We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barton Grange Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed during the Open Championship. Although the hotel was quite busy, the service was still first rate! Quick check-in, nice accomodations, pretty garden view, and fabulous restaurant on the premises. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snider_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    178
    58
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
217
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Goostrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spacious room, in the old part of he building. Quiet.

Large bathroom.

All the usual facilities.

Decor a bit tired, but still acceptable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GooGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stay at the this hotel quite often and have always had a very pleasant stay. The staff are great and always helpful. But on my recent visit I feel thet the interior is now looking like it is ready for a refurb. I stayed on the first floor so I don't know if these rooms are the exception. The arm chairs certainly had seen better days if you had these at home they would be thrown out. The overall interior has seen better days. Its such a shame if they let this continue as I really like this hotel. Lets hope they put it right I for one certainly do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Whicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed on Sat evening for a R.T.S support group meeting, the children and adults have REBUNSTEIN TABI syndrome, the staff couldn't have been better, and made all the families very welcome, we couldn't fault this hotel, the food was excellent and lots of it, rooms and swimming and gardens also excellent, Rob who provided the kids entertainment was so funny, the kids and adults loved him, give the man a pay rise!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the garden room and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannesouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel, rooms were lovely with bath robes and slippers, nothing was too much trouble for the staff from booking to arrival. Even to helping other members of my party with umbrellas when they were unloading there car in very heavy rain.
Swimming pool and sauna ideal.
Walled Garden Restaurant for Dinner was also very good.
Breakfast really excellant offering lots alternatives to a full English.
Staff again could not do enough.
Would deffinately stay again, thinking of booking for christmas dinner Party. Hotel already fully booked for Christmas and new year stays!!!

Room Tip: We had an executive suite which was excellant but all the rooms were really good. We were warned al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was just a delight from start to finish - once we found it!
Missed the hotel sign first time through the village and anyway it is at the exit not the entrance.
First impression is always vital and this was very good - grounds clean and tidy and car park well marked.
Even better impression was the warm and cheerful welcome from the receptionist who was friendly and very efficient.
We had two single rooms well furnished and with very comfortable beds.
Despit a reception going on we never heard any noise at night.
an excellent idea was the availability of fresh milk for a nice cuppa - so much better than UHT.
The Walled Garden bistro served excelent food at a very reasonable price and the service matched the rest of the staff.
Breakfast was superb in quality ( eggs benedict was brilliant) and the staff could not have been nicer.
I can not recall a more enjoyable visit to a british hotel foe more years than I care to remember.
I just wish this Company owned every hotel I stayed at.
DO NOT MISS IT!

Room Tip: book in !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCASPETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my niece's hen do and them again a few weeks later for her wedding. It is absolutely spotless and obviously not a chain establishment - the staff really care and have the autonomy to make things right e.g my 8 year old was upset because he didn't like his wedding meal and was quickly and discretely brought some chips from the other restaurant.

The rooms are a mixed bag - all very comfortable and clean don't get me wrong but some are more classic aka 1980s than others. The rooms in the original part of the building are stunning. Great breakfast.

In the past when in this area I have always stayed at the Marriott. However, Barton Grange is better in some ways - staff, atmosphere, Walled Garden restaurant but as for most people nowadays, it will come down to price and BG can be quite a bit pricier without a deal. 100% recommended though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
9.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Property: Barton Grange Hotel
Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#4 Family Hotel in Preston
#5 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing