We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was a business trip booked by a colleague, so i wasn't expecting much. What a surprise therefore to find such a lovely place to stay at reasonable prices. The hotel is very comfortable with nicely appointed and sizeable rooms. Very clean and tidy. In addition there is a very good spa with a good swimming pool and sauna and whirlpool.

The evening dinner at £15.00 for a three course meal was excellent, they've obviously found themselves an exceptional chef, in very nice surroundings. Next mornings breakfast was equally good and thrown in with the room rate.

I'll definitely be staying at this hotel again on my next trip to the north west.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barton Grange when you are back in the North West.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    182
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
120
224
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a course for work. Staff friendly & welcoming, rooms comfortable, good leisure facilities. I ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant & the food was to a very good standard & the service was excellent. I would definitely stay again if back in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lg1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, it’s really great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Barton Grange.

I look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plagne, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stay in lots of hotels and know outstanding service when I see it! if you've a function or conference then David is your man - nothing is too much trouble and always delivered with cheerful grace. All the waiting staff are excellent, even going to the trouble of specially bringing in thick toasting bread for breakfast. What's so special about that?? It was the waitress's day off - take a bow, Pat!

All the staff make this place what it is .... and the food is always very good.

Room Tip: Try asking for one of the 'original rooms'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
What a fantastic review.

We are so lucky at Barton Grange Hotel to have so many amazing staff that will go “that extra mile”.

How lovely to mention David and Pat, I will make sure the review is shared with them and the rest of the team.

Let me know when you are returning and we will get the thick bread you like!

Best wishes and see you soon

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is average to quite good, nice in parts but is old and worn in many areas. As previous reviews have said, the beds are really old and worn, I don't understand how they could have not improved the beds by now, very rickety and rock from side to side just by sitting on them and mattress is very sagged in centre, woke up with terrible back ache. Carpets, skirting boards etc are worn, on plus side, the family room was definetly a good size, it didn't feel squashed with 2 adults and 2 children, clean bedding and towels, bathroom modern and clean, nice relaxed bistro named walled garden, very nice friendly staff. Hotel seems to be part nice and modern and part worn. on a whole I would say the hotel is comfortable enough but nothing too special, adequate when staying for business or to be used as a stop when travelling somewhere else, I would be disappointed if I came here for a holiday

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

I can assure you I have noted your comments, I am pleased to hear you found the staff very nice and friendly.

I do hope you will return to the Hotel sometime in the future.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight to attend a function and this is a lovely building incorporating 'original bedrooms' as well as newer parts of the building. I had one such room and it was spacious and warm and the bed was superb, made leaving very difficult. The food at our dinner was excellent and the breakfast plentiful and beautifully presented. The staff were without exception helpful and polite and friendly and I am already planning to find an excuse to return to be spoiled for another night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MARLEY012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Not many beds make u think about sleeping on the floor, this one was way to old and soft as previous posts have suggested. Was to tired to think about eating breakfast the following morning so asked if it could be deducted from the bill, unfortunately no such luck.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank xvanillaskyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

we have been to the walled garden several times and have always found it excellent! My parents have stayed several times at the hotel - the staff have always been very attentive - hotel itself is best described as comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
964 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing