We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice but overpriced”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

i stayed at this hotel because i was stuck in preston all night and this is where the train station had told us to go, £71 was too expensive £87.50 with food and we had just come from blackpool and payed £35 less for a room at a b&b with buffet breakfast which was clean, i also found hair in the bath i know it can get everywhere

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emzi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    282
    78
    30
    15
See reviews for
322
274
114
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel was clean and staff really friendly. I was on my own with two young children (one baby) and they accomodated well. I was very unhappy when housekeeping decided to enter my room without knocking and hitting my sons pushchair with force with the door....! He was asleep in it 5mins before! I have complained in person. Its only 30 mins free wi fi which barely worked when I was there! I also had to wait for my cooked breakfast as they were busy, I assumed it would be a buffet, I don't feel it was worth the best part of £9! Happy to stay in a premier again although I'll hope that no-one barges into my room without warning again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kay B,

Firstly let me take this opportunity to apologise for the problems you experienced and let me assure you this is not the standard we like to portray for Premier Inn. There is no justification for anyone to enter a guest’s room without first knocking. For this I am truly sorry and will arrange a refund to be forwarded onto you without delay.

We do hope to welcome you and your family to Premier Inn again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed with my mum on our way to a wedding. Was very clean and the staff were really friendly especially the chef and all the kitchen and bar staff as I am a vegan and when I called in advance the chef couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay and couldn't of asked for more.
I would definitely recommend and intend to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laine5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Iaine5000,

Thank you for choosing Premier Inn Preston Central for your recent stay. It's really nice to read that the staff here, in particular our chef to be helpful and accommodating. Given the chance we do aim to meet all our guests requirements so thank you for allowing us to do so. On behalf of the team and myself we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As with other reviewers I am in agreement that this hotel has a lot to offer for the price. Rooms are basic but very well equipped, ours even had a bath which is quite unusual these days. Check in was very quick and easy with key card access to different levels keeping you feeling safe and secure. Very quiet at night and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was efficient and of good quality, staff were friendly and the quality of service very good. Need to stay in the City and looking for a good quality hotel at a reasonable price? Look no further!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear KeystonePreston,

Thank you for your recent recommendation of Preston Central. I am pleased to read you managed to pick up one of our Premier Saver rates and got your room at a fantastic price. You had a good nights sleep as per our guarantee followed by a good quality breakfast all served by our friendly staff and left feeling brilliant!

Thank you once again
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week with work. Great location, fantastic rooms, and restaurant, with a good selection of choice, great prices also. Air condition was a welcome during my stay. Rooms are decorated well and in keeping with the iconic hotel chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Barker5050,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us last week. It's nice to read we managed to fill all criteria that being a "great location, fantastic rooms and restaurant, with a good selection of choice, all topped by great prices plus the welcoming addition of air conditioning".

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

we arrived quite late last night (Sat eve)and were able to park easily on the road outside the hotel. lovely welcome from David who was cheery and so helpful. nice room on 1st floor and beds were comfy, so much so that we slept in very late!! when arriving at breakfast very late I was worried but Tracey was absolutely fantastic - helpful, accomodating and helped us get a fab breakfast being extra helpful with our little un. she is a real credit to the hotel. Thanks to Sharon too. no stress when we checked out a little late. Great premier inn. great staff. great stay! !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Yummymummy35,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your review, it's particularly nice to read when our team have gone the extra mile in such a way that a guest can recall their names. It speaks volumes to the lengths they went to ensure you left feeling brilliant.

On behalf of David, Tracey, Sharon and Myself we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay, i have stayed more the once at this hotel and both times i cant fault the hotel, roadworks sucked but no noise involved for me, was really nice to actually find a room at £29, ive looked all over the country and never before found.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraRoberts, General Manager at Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear LeeB25,

Thank you for returning to Preston Central Premier Inn, I am pleased you were able to secure a £29 room rate! With the saver rates, sites only get allocated a certain number of them and once they have all gone the rate will go up so my advice would be to book in advance and online. If you do not come across the £29 rooms you will still find our rates very competitive. Good Luck and I hope you find more £29 deals in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
959 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Address: Fox Street, Preston PR1 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#1 Best Value Hotel in Preston
#2 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 140 modern rooms and an adjoining Thyme restaurant situated in the city centre of Preston. Great access to Preston station less than half a mile away and easily accessible for visitors to Preston North End Football ground. The University of Central Lancashire, Preston College and the Guild Hall are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Central Premier Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing