We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked this hotel for my special birthday. As for staff friendliness and great service, its the best
hotel we have ever been to. Rebecca on reception and Laura in the restaurant were wonderful.
We cannot wait to go back and have recommended it to all our friends.
The rooms were beautiful and the food outstanding.Definitely a five star!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 674 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having dined in the hotel's Walled Garden restaurant on several previous occasions we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay. Let me say right away that every member of staff that we met was cheerful and efficient, the meal superb as always. Our room (214) was equipped with everything that you could want complete with iron and ironing board - not often found even in 5 Star hotels. The room and en-suite bathroom were warm and clean and very nicely decorated. However the bed was a nightmare. The mattress was lumpy, soft, and long since past it's change by date. Both my wife and I found it hard to sleep and my wife woke up with backache. What a shame to spoil a lovely room with penny pinching on mattress quality and changing. To end on a positive note Breakfast and the breakfast team were again perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for one night and dined in the walled garden, the room was beautiful, the facilities were a very welcome break and the food was outstanding. The service of all staff in all departments were very polite but also really friendly, made us feel very relaxed and at ease. All in all a great night away!!

Stayed: January 2013
2  Thank mrspotter1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The reason we come here is because the restaurant is fab! Well done Barton Grange! Rooms are ok - some in need of a little updating perhaps? Others - very nice. Depends on the luck of the draw. What I will say is be careful if the hotel has a function and book a room that looks out to the walled garden if you value your sleep..and sanity!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a night this place is amazing from arriving to leaving i could not fault a thing the staff are so frendly and helpfull nothing is too much trouble

The food is to die for pipeing hot and a great menu

As for the party night well i was left with a massive smile on my face so much fun


Well done Barton Grange 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stopped overnight at Barton Grange. The staff were without exception friendly, helpful and cheerful

Breakfast was lovely - a wonderful buffet, and cooked food - since we didn't want the cooked option they offered to make up sandwiches for our journey instead! Just one example of them going above and beyond.

The rooms weren't particularly updated, but were reasonable and the bed were very comfortable.

Overall a great place to stop overnight - and somewhere that we'd like to go back to and spend more time at.

Room Tip: The rooms are being redecorated with new bathrooms. Some of these have just showers. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewgbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Spent a lovely evening at Barton Grange.
The room was clean, comfy and good value for money.
A lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff.
The food was excellent too.
Ideal for the motorway to Blackpool and Lytham.
Will definately stay there again when next up that way.
Thanks BG

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNelson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
11.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#8 of 15 in Preston
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the heart of Lancashire. Once an old manor house, the family run Barton Grange Hotel in Preston, Lancashire has been extensively refurbished. Offering a stylish contemporary setting, the hotel retains the comfort, charm and character of its origins. As a 4-star hotel in Preston, all the amenities you would expect are present. There is attention to detail in every room, making your stay at our luxury hotel as restful as it should be. As a guest at Barton Grange Hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing swim in our pool after a workout in the well-equipped gym. Or relax in the sauna after a hard day filled with sightseeing or day-to-day work. Enjoy the evening with a drink in our wood-panelled lounge after a pleasant walk in our landscaped gardens. Book online today or take advantage of one of our many deals available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing