didnt have many channels to choose from, the towels provided were extremly small, the shower preasure was poor, the walls were thin therfore you could here snoring in the next room, the toilet paper was literly thinner then tracing paper...so had to use 5 times as much..which still resulted in my finger slipping through the tissue.

Even though there are more negatives, the positives level out the cons. Its like an upgraded budget hotel, i payed £40 for my room..which i thought it was only worth £30 max. I would stay there again as there was no massive issue.

Thanks for a plesant do-able stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hozaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Paul Smith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 745 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here for a night recently.

The accommodation was good. Ibis is a good and reliable stop over for work or families breaking a long journey. Costs are not too bad at all.

Food next door in the Hungry Horse or whatever it is was as expected - cheap, cheerful and plentiful. Don't wait for a brilliant meal, just a large one !

Breakfast was good, reminiscent of a Premier Inn breakfast in all honesty. I like Premier Inn breakfasts !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Hotel Preston. Kind regards,Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Efficient young men at reception, very welcoming and helpful. Nice room, clean and comfortable with all amenities we required. Only drawback was a lot of noise from the badly double glazed windows. Lovely bathroom, very comfy bed, right temperature in room. Returned after an evening out to be kept up most of the night with noise outside in the car park and outside in the corridor as we were near the lift and above the entrance (only discovered this too late). Upon check out at reception we encountered a very unhelpful young lady who did not seem at all interested and was not very helpful at all. All in all would stay again but ask for a room away from lift and front of building.

Room Tip: Away from lift and stair area and away from reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionawarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Preston. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the noise issues you experienced. If you would like to contact me direct on your next visit and I will personally organise your room for you.

Kind Regards, Beverley Derbyshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was better than I had expected after some of the reviews on this forum, although most of the complaints seem to be about the poor breakfast which we didn't have, so can't comment on that.

We had a very quick and efficient check in, a clean room with coffee and tea facilities and a comfy bed for the night.

My only complaint was the shower, which dribbled rather than gushed. We didn't have to time in the morning to mention this at the reception, but added it to the email survey sent after staying a night in Ibis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banphrionsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Ibis Preston North. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the shower pressure which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Beverley Derbyshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The first impression was good however the lack of free wifi was an issue when budget hotels can offer this, I see no reason why the Ibis (which is a type of budget hotel) can't do the same.

The rooms were nice and the bathroom too.

However when coming to shower, the water pressure was so pitiful I'd have been better standing in the rain. There was simply a light spray which is not good enough and takes you a long time to wash the soap out of your hair. I did report the issue to reception.

Breakfast. This was appalling. Dried beans, no eggs, despite me asking for eggs and the sausages were clearly the cheapest available with very little meat content. The inside was almost spongey in texture obviously stuffed with risk or bread or whatever they make these sausages out of.

The receptionist was also responsible for the breakfast and was clearly not keeping a watch on the breakfast provisions. This was a huge disappointment as generally the place was ok.

I am staying there again in a few weeks but shall be eating elsewhere and hopefully will have had a response about the poor shower facilities as I will be emailing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Preston North. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Feel free to email me on h3162-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind Regards Beverley Derbyshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Good value if you pick up a web deal (50% discount), slight problem at check in when the booked twin room was a double but a quick call to reception sorted that out. The room was of a reasonable size and comfortable. There is a Fayre & Square pub next door which offered a reasonable menu.
The downsides of the Ibis were no free wifi , which in this day and age is poor as most place tend to offer it. The other problem was the shower was very poor as it only trickled out. Had breakfast on site but I have to say this was very poor value £7.50 and apart from a limited selection of cereals all there was on offer was bacon, sausages and beans ! No eggs , mushrooms etc the receptionist who was also in charge of the breakfast seemed totally disinterested.
Assuming the shower was a one off problem I would stay again but would have breakfast next door at the Fayre & square Pub.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxwriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley1182, Manager at Ibis Preston North, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Preston North. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.
I hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with a hassle free stay.
Regards Beverley Derbyshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
2.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
664 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Preston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Preston North

Address: Garstang Road, Preston PR3 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $44 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Preston North 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Preston North hotel is located in the heart of the north west district of the city, 5 km from the city centre and its shops, bars and restaurants and is also within easy reach of the Lake District and Manchester. Book one of our 82 rooms and make the most of our hotel amenities, a restaurant, bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days, free private outdoor parking and two meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Preston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Preston North Hotel Preston
Accor Preston North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing