We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious and family friendly, a home away from...”
other traveler has booked this property
Light filled conservatory, with bench doors opening to huge private walled garden with new fire pit
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light filled conservatory, with bench doors opening to huge private walled garden with new fire pit
Very large fully equipped oak Mark Wilkinson kitchen with Aga, open plan to conservatory & lounge. Superb fully equipped Mark Wilkinson oak kitchen with Aga stove, door to 2nd private enclosed garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Light filled conservatory, with bench doors opening to huge private walled garden with new fire pit
Very large fully equipped oak Mark Wilkinson kitchen with Aga, open plan to conservatory & lounge.
Superb fully equipped Mark Wilkinson oak kitchen with Aga stove, door to 2nd private enclosed garden
Comfy, cosy, living area with large sofas, stone fireplace and woodburning stove.
Huge oak kitchen opening into a light filled conservatory, leading to huge private walled garden
Newly refurbished, pretty double bedroom, fitted wardrobes, plenty of storage.
Lovely, family room with a double and a single bed, fitted wardrobes and storage.
Pretty, refurbished twin bedroom, fitted wardrobes and storage.
Another, refurbished, pretty twin bedroom.
Ground floor comfortable, double bedroom, also ideal for the less mobile guests.
Ground floor bedroom with french doors to enclosed garden.
Modern, refurbished bath & shower rooms.
Rambling roses adorn the cottages in spring and summer.
5* Gold, lovely rambling rose covered 6 bedroomed cottage sleeps 13, huge private garden
Old Stables, huge, private walled garden with outdoor dining, ideal place for bbq and relaxing
New fire pit and seating in Old Stables huge private walled garden. This pic is Woodpecker fire pit.
The private driveway to our small, exclusive, private 5* Gold luxury countryside hamlet
Free ranging pet chickens and egg collecting in the warmer months
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff our pony along the river bank footpath to Nicky Nook
Sunset views from the cottages with Blackpool tower and the coast 20 miles in the distance
Helping to feed the pet lambs at Easter time
Walking with Callie and Fluff the pony in beautiful countryside just a 10 minute walk from our door
Enjoy great walks in the surrounding bluebell woods at springtime.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KatiTaylo...
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious and family friendly, a home away from home.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

I booked this cottage to stay with extended family and friends for my daughter's 1st birthday weekend. The size of the living areas is amazing and the functionality of the cottage were fantastic. We had arranged to go out for the birthday lunch, but due to the enormous kitchen and extensive lounge and conservatory areas, decided it would be better to get food in and relax. There is also a games room (for the boys)!!!
We can't recommend this holiday cottage enough, and will most definitely be coming back to stay again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and conservatory, so relaxing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueheduca...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Stables Cottage”
Reviewed October 13, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in The Old Stables cottage at Barnacre Cottages for a week at the end of September and had a great time. Sue and Terry were helpful from our first email communication and throughout our stay if we needed anything. Many thanks for the delicious cakes on arrival.

The cottage was lovely and spacious especially the open plan sitting room, luxurious kitchen, dining area and my favourite the conservatory.

The children especially loved the little mice paintings throughout the cottage - we kept finding more and more - round the clock, by the skirting board, in the bedrooms (as well as the clouds and stars).

The chickens also kept us entertained, running over for some left over scraps, and coming regularly in the morning in the hope of some more goodies.

It would be good to visit again and enjoy the lovely garden and see how the roses and climbing plants have developed and grown.
Many thanks to Sue and Terry for making such a lovely environment to stay in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samtscotl...
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family heaven”
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot believe someone has written a bad review for this place. We stayed here with a large family group including my kids. My 6 year old son loved the place so much he's been on at me to buy him a house like the stables cottage to live in. The play park and tennis courts were excellent. A real gem for a family holiday. Do yourself a favour and book this place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 5 Star Property”
Reviewed August 16, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have now stayed four times at Barnacre Cottages, twice in Mole End and twice in the Old Stables. Both properties provide excellent accommodation and facilities and are maintained to a very high standard. The cottages are set in peaceful countryside, though not too far from local villages and towns with a good range of shops, cafes pubs and restaurants.

Our most recent stay was at Old Stables. Although already first rate it has been improved this year by refurbishment of the bathroom and en suite shower room and the addition of an extra shower room downstairs. As ever the cottage was very clean and well presented, and provided everything we expect of a five star property.

Old Stables is deceptively spacious with a long living room and kitchen leading to a delightful conservatory, which opens out to the large private garden at the side. The Aga cooker is a particular favourite, although there is a conventional hob and oven as well.

We’ve enjoyed sharing family meals and relaxing in this lovely property.

Terry and Sue always make us feel very welcome and are on hand to give local information and suggestions for walks and excursions.

Visiting Barnacre is always a pleasure and we are already looking forward to our next trip in the autumn – this time for two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the conservatory
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaness_c...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Our party consisted of 4 generations of our family some of whom stayed locally and just stayed for a couple of nights but there were 5 of us for the full week and the general opinion was that The Stables was superb. The open plan living/dining/kitchen/conservatory complete with AGA and American style Fridge/freezer was where we could all be at one time with noboby being excluded from what was going on and enough space to not feel crowded. The play area is well equipped and our grandson had great fun there as well as on the tennis court - with all equipment provided. Our hosts Sue and Terry and family couldn't have been more friendly (thanks for the home bakes when we arrived) and helpful. We were also lucky with the weather which was a bonus. As some of our family stay in the area we will be back to stay.
Sheila, Mike, Charlie, Helen and John with occassional guests Colin, Samantha and John and grandchildren Reuben and baby Elizabeth from Aberdeen, Fraserburgh, Rotterdam and Garstang.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage12...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING Stay at Barnacre - The Old Stables”
Reviewed February 2, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We stayed in the Old Stables that accommodates 8 plus travel cots. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner who gave us a very warm welcome. He showed us around the accommodation & made us feel at home. We felt Barnacre Cottages offered a high quality self catering accommodation with 5 * luxurious touches such as an open plan lounge, kitchen with granite worktops and appliances by Miele, huge dining room & conservatory, utlity room, down stairs games room, understairs cloak room & toilet, 4 bedrooms, one with en suite and a family bathroom. Amenities include a fridge freezer with ice and water machine, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, gas hob, microwave, TV, video, CD player, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. In the Old Stables we had an Aga cooker which was easy to use and made fantastic toast!!!! We also had a log burner and plenty of wood and coal in the bunkers outside the propery. There was central heating , bed linen, duvets and towels included in the price. We also requested a travel cot & a highchair. The area is absolutely gorgeous, there is a play park for the kids, tennis court, chickens & lambsto feed & plenty of good walks. We drove to a nearby village called Scorton & enjoyed a visit to The Barn. We also enjoyed Old Holy Farm at Cabus & a trip into Garstang. We will definately be returning. We had a fabulous time & would reccomend this place, 5* luxury - it definately is!!! Thanks to Terry & Sue for being so accommodating. This place is a credit to you both.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJ26
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed January 14, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Our second visit to The Stables, Terry and Sue do all they can to look after you at these "tip-top" properties located in a tranquil spot. We were welcomed with flowers, chocs and their Barnacre free-range eggs. Furnished to a very high standard - my wife enjoyed cooking on the Aga but there are also plenty of excellent eating places in the area.

The cottages are ideally situated in the Forest of Bowland but close to the Lancashire coast and just an hour away from the Lakes.

We will return.

The Greens and Johnsons

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing