We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little Find”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Us and our friends stayed here on our travels through the UK. We were going to stay at the Marriott but as it was full they recommended this hotel to us. Everyone there was very nice, the rooms clean and the food at their restaurant was very good. A different kind of menu but I was happy with what I had ordered. I've let my English friends know as they are more likely to be in this area than me. But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    182
    61
    19
    12
See reviews for
122
228
25
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights DBB from 20th September 2012 party of 16 on a walking holiday.Fine looking hotel on approach, inside blending of decor between old part of hotel and new super, bedrooms spotless big comfy bed and nice soft pillows we had room 217 overlooking the walled garden nice and quiet, dinner was cooked to perfection with a good choice of dishes, only annoying thing was having to pay for tea or coffee if you wanted it shame as its not a cheap hotel, Breakfast could not be faulted with lots of choice,All staff very helpful and pleasant with time for guests. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the walled garden on 2nd floor we stayed in 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzyWirralU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I led a group of 16 veteran walkers who stayed here for 3 nights. I got nothing but praise from our members regarding the high standards of this establishment. The dinners were well presented and tasty to match, and the staff obtained satisfying alternatives for those with special or fussy dietary needs. Served breakfasts including some specials were on offer during our stay.
The rooms and leisure facilities provided a pleasant and relaxing time after a day walking in the the Forest of Bowland. All the staff that I came in contact with went out of their way to be helpful. I would stay here again if I wanted accommodation on the north side of Preston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Back to Barton Grange again. Nothing has changed. Still the best value hotel I have stayed in anywhere worldwide. Not the glitziest, not the most comfortable, not in a stunning location but just simply fabulous value for money with a staff that could hold their own against anybody else's. I woul never pass this hotel, if I was staying in this area ( or further afield).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MCASPETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Since my last review the Barton Grange are now on a refurbishment programme and I was lucky enough to be allocated one of these rooms. This ceratinly puts Barton Grange as the place to stay when in the Preston area. As always the staff were excellent and friendly. Looking forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyWhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff are so friendly and helpful and very customer focused who can't do enough for you.
The food is excellent, great choice and fresh - the vegetables must be steamed - very tasty and a huge choice of delish breakfast too - cooked to order not been hanging around
The pool and gym whilst small are not shared with outside members, so often have it all to myself, no steam room but lovely sauna
I had room 5 this time, the bed engulfed me and i did not want to get out of it
old fashioned bath and modern shower
only issue is the night safety doors were outside my room and a bit noisy in the morning till they were opened again
enjoy your stay....

Room Tip: over looking the garden is nice and room 5 provided you can sleep through the safety door being open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed hear for a weekend whilst visiting Preston Guild. From the minute we arrived everything was great. Catherine on reception looked after us really well. Excellent meal in the bistro on the Friday night and great breakfasts every morning..... Proper bacon and sausages!
Our rooms overlooked the gardens and were really quiet. We'll definitely be going back.
Lovely touches like the witty do not disturb signs on the door. Free drinks at their garden centre down the road was a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
982 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
11.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
12.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing