We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!”
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware. Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Fantastic light filled conservatory with huge fireplace and woodburning stove. Amazing views.
Huge dining table to seat a large group comfortably. Lovely crockery and crystal glassware.
Large spacious open living/dining/kitchen area. French door to raised balcony overlooking woodland.
Large detached cottage,with woodland to rear, magnificent views across the countryside to the coast
A real and decorated Christmas Tree and logs for the woodburning stove make a lovely Christmas stay
Fine crockery & crystal glasses. Large dining table for guests to eat together
King size bed in large spacious en suite family room, crisp white bedlinen, oak floors and rugs
Woodpecker Cottage at night
Friends & family gathering round the huge new fire pit at Woodpecker cottage.
Huge family room, king size bed, two single beds, en suite bathroom,seating area with sofa & chair
Ground floor family bedroom, double and single beds with large wet room type en suite
Spacious, light and bright twin room/option to convert to superking bed, en suite shower room
Ground floor spacious en suite wet room , ideal for guests with restricted mobility.
Ground floor en suite wet room, with adaptions for guests with limited mobility.
Our all weather well maintained doubles tennis court with play area beyond
Sunset view from the cottages with Blackpool Tower and the coast 20 miles in the distance
Walks from our door in our Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, spectacular autumn colours.
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff our pony just minutes from our door along the river
Enjoy great walks in our surrounding bluebell woods at springtime.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susanmtt
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed in Woodpecker cottage as a party of seven, four of whom have special needs and can honestly say we had an amazing time. The accommodation was fantastic with a large open plan kitchen, dining and living area and five en-suite bedrooms which was great as everyone had their own privacy. The cottage is homely and finished to a very high standard with everything such as hairdryers, towels and cutlery provided for you.

We were given a warm welcome on arrival by the family and given a tour of the accommodation. Sue and Terry provided lots of information about the local area such as places to visit and the best places to eat which was very helpful! The cottage is ideally placed to visit Blackpool, Morecambe and the Lakes.

We all had a great time and would highly recommend Barnacre cottages!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrich1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed January 10, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived just 2 days before Christmas with the 3 kids, 2 Aunties and 2 sets of grandparents for our 6 night stay. What a location, just off the A6 near Garstang, the cottage is on a secluded hillside with wonderfull paneramic views of Morecambe Bay to the North and Blackpool to the South. Behind is woodland that is home to some fantastic wildlife, as we opened the curtains on Christmas morning we saw 2 deer and numerous Pheasant trooting past in front of the cottage.

Sue and Terry the owners are very friendly and more than happy to help out with requests, they even ordered and took delivery of our Turkey for Christmas day! On arrival the Cottage had been seasonally decorated with wreath and real Christmas tree!

Woodpecker Cottage itself was ideal for our large family, the kids had loads of space both inside and out and the downstairs bedrooms were ideal for the grandparents as they came with walk in showers in the en-suites.

The cottage is finsihed to a very high standard and the kitchen is very well equiped for large parties such as ours including a 4 oven traditional AGA. All the bedrooms were very comfortable and the living area was terrific, finished off by a traditional wood burning stove. The dining table seated 12 of us comfortably.

I would highly recommend Woodpecker Cottage for large parties and the stay over Christmas was extra special with the location.

A great time had by all and we all look forward to returning soon.

Richard Law & Family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy14
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for big group”
Reviewed November 22, 2010 for a stay in November 2010

We stayed at Woodpecker and Partridge Cottages with a group of 19 friends and family including kiddies, babies (and our dog) to celebrate our duaghter's christening. The owners were delightful, the accommodation was perfect for a big group. There was lots of spare crockery, cutlery, glasses and chairs so we could have a great gathering in the evening. And the open plan space in Woodpecker Cottage was ideal for a group. Plus a gorgeous party of the country. Thanks to the owners!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth_Bo...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another wonderful holiday at Barnacre”
Reviewed October 23, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

This must have been our sixth or seventh visit to Barnacre in the last ten years or so. We try somewhere else every now and then but haven't really find anything to rival the quality of the accommodation, the beautiful surroundings and especially the fantastic welcome that Sue and Terry provide. Nothing is ever too much trouble. For the last three or four visits we've stayed in the Woodpecker cottage. it's great because it's roomy enough for just about our whole extended family and the facilities are first class. All five double/twin rooms are en-suite which means everyone has their own privacy and it doesn't take hours to get everyone ready to go out to explore the area. The immediate surroundings are truly stunning but we find it's equally good as a base for travelling further afield. It's easy to get to the Lakes and across to Blackpool. This year we had a day in Liverpool and took ion Southport too. Even though we're regulars thee's still lots we haven't seen - so I'm sure we'll be back again soon. All in all Sue and Terry have got things really well sorted; great setting, lovely accommodation with excellent and friendly service. It really lives up to it's 5* billing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donna1862...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant holiday, great accomodation, great location - a great family experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2010 for a stay in December 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family spanning three generations - two toddlers, a boisterous four year old, their parents and grandparents and two great uncles (both of whom are disabled - one wheelchair bound).

We arrived on 21st December 2009 - in deep snow. We had 5 cars (no 4 wheel drives!) between us, but with the help of our hosts (and some of the neighbours!) we arrived safely and set about preparing for what turned out to be a truely magical Christmas break. Sainsburys (their man was a hero) managed to deliver our supplies -

and we were set for a great family gathering. Woodpecker cottage didn't disappoint- this was our second trip (having stayed there the previous October we new how lovely it was) and our hosts Terry and Sue Sharples had already provided loads of advice on cooking Christmas dinner on the AGA so all we had to worry about was the weather! In Woodpecker this was no worry at all - the rooms are comfortable, well furnished, warm (very) with everything that a family could need. There is plenty of space for the children to play, books and games for the oldies and play areas outside (we were also lucky to have loads of snow for snowmen). The disabled family members were able to move around freely. This extended to the ouside as well. Barnacre have a share of a 'Tramper' a motorised 'off road' wheelchair that is able to move around in the snow and on rough ground, with another Tramper lent to us by Wyre District Council. If you want a great family experience - this is for you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamshaw1
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The immpecable standard of our Lodge and helpfulness of the owners made our week really brilliant.”
Reviewed October 22, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

We were a group of 12 Trefoil Girlguiding members visiting Lancashire for our AGM and staying for a week's holiday in Kingfisher Lodge, self catering. The standard of the fittings was so high - absolutely everything you could want was provided, and the setting, with views over to Morecambe Bay, quite stunning. The house was very comfortable with nearly all rooms en suite and was designed by the owners to make it easy to live in. We could walk from the Lodge, the M6 was near enough to make longer journeys simple and there are lots of things to do in the area. The owners themselves could not have been more helpful and the Lodge was spotlessly clean on arrival. Anyone who is posting a negative review is definitely not reporting truthfully as we saw the detailed cleaning and checking undertaken when another cottage was vacated near us. We would recommend this unreservedly and feel that anyone going there will not fail to appreciate the hard work put in to make these cottages so attractive and comfortable. Pam Shaw, Trefoil County Secretary, Norfolk Girlguiding

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisabegle...
stafford
1 review
“Amazing! Could not fault accomodation, facilities or friendliness of owners!”
Reviewed October 18, 2010 for a stay in November 2009

13 of us stayed in the beautiful Woodpecker cottage for a fabulous long w/e. It was very relaxing and Sue and Terry could not do enough for us. They provided details of where to go in the area and we also had a beautician sent to the property for a day of pampering.
I can't wait to go back again!
Thanks again Sue!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing