We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Upmarket Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Upmarket Hostel”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Now a pensioner, no longer travel abroad, instead! travel by rail allover UK. This was my 3rd holiday break since February of this year, staying in 6 different hotels visiting two resorts in one
This time my 1st four nights was spent in Snowdonia, and next on to West Lancashire, decided on Preston as the ideal place to stay for the next four days, Preston was perfect to make day visits to Blackpool, Winderemere, and the Ribble Valley.
A central city centre hotel is essential to do this type of holiday, the location of the Preston Central premier Inn was perfect, less than 10 mts walk from the mainline station.
A good report from majority of all visitors did help me to decide on this Premier Inn, it was completly different to the hotel that I had just left at Caernarfon, with its grand staircase leading from the a busy reception area, and its two beautiful period lounges.
First impresion when walking down Fox Street, on seeing the external of the Premier Inn is good
thee impression I had as I entered the building was not so good, at 1st I thought that I must have entered a large empty drab showroom, managed to find the lift, noticed that reception was on the 1st floor, after arriving 1st floor landing, there were no direction to direct me to the reception area
I presumed the reception area was through the double door, so it was, it looked nothing like an hotel reception area, it looked as if I had entered a nursery playgroup area, without toddlers,
soon a female member of staff arrived, from there on everything went through very smoothly and curtiously. I was given room 420 on the 4th floor, had no difficulty in finding, 1st impression very good, a type of room one would expect in a 4* hotel. it was a decent size room, with ample space of shelves, and open haning, but no dawers, for the next 4 nights had to live out of a suitcase, the bathroom was perfect,, and bed was excellent, there was air condition that work perfect,, the room was peaceful and spotlessly clean, for the size of the room television was on the small side, it would been nice to have a larger screen, had no problem finding channels, and it worked fine, few things were missing that one expected in an hotel,, it was good value for what one payed for.
I had 4 excellent buffet breakfast, better than any 5* hotel, in a very nice smart and comfortable dining area, If the entrance and reception area would be anything like dining area,, it would be avery smart loding house., and worth paying the extra.
I must have looked a little odd, it seemed I was the only tourist, other residents appear to have been in Preston on bussiness, and this where Premier Inn aim for.
Preston was a good centre to explore the surrounding places of interest. I recommend anyone to stay here, and also for a short stay at thr Central Premier Inn, when entering and leaving this place, one does not have to walk through the reception area, this is a drawback for this hotel, I may would have used the restaurant and bar,, once outside, you are well catered for in central Preston, for what I had payed for the 4 nights, it was good value, Premier Inn regard them selves as budget Inns

Room Tip: Arrive early, make no difference here, all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHDLLANELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    274
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
317
269
114
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tabua, Portugal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Staying in Preston is not a delight I would relish in nor wish on my worst enemies, I find the place to be a dump, peculiar and not easy to navigate around. However earlier this year I found the need to use the Premier Inn on Fox Street.

It is down an ambiguous little side street off Fishergate with a pub and homeless hostel on one side of the road and some small retail units dotted around.

Car parking is very limited if you come by such means of transport and you will usually have to pay after between 8am and 8pm so be warned as this can be an expensive addition to your stay.

The P I, is set on floors above the ground and the entrance is into a unattended lobby with cctv and lifts up to the reception. OK still if you are a wheel chair user.

The staff here are well trained and attentive, a bit of hard sell is in place regarding the extra for breakfast but none the less not too a hard sell. Breakfast can be had elsewhere if you prefer something more nutritious than the homogeneously served sausage and bacon.

The room was excellent, sufficiently equipped with the mandatory tea bags and a couple of sachets of the gawd awful Nescafe muck oh and UHT milk....YUK.

Great shower and toilet, good TV provision with radio and a view that looks out on the dismal rainy city of Preston.

I would score this full marks if the parking was inclusive and plentiful and they did not serve Nescafe. Otherwise if you need a city hotel for business or other this is perfectly OK for the job.

Room Tip: Ask for the bargain of the day...they do have them and compare the prices with others and let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Check- in on the first floor of this very modern hotel was quick. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable.The bed was comfortable and we slept well.We stayed at this hotel for two nights.We ate breakfast and dinner in the Thyme Restaurant onsite.The meals were good.
All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful .

We parked our car in the secure Euro car park behind the hotel for 6.30 GBP per night until 10 am.A free onsite car park would have been better but I guess there wasn't room to build one at the time the hotel was planned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Caught up in train termination at Preston due to landslide at Oxenholme on 28th June.had travelled from London and hoping to get home to Glasgow.
I have stayed in a number of top hotels worldwide( not a boast just trying to put into perspective)but never,ever have I felt more welcome in a hotel.
This had been a hard day but from the minute I checked in he warm and friendly and yes fun welcome I received was fabulous.
Not just me a number of fellow passengers also commented on how fantastic the staff were.
Forgot my Blackberry charger , no problem quick search and they found one for me!
Train service next day? " no problem here's a print out for you".
So to Shelley,Shazza and Scott plus others I didn't get names , a big thank you for being such wonderful people.
David from Glasgow

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davie233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in Premier Inns before and so booked this with some trepatation and was surprised to see it so highly rated on here but it is lovely. It'a new, which helps but the staff that I came cross were all lovely and really helpful. They have a nice bar and restaurant (breakfast was very good). The rooms are simple but clean and tidy not soulless like other budget hotels. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon81W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a £29 per night rate and you can not get better value anywhere. This place is immaculate and I have stayed in worse 4 and 5 star accommodation but the only thing that lets it down is the parking. I was aware that there was no parking on site but in the pouring rain and with little opportunity to park outside and even unload more information should be available with booking. We were staying for 2 nights and the receptionist, although very polite, did not explain the parking at all. Knowing we were staying for 2 nights they should direct you to the car park across the road where you only have to top up your ticket once every 24 hours. The one the hotel direct you to only allows parking up to 10am the following day then you have to top up every 3 hours until 3:30 when you can pay an overnight rate again! This is rediculous when you are out for the day so be aware and park opposite the hotel not in the Eurocarpark if your staying longer than 1 night. Apart from this it's excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Best budget hotel in central Preston. Adjacent to the main shopping area. They offer very consistent experience no matter which Premiere Inn hotel you stay. Their hot breakfast was amazing. The internet connection was a bit unstable though and i kept facing disconnection issues.

Room Tip: Register with their loyalty program. Rooms offer either backside (not to great ) or city center view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praveen123pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#11 of 15 in Preston
570 reviews
3.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Address: Fox Street, Preston PR1 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#2 Family Hotel in Preston
#3 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 140 modern rooms and an adjoining Thyme restaurant situated in the city centre of Preston. Great access to Preston station less than half a mile away and easily accessible for visitors to Preston North End Football ground. The University of Central Lancashire, Preston College and the Guild Hall are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Central Premier Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing