We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Premier Inn is new, less than 2 years, so is in very good condition. Unlike most Premier Inns this is more of a hotel with a bar and restaurant adjacent to reception, like a Holiday Inn Express. Service is very good and staff helpful. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean and quiet. Food in the restaurant is good quality and the breakfast was tasty. Only problem was that the restaurant was very busy on a Sunday morning, so go early. The location is good, with some clubs nearby. There is a small carpark, that we could see from the room, but could not find the entrance! There is also a pay & display carpark nearby. The entrance to the hotel is in a cul de sac that you cannot reach directly off the main road which confuses some satnavs. Ovderall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden-mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    265
    74
    27
    15
See reviews for
307
263
107
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Loved my stay. Let me start from the begining, I recieved a call 3 days before my stay and it was from hotel confirming my booking, this has never happened at other hotels or other Premier Inn. When i got there i was greeted by a lovely receptionist called Azmeena, i think, please forgive me for incorrect spelling.
Room was lovely and spacious and comfortable.
Parking would have been a problem but the hotel rang us 3 days prior to me arriving n i booked a space at £5a night
Every one i met was lovely and will defo be staying again thanks preston central managers shud be proud of the staff

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mads M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a well run hotel in a great central location. We will definitly stay there again. The rooms are basic but very clean and modern. The parking was next door to the building, and was ver secure. You do have to pay for this but for £5 was great value. Well situated for a night out in Preston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have revisited this Premier Inn a couple of times this year - and the quality to perfection for the Premier Inn brand is so nearly there it's almost frustrating that there are small niggles each visit that tarnish what could rate it as one of the best PIs I've visited.

I've not rated my last few visits and generally these were ok - only issues were bathrooms - towels not been replaced (I'd put on floor so they got hung up - apparantly you need to put in bath to get replaced - daft!); Bedding gets replaced on each forth night - fine for long stays but stay for 4 nights and would be better to change midway rather than the last day; and poor shower pressure (there is no issue with water pressure to room - just the restricting type water saving shower heads - last time I gave up and had several baths a day rather than shower).

This visit the hotel was full to bursting, Friday night vibe and only one lift working - and sods law 5th floor room allocated with none available lower (apparantly). Lots of stair exercise. To give due lift was eventually fixed by morning.

The old bathroom issue - worst shower yet for a PI - little more than a dribble - bath filled from taps in seconds. Please, please replace with decent shower heads - I must waste rediculous amounts of water running multiple baths...

Everything else grand - I had not realised quite what a mixed area Preston was - bars and nightlife abound, quite a vibe - if you're into that.

Would I recomend - absolutely - jusy bring a jug to wash your hair in the bath....

Room Tip: Book family room - much more comfortable with couch rather than small chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited Preston recently and chose the Premier Inn in the centre to stay. This was the first time we'd used Premier Inn, usually favoring Travelodge or Holiday Inn. It won't be the last visit, though, we were impressed. The Disabled Room we booked was pretty close to perfect for my disabled wife, the only thing we'd change is the height of the bed, it was too low. The staff and the hotel in general were excellent. There are a couple of niggling issues though, first was the lack of parking, we were staying three nights so could use the car park they rented, but that was limited in numbers and cost £5 per night! The second was the cost of the breakfast, I feel that it was overpriced, over a fiver for continental was too high as was over £8 for the full, times that by two and add on the car park and it wasn't cheap!! I did not like the fact that you booked your room and then found that you were hit with having to pay out loads of extra money for what I would regard as essentials. Please, please, please, Premier Inn, give an "all in" price we can book which includes such things as parking and breakfast, many may just want the room, but many of us just want to know the TOTAL price we are going to have to pay upfront!

Room Tip: Ask for the Quiet side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobby1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This review has been written after completing my second two night stay at the hotel.

I would agree with what previous reviewers have said insofar as it is close to the station and the town and that getting to the Car Park could be frustrating given that the entrance to the hotel is at the bottom of a cul-de-sac (with the entrance to the Car Park in the same street) and the layout of the Preston road system.

On the down side I was disappointed that the vacuum cleaner hadn't been run over the floor to pick up the small amount of waste left on the carpet and the little stone found by my near bare foot left on the bathroom floor by a previous guest! Apart from those two things the room was perfect.
Although the restaurant was by no means busy I found the delay waiting to be seated for both morning and evening meals to be frustrating and that the cooked breakfast items, although plentiful, on both days was 'tired' and in some cases drying up. Although it didn't affect me I was surprised that on one morning the shutters were lowered 45 mins before the end of the breakfast period!

On the plus side I have to say that the staff were fabulous and did everything possible to ensure that I had a pleasant stay.

On balance, would I recommend the hotel to others and would I stay there again, to which the answer to both would be, Yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockneyLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel right in centre of Town close to railway station and shopping centres
Ideal location.plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

Only downfall large queues at breakfast time
Go for early or late breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
3.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Address: Fox Street, Preston PR1 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Preston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#2 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 140 modern rooms and an adjoining Thyme restaurant situated in the city centre of Preston. Great access to Preston station less than half a mile away and easily accessible for visitors to Preston North End Football ground. The University of Central Lancashire, Preston College and the Guild Hall are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Central Premier Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing