We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Woodpecker Cottage absolutely perfect house for...”
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware. Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware.
Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Large detached cottage,with woodland to rear, magnificent views across the countryside to the coast
A real and decorated Christmas Tree and logs for the woodburning stove make a lovely Christmas stay
Fine crockery & crystal glasses. Large dining table for guests to eat together
King size bed in large spacious en suite family room, crisp white bedlinen, oak floors and rugs
Woodpecker Cottage at night
Friends & family gathering round the huge new fire pit at Woodpecker cottage.
Huge family room, king size bed, two single beds, en suite bathroom,seating area with sofa & chair
Ground floor family bedroom, double and single beds with large wet room type en suite
Spacious, light and bright twin room/option to convert to superking bed, en suite shower room
Ground floor spacious en suite wet room , ideal for guests with restricted mobility.
Ground floor en suite wet room, with adaptions for guests with limited mobility.
Our all weather well maintained doubles tennis court with play area beyond
Sunset view from the cottages with Blackpool Tower and the coast 20 miles in the distance
Walks from our door in our Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, spectacular autumn colours.
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff our pony just minutes from our door along the river
Enjoy great walks in our surrounding bluebell woods at springtime.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SeniorJC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Woodpecker Cottage absolutely perfect house for larger groups”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked both Woodpecker Cottage and Partridge. Woodpecker has wonderful views right across to Blackpool, Morecambe and the coast. It's a lovely house, perfectly designed for larger groups, even more so since the addition of a beautiful, large conservatory. Both cottages are very well appointed. Owners Sue and Terry are friendly, helpful and so welcoming (Sue's victoria sponge is absolutely the best ever, made with their own hens eggs and her lightness of hand). They were also especially kind, patient and cooperative with us over our booking of Partridge, as there were health issues with one of our group which needed time to resolve. Happily all was well in the end and we had a sunny, fabulous four day stay. The Trough of Bowland has stunning countryside to enjoy with walks straight from the properties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denimpala...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury hidden getaway”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I call it a hidden getaway - and it really did feel like that, but in reality it only took us ten minutes to get back into Garstang so not too far off the beaten track.
We have recently spent a gorgeous weekend in woodpecker cottage - we were a group of 13 ladies and were celebrating a special birthday.
The whole booking to staying process was incredibly easy and Terry and Sue (the owners) were more than happy to answer my many questions.
The quality of the cottage itself was of a very high spec. With lovely attention to detail (the homemade Victoria sponge was delicious)!
We had a spa day at the local Acresfield spa which again I can't recommend highly enough.
It was the perfect getaway and anybody considering a weekend away - I would urge you to choose Barnacre Cottages!!! We'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
“The coldest wettest weather but the most cosy and comfortable cottage we've stayed in.”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

All Three generations of us had never visited this area of Lancashire before (except for myself who lived in Morecambe for 3 years starting in 1945) To show my family this part of my history was one reason that we searched out Barnacres for a Christmas Hoiday.

For the past 20years I have treated my Family to an annual Cottage holiday in the UK and Europe and we can honestly say Woodpecker Cottage was by far one of the best.

The weather was appalling but the Cottage was clean, warm, welcoming, comfortable
and equipped to a high standard. We could see the Farm was well sited with distant views over the coast when gaps appeared in the rain clouds. Those of you who visit in the summer are in for a real treat.

Took a bit of time to get used to the numerous roads surrounding Barnacres but this was the charm of the area including the mysterious Bunkers 'with ears'. Never found out what they were.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodwin19
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Brilliant accommodation for a large 4 generation family weekend. Even the poor weather couldn't dampen our spirits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLH20
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed (5 families) at the Woodpecker Cottage for New Year 2016/17 and had a lovely time. The cottage is in a beautiful place, and is well looked after and well equipped. Sue and Terry looked after us from the minute we booked back in Jan 16.

The bedrooms are really spacious and the open plan living area is exactly what we were looking for.

The hosts have a number of cottages in and around the same area and they all look stunning!

Well recommend if you are a large family/group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann K
1 review
“Amazing exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in mole end cottage and woodpecker cottage there was 20 of us the cottages together housed 22, first impressions were WOW how beautiful, we arrived late Terry was there warming the house up with the massive aga, Terry gave us some info about the cottages, Sue had made us a Hugh cake to welcome us.
We could not fault the cottages everything you needed was supplied, information about the area were at hand. It was easy to contact Sue & Terry for further information.
When we woke in the morning the view was amazing, it was easy to get to Blackpool approx 25mins away., everyone loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
1 review
“A perfect weekend away”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked Woodpecker Cottage to accommodate our family of 15 for a weekend away to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was first class and we were made to feel very welcome. We couldn't have wished for a better venue. It well deserves its 5 star rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing