We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decidedly average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gusto Italia

Gusto Italia
Ranked #77 of 525 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decidedly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

was expecting more but students as waiters , no authenticity . Wine was ok , lasagne lacked taste. I don't think i would ever go back again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank intuitiv990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went for a birthday celebration. We found the food was good, the starters and the garlic
breads were lovely. However my parents were not to happy to have good food served on cold plates as their meal went colder quicker. They explained this to the owner who was very amicable about it and said that he would serve them next time on warm plates. However I dont think my parents were too impressed with the overall service and would not rush back in a hurry. Considering there was only a small handful of people in therestaurant the attention to service was poor. Plates were not removed quickly, we had to go up to the counter to ask for salt, more wine etc. It did not make the evening very relaxing. I have to say in the last few year upon going to Gusto the food has always been good it is just the care that comes with it that needs improving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jally78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love italian food and decided to try a take-away as the place has such fantastic reviews. Unfortunately the food wasn't great. On the positive side the cheesey garlic bread was very nice. The chicken was supposed to be strips but it was massive chunks that were dry and the sauce was bland and tasted a bit like soup had just been poured over it - two mouthfuls and it was in the bin and round to the Indian!

The Gnocchi was OK but none of it had the flavours we normally find in italian food. We won't be going again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nellysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shame management let it down as good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My issue has to be unclear pricing on the website as well as in the takeaway itself. The menu online is for takeaway only and the prices are much higher once you order inside. I have used the takeaway for many years as the food quality is good but will not eat in ever again as I felt very misled about the offers. Eg: I was charged for kids meal which should have been free on a Sunday evening as I've only found a restriction after 6.30 on a Friday, Saturday and bank holiday.
It is very overpriced when it comes to kids food comparing to places like F&B's which includes dessert and drink for the same price! Also, how can anyone justify £1.20 for a glass of cordial?
I did try to discuss this with management and was told I was incorrect about the information provided on the website but upon checking again I am correct. I have also tried to email via the contact details on their website rather than comment on trip advisor unfairly but this is also incorrect!
I do hope that some time is taken to provide clear information and clearer bills (rather than a scruffy note) to avoid the same sour taste for any other customer in future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisePatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

just been to a tapas evening at gusto italia,with a friend and as usual the food was mouth watering, lost count of courses at about 8 and each one was fab, along with a bottle of spanish wine followed by amoretto coffee, yummy yummy keep up the good work vito and staff

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Italia also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Gusto Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing