We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is the best hotel!!!”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
North East
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If this is the best hotel!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Trip Advisor ranked it as the No.1 hotel in Preston. It's website informed us it had a 2 rosette restaurant. We therefore booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and dinner for the second night. We were telephoned before our arrival to say that the restaurant no longer had any rosettes due to change in ownership and anyway a wedding was on that night so did we want to book a restaurant elsewhere. Thankfully we did so. The Chop House. Very good.
It is right to say that the double room was clean, quite well furnished and decorated nicely. It was, however, very small. The single room was not good, decor was dated, the bathroom old and tired, and the room small, even in comparison with the general broom cupboard that single travellers are usually levered into. The smell in the annex where the rooms were situated varied between overpowering vanilla to that of sweaty feet and damp.
However, the real problem was the lack of staff. When we arrived there was no one on reception and it took some time for the bell to be answered. When we wanted a taxi there was no one about. When we sought a drink from the bar it was void of a barman. When we returned to the hotel at about 10pm hoping for a nightcap all was in darkness and the door securely locked.
On arriving for breakfast no waiter was in sight. The very average breakfast was long in coming and supplies of cereal appeared not to have been replaced from the morning before. Condiments were, like the staff, nowhere to be found.
All in all, if you want an adequate B and B this place will do you. As a hotel (and it's prices seek to suggest it is) it fails.
If this change is down to new ownership the No.1 rating will tumble fast. We stayed here to avoid the usual "one up on the travel lodge chain" hotels. Next time even corporate blandness would be better.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    56
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
75
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Our room looked brand new. Literally, even the building addition it was in looked brand new. The en-suite looked like a display in a plumbing showroom - brand new everything, absolutely spotless. The bed was a Queen, not just a full, and appeared to be brand new. The other furniture looked brand new as well. The TV was a brand new flatscreen with a DVD player in the side. Breakfast was okay. I love the combination of a modern, spacious room and the classic older reception and dining room.

  • Liked — immaculate, new bathroom
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

For the size and grade of this hotel you cannot possibly do better.

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times and the owners know how to be both professional and friendly - I really cannot find fault. Working hard during the day and needing to relax at night - all the staff create that evironment where you are able to let yourself unwind.

I would stay here again given the chance.

The hotel is nicely situated for Preston or as far as St Annes. The bold traveller could head for North Wales, Southport. The Lakes, ect.

I cannot leave this review without mentioning the food. I have added this to a list of places to take client to for dinner, the presentation is superb and the combinations both interesting and different but remains traditional and apears to be sourced locally - always good.

Typical things on the menu are :

Seared Bowland Fillet Steak with Wild Mushroom and Foie Gras.
Red Snapper.
Cod Fillet wrapped in Cumbrian Dried Ham.

I think the hotel has two rossettes (AA) and they are well deserved in my opinion.

Well Done - The Park.

  • Liked — The food. The decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — I have had trouble booking before. Worth booking early.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Stayed at the park 31/10/06
As I pulled up thought the place looked very nice - staff were very friendly and helpful.
I booked into a single room as I was travelling for work and was quite suprised when I was directed to an extension onto the main house - I hadnt realised that you probably wouldnt be in the main building (just assumed so as have stayed in few places like it before). I got what I booked which was a single room only large enough for a single bed + ensuite. However, it was very comfortable/ clean and warm and after a long day travelling + working was very pleasant. Unlike some other reviews - i didnt have a dvd player in my room - but I didnt ask about it and it didnt really bother me.
The breakfast was lovely and the service was quick.
Overall i thought it was a nice place and would stay there again for work.

  • Liked — Knowledge of staff
  • Disliked — Should have booked the double room for solo occupancy - but thats my fault
  • Tips/Secrets — Fab shopping near the football ground and you dont have to pay to park
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy-Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

After a long day at the office, it was a lovely to find a place that bothered. Even though I was late in (9.30pm) and the restaurant was quiet by the time I eat, I was not rushed and the food was fabulous. I believe that it has 2 AA rosettes which the waitress assured me was unique in Preston and hard to achieve, I can vouch for that as it was the best fillet that I have ever tasted with lots of wines available by the glass which is unusual.
A quiet nights sleep completed a pleasant stay and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night in Feb 06. Our first impressions were great. I messed up the booking (I booked it for the wrong night by mistake!) and didn't realise until just before we arrived at the hotel. They would have been within their rights to charge us for the wrong night we booked it and then charge us again but they were very understanding and just amended the booking. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small but looked like it had been redecorated recently and was spotless. There was a DVD player in the room which was a bonus!

Breakfast was lovely. We both had full English which they cooked freshly for us. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but a friend of mine has and said it's fantastic!

One other thing worth mentioning is that it's not particularly close to the centre of town - this didn't bother us but might do it you don't have a car.

I'm not giving it 5/5 as it was quite expensive (we paid £85 for 2 inc breakfast which is steep for Preston) and the room was quite small. Everything else was 100%.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2005

How surprised was I to find a beautifully restored small hotel with the most fantastic food and friendly service in Preston of all places? The little extras in the room such as the DVD player was unexpected and the owner lent me various films throughout my stay from her eclectic collection.
Must mention the food again. It says "award winning" in the blurb and I can really believe it.
Will definitely be back next year.

Helpful?
10 Thank LouiseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
134 reviews
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing