We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel , lovely host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel , lovely host”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here after a long drive from loch ness (7 hrs) , we checked out this place via booking.com , however we phoned the hotel direct and got a  better deal,   than the advertised booking.com price . 
Also impressed with  Louise keeping the kitchen open late for our arrival. Doubt the premier inns of this world would do that !! 
Good Food , great Craic over a couple of beers !!  All finished off with a lovely breakfast .  Big thank you to Louise she was a great mine host .

Rory and Fraser 
Cobbs Cakes Loch Ness 

Room Tip: Phone hotel direct for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louise p, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it was lovely to meet you both. We have no problem in keeping our restaurant open a little later for guests wishing to dine with us after long journeys, as long as they ring ahead as you did to let us know it is not a problem for us, unlike the chained hotels in the area that are just managed, that's the beauty of being an independant hotel. We hope your business meeting went well in Preston and hope you return soon as most of our business clients often do. Thanks Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    54
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
69
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here with my wife over the weekend, and had to write a review as a way of thanking the staff for their "nothing is too much" style of hospitality!
The hotel is a wonderful building from around 1900, and the first thing that hits you is the amazing tiled floor and winding staircase in the grand reception. We were greeted by Louise who checked us in and straight away felt like a friend we’d known all of my life!
We were taken to one of the traditional rooms in the main bit of the manor, and were a little concerned after I had read the previous review saying the rooms were cold. The room was absolutely fine, and I couldn't see how it could be cold, as not only was there adequate heating, but there was also an oil heater too in case you like it really hot!
We ate out in Preston City Centre for our evening meal, but couldn't resist the 'Award winning breakfast'. No wonder it won an award, it was superb!!! Real quality meat, and perfectly done eggs - the only way to start the day. Like the last reviewer, the breakfast room was quiet, but rather than feeling like a morgue, we enjoyed feeling like we were the lord & lady of our Downton Abbey house. Again, hats off to Louise for really caring for us during our stay.
If I could give this place 6 stars, I would. Definitely coming again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DNezmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Disappointing! we wished we has stayed at Premier Inn. We arrived after a 5 hour journey on a minus 5 degree freezing night and the heating had only been on an hour and then it switched off for the night, we were cold throughout the night. The shower screen would not close so stayed inverted over the bath which was dangerous trying to have a shower with a glass window sticking in your ribs and they charged for an executive room!!!! Cold draughty reception room for breakfast and like a morgue so us 3 pairs of guests where whispering and whimpering! I write this because I am fed up trying to support local hoteliers only to find they are overpriced and don't provide the service they sell you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitefirestaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hotel it was very clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast with very good service there seemed to be a lot of business people using the hotel .The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castle536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here, Sunday to Thursday, over a 12 week period, whilst working away from home. I was always assured of a warm welcome and the service was excellent. My room was modern, well equipped with a desk, sufficient electrical sockets and wifi for all my gadgets. I enjoyed breakfast in the charming older part of the house and either dined in the restaurant of an evening, or had food sent up to my room. The location was convenient and much quieter than if I'd booked a city centre hotel and with the option of a walk in the park or by the canal after work. It was also good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose in advance whether you want a bath or power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stopped here for one night- it represented good value for money - very friendly staff, excellent breakfast cooked to order and plenty of it, lovely clean conventional room, the hotel is full of character, it looked as though the en-suite toilet and shower room had recently been updated- it was spotless, nice toiletries, plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/hot choc sachets/bottled water and biscuits- wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBriscoe1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a nice warm welcome, showed to the room by a nice lady, Room was modern with what looked like new furniture. All the facillities in the room were tip top, nice TV , well stocked Tea Boat, a good shower with shampoo and shower gel supplied, which is just what i needed after a demanding day at sea teaching Officer cadets with a low I.Q. The room even had the extra touches like a built in hair dryer to help dry my lucious locks. Highly recomended BZ A+++

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
2.6 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
916 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Legacy Preston International
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#10 of 15 in Preston
129 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 209 Tulketh Road | Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is 3 Star AA Edwardian Manor House built in 1903.We are the only 3 star hotel that is independently owned and run in Preston, as as such, we feel that we can offer a better, and more personal service for your stay,The Edwardian Mansion house dates back to 1903, and retains its wonderful period features. The main house has a bar and dining room, and six traditional double rooms, a studio apartment for a family, and our two new superior rooms,An annex at the rear of the property adds another 10 single and twin rooms which have been finished in more modern style,We can accommodate functions and business conferences, and our location in the lovely Ashton area of Preston offers fresh air and large open parks, whilst only 5 minutes drive from Preston town centre,So whether it be business or pleasure for your visit to Preston, we're sure that your stay at The Park Hotel in Preston will be enjoyable, and memorable, We have 19 beautifully designed rooms, Lounge bar with a wide choice of drinks,Sun Terrace to enjoy drinks,Intimate restaurant with 22 seats, Free private car-park with CCTV, Free WIFI throughout the hotel so for the discerning guests who dare to stay away from the characterless chain hotels with their uniform rooms and sterile service, we present the charming and unique Park Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing