We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here on 18 August 2012 after finding it when another hotel had doubled booked us. As soon as we walked in we was made to feel welcome and special. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Food was excellent. Could not fault this hotel in any way. Had an excellent romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms in the little annex were quiet and very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 664 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

I last stayed here 2 years ago after in putting the incorrect postcode, it was one of the best mistakes I ever made. We promised ourselves another stay the next time we were in the area, the birth of another grandson was a good excuse.
Having rushed from the car in pelting rain, I stopped at the hotel entrance to sort myself & was pleasantly surprised when the receptionist came out to us & asked if we needed any help. Yet again, greeted like old friends. We ended up getting room 1, an executive room, well worth the extra few pounds.
Waiting in our room was an envelope addressed to me with a Congratulations on the birth of my Grandson - I had mentioned this was the reason we were to be staying when I booked. What a thoughtful thing to have done.
Our 2 night deal was called a Pimms Stay, a large jug of Pimms with dinner each night - absolutely lovely.
Excellent dinner with good choice of food with an £18.50 allowance + our jug of Pimms included in our DB&B package of £143.
Fresh milk in wee bottles available in a fridge near our room, plenty of toiletries, in an executive room we also got huge fluffy robes & slippers.
This family run hotel could teach a lot of other places how to do things, every member of staff we met greeted us and smiled, we felt very welcome.
We will return if we are down that way again & can certainly recommend the hotel to others.
Particular thanks to Catherine on reception.

Room Tip: Ask if Executive Room 1 is available, Room 5 is a bit smaller but with a huge bed & lovely slipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Signing-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stopped off here on the way to visit relatives in Scotland. We had a lovely clean and contemporary decorated room with all the mod cons you would expect.
We enjoyed a swim in the pool and being able to walk around the gardens. The lounge and bar areas were spacious yet cosy.
Our evening meal in The Walled Garden was great, the atmosphere relaxing and the service attentive. It was likewise at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshiremoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed during the Open Championship. Although the hotel was quite busy, the service was still first rate! Quick check-in, nice accomodations, pretty garden view, and fabulous restaurant on the premises. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snider_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stay at the this hotel quite often and have always had a very pleasant stay. The staff are great and always helpful. But on my recent visit I feel thet the interior is now looking like it is ready for a refurb. I stayed on the first floor so I don't know if these rooms are the exception. The arm chairs certainly had seen better days if you had these at home they would be thrown out. The overall interior has seen better days. Its such a shame if they let this continue as I really like this hotel. Lets hope they put it right I for one certainly do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Whicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed on Sat evening for a R.T.S support group meeting, the children and adults have REBUNSTEIN TABI syndrome, the staff couldn't have been better, and made all the families very welcome, we couldn't fault this hotel, the food was excellent and lots of it, rooms and swimming and gardens also excellent, Rob who provided the kids entertainment was so funny, the kids and adults loved him, give the man a pay rise!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the garden room and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johannesouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel, rooms were lovely with bath robes and slippers, nothing was too much trouble for the staff from booking to arrival. Even to helping other members of my party with umbrellas when they were unloading there car in very heavy rain.
Swimming pool and sauna ideal.
Walled Garden Restaurant for Dinner was also very good.
Breakfast really excellant offering lots alternatives to a full English.
Staff again could not do enough.
Would deffinately stay again, thinking of booking for christmas dinner Party. Hotel already fully booked for Christmas and new year stays!!!

Room Tip: We had an executive suite which was excellant but all the rooms were really good. We were warned al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
3.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5.0 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range: $81 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the heart of Lancashire. Once an old manor house, the family run Barton Grange Hotel in Preston, Lancashire has been extensively refurbished. Offering a stylish contemporary setting, the hotel retains the comfort, charm and character of its origins. As a 4-star hotel in Preston, all the amenities you would expect are present. There is attention to detail in every room, making your stay at our luxury hotel as restful as it should be. As a guest at Barton Grange Hotel, you can enjoy a relaxing swim in our pool after a workout in the well-equipped gym. Or relax in the sauna after a hard day filled with sightseeing or day-to-day work. Enjoy the evening with a drink in our wood-panelled lounge after a pleasant walk in our landscaped gardens. Book online today or take advantage of one of our many deals available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing