We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barton Grange Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barton Grange Hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really can't praise this hotel and all it's staff enough despite a booking mix up which was sorted very quickly and with the minimum of fuss and more than ample compensation.All the public areas and the leisure and pool suite have a peaceful relaxing atmosphere. Our room was beautiful everything fresh and clean. the Walled Garden Bistro is superb the food says it all. all in all an excellent place to stay for whatever the reason. so good we have already booked to stay again with friends this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    182
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
120
224
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here on route from Midlands to Scotland. We were warmly welcomed from staff at reception and stayed in one of the executive rooms. The room in the old part of the hotel had been thoughtfully modernised but keeping traditional touches throughout, especially the bathroom, which had a fabulous deep bath and a really strong shower. The pool was lovely.
The waiting service in the restaurant was excellent, very natural, friendly and always there at the right moment to order, clear plates etc. I have to say the food was excellent. My husband and I had the ribeye and it was cooked to perfection. So tender we could have cut it with a spoon, and along with the gorgeous jus, and piping hot crispy soft centred chips, it was heaven on a plate.
Breakfast had so much to choose from and again the service was excellent.
This is a lovely place to stay, the staff really make you feel welcome and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was spacious with a lovely big bed. The room was a bit cold as the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellis588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Reception staff very efficient. Rooms very clean, bathrooms are looking a bit tired.
Breakfast is very good, good selection of hotels food, cereals, etc. Fresh fruit would be nice.
Swimming pool and gym are great.
Like any hotel, if you look hard enough you can find fault. But generally speaking I think this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked this hotel for my special birthday. As for staff friendliness and great service, its the best
hotel we have ever been to. Rebecca on reception and Laura in the restaurant were wonderful.
We cannot wait to go back and have recommended it to all our friends.
The rooms were beautiful and the food outstanding.Definitely a five star!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having dined in the hotel's Walled Garden restaurant on several previous occasions we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay. Let me say right away that every member of staff that we met was cheerful and efficient, the meal superb as always. Our room (214) was equipped with everything that you could want complete with iron and ironing board - not often found even in 5 Star hotels. The room and en-suite bathroom were warm and clean and very nicely decorated. However the bed was a nightmare. The mattress was lumpy, soft, and long since past it's change by date. Both my wife and I found it hard to sleep and my wife woke up with backache. What a shame to spoil a lovely room with penny pinching on mattress quality and changing. To end on a positive note Breakfast and the breakfast team were again perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and dined in the walled garden, the room was beautiful, the facilities were a very welcome break and the food was outstanding. The service of all staff in all departments were very polite but also really friendly, made us feel very relaxed and at ease. All in all a great night away!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspotter1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The reason we come here is because the restaurant is fab! Well done Barton Grange! Rooms are ok - some in need of a little updating perhaps? Others - very nice. Depends on the luck of the draw. What I will say is be careful if the hotel has a function and book a room that looks out to the walled garden if you value your sleep..and sanity!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
964 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing