We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Wedding weekend”
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware. Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware.
Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Large detached cottage,with woodland to rear, magnificent views across the countryside to the coast
A real and decorated Christmas Tree and logs for the woodburning stove make a lovely Christmas stay
Fine crockery & crystal glasses. Large dining table for guests to eat together
King size bed in large spacious en suite family room, crisp white bedlinen, oak floors and rugs
Woodpecker Cottage at night
Huge family room, king size bed, two single beds, en suite bathroom,seating area with sofa & chair
Ground floor family bedroom, double and single beds with large wet room type en suite
Spacious, light and bright twin room/option to convert to superking bed, en suite shower room
Ground floor spacious en suite wet room , ideal for guests with restricted mobility.
Ground floor en suite wet room, with adaptions for guests with limited mobility.
Our all weather well maintained doubles tennis court with play area beyond
Sunset view from the cottages with Blackpool Tower and the coast 20 miles in the distance
Walks from our door in our Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, spectacular autumn colours.
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff our pony just minutes from our door along the river
Enjoy great walks in our surrounding bluebell woods at springtime.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizzie f
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding weekend”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous place! A perfect relaxing wedding weekend enjoyed by over 50 family members and friends. We all arrived on the Friday to settle in. On Saturday morning we all got ready together and travelled 10 minutes down the road to have our Wedding Ceremony at a hotel, then returned to the cottages for our celebrations. We had outside caterers and an acoustic band. Everyone was very impressed with their cottage and couldn't believe the space in Woodpecker Cottage where we had the Wedding celebrations.
Sue and Terry are absolutely lovely and made sure we had everything and more during our stay, Sue had baked a delicious cake for each of the 5 cottages that we had booked for all our guests, left a big bunch of flowers for us and Terry brought the ponies round on Sunday for all the children to have a ride! They had cut the grass and put new tubs of flowers out around the front.
The cottages are very well equipped and very homely including plenty of books, games and DVD's. The kitchens are very well equipped and the Aga's were great for Sunday breakfast!! The beds were really comfy with plenty of extra cushions and blankets.
The children all loved the space outside, running on the grass, using the tennis court and chasing the bunnies!! They were really sad when we had to leave. Amazing views and sunsets!
Hoping to return again soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being together with all the family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witt79
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best birthday celebration ever!”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What can I say! Having selected Barnacre cottages over 18 months ago to host my special birthday celebration, it was definitely the right choice and this view was echoed by all 16 of us! I hired the Woodpecker and Piggeries cottages, which gave us ample space for 16 adults. One of my special memories is walking into the Woodpecker for the first time on what was a very wet and miserable day, to be met by the warmth of the wood-burner and AGA and the fairy lights in the conservatory, which I had asked for. It exceeded my expectations and I knew then that that I had chosen the right place and I was not disappointed! Terry and Sue were great hosts and were always there if we needed them, nothing was too much trouble. Needless to say we had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend Barnacre Cottages to anyone. Thank you so much Terry, Sue and family!

I also want to mention the Cobbled Corner Cafe in Chipping and the North West Dance School, both off whom helped the party go with a swing! The Cobbled Corner provided catering for the Saturday, which was all homemade, very good quality and yummy! The North West Dance School choreographed a dance session, which went with a bang! I secretly think the lads enjoyed it more than there girls! Thanks everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The communal feel to the Woodpecker makes it great for parties and large groups!
Liked least: The weather!!! Lol
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMCF
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location for team”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from three days away with twelve colleagues, staying in Woodpecker and two other cottages at Barnacre. It was just right for our purposes. The spacious open-plan lounge/ dining/kitchen of Woodpecker was our working 'hub' for the three days. With the Aga in the kitchen and the wood burner in the lower lounge area we were really snug and comfortable. Sue and Terry looked after us very well - two beautiful home-made cakes on arrival and offers to light our wood burner at regular intervals.

It's really hard to find a large cottage where a large group can spread out for work, relaxation or a party, but all in the same area. The cooks didn't miss out on the conversation. Always a bonus!

Must be a lovely location in the spring and summer. Great views of the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donosh
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super location for a family celebration”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family of 10 (6 adults, 4 teenagers) stayed at Woodpecker Cottage for our Golden Wedding Celebration weekend. Sue and Terry allowed us to invite several other of our extended family for a celebration party on the Friday night. Sue had made a cake for the occasion which was lovely. We had a great time. So much room to entertain. The underfloor heating and the Aga made it very cosy and the open plan layout gave us different seating areas for everyone. The views outside overlooking the Fylde coastline looked fabulous at night too. Blackpool tower, lit up for the Illuminations, visible in the distance.
Everywhere was spotless and well equipped. The single bedroom was a bit on the small side but ok for a child. There were two bedrooms downstairs for the less mobile.
The weather was beautiful so the children were able to use the tennis court area. Unfortunately, we could only stay two nights but we would have loved to have stayed longer.
Hope we can come back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan space for large group, location
Liked least: Only being able to stay for two nights
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what I hoped it would be”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked Woodpecker Cottage for my best friend's Hen Weekend and I can thankfully say that I am glad I did! Guests were mostly only travelling from Preston, but for the chilled weekend I had planned, we didn't need to be anywhere further. The cottage is right at the top of a hill, overlooking the beautiful country and coastline, you can even see Blackpool Tower! It is set in lovely surroundings, full of nature, I cannot tell you how many pheasants we saw, it was hilarious, they were everywhere; we even saw a deer wandering past as we ate our breakfast one morning! The cottage itself is perfectly captured in the photographs they show on the website. The standard is fantastic, clean, tidy and modern. It certainly helped having so many ensuite bathrooms, as not everyone in our group knew each other, so this made it easier/more comfortable. Terry & Sue were extremely helpful over the phone, recommending local places and giving advice any time they could. We ordered a big food shop from Tesco to arrive as got there, which was great advice from Sue. Sadly we didn't have great weather, but if you are lucky enough to have sunshine, it would be even better - there are plenty of places outside to sit and Terry & Sue were happy to provide a BBQ should we have been able to use it. There is so much entertainment already provided, DVD player, DVDs, CD player, WIFI, board games & books, you barely have to bring anything! I would certainly go back again. Negatives: The cottage is quite noisy; the walls are not hugely thick so you are able to hear people in the next room. Also (they might be able to see to this) the lounge door, knocks constantly when it's closed, which may sound like nothing but it drove my mum potty! Other that that, it was fabulous x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the homely feel, the nature.
Liked least: The slight noise issue
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niadhe
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Easter Break”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Woodpecker Cottage for a week over the Easter holiday. Our extended family of 12 adults and 4 children (3 generations) had a wonderful time, and would thoroughly recommend Barnacre Cottages. The accommodation was superb and there was ample space for a large group. The views from the cottage were stunning on a clear day, and we enjoyed many walks in the local area. The conservatory with wood burning stove was ideal in the evenings when grandparents could escape from the TV and have a quiet read! The grandchildren loved roaming around outside and spent many hours on the swings and in the wendy house. The owners were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. A delicious Victoria sponge met us on arrival - a lovely touch. Terry went out of his way to provide our grandchildren with opportunities to feed the lambs, collect eggs and even have a pony ride! This was a priceless experience for one of our grandchildren who is severely disabled. We would not hesitate to recommend Woodpecker Cottage and would love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury accommodation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan N
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Woodpecker Cottage is an excellent and well appointed property in a great location and is ideal for a family gathering.”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The accommodation lived up to its description and our expectations.
From arrival when there was a cake and fresh eggs waiting for us the property delivered on all fronts.
Also ideally located to visit the local area it is certainly somewhere we would look to visit again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of Property and fittings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing