We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriot close to M6/M55”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Marriot close to M6/M55”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for one night en-route to London with family after having stayed a number of years previously.

Hotel very well positioned just off the M6 at junction with M55 (Blackpool road) – close to Preston, Blackpool & surrounding towns.

Hotel comprises original old building plus more modern bedroom wings, leisure center with pool & gym.

Sits in extensive grounds making you feel you are in the country away from the buzz.

Family room was a good size, in nice condition and well appointed – room view was of a large tree so not so good but not the case for many rooms.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice both hot and cold foods.

Got a decent rate through Marriots own web site or by calling hotel directly.

Only complaint would be the water temperature in the shower – went from really hot to frozen cold then back again without any warning.

Reported this scalding potential to reception at check out who did seem interested and said it was a know issue they were working on.

Enjoyed our short stay at this hotel and if the price was right would stay there again in the future.

Nice hotel in great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    357
    172
    70
    51
See reviews for
242
375
33
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights (Friday-Sunday) the hotel it self was nicely decorated and the room was nice and clean with a range of amenities. I stayed in the executive guestroom however this just looked like a standard room. I arrived half an hour early and as expected we were told our room wouldn't be ready for at least half an hour. As the lobbie was full of new arrivals we were asked to wait in the bar until our room was ready we didn't mind this but after 6 hours travelling we were very tired and weren't in the mood for drinks at the time. However within half an hour 3 members of staff had been over to ask us if we were ready to order or weather we wanted drinks. It felt like they were sick of us and wanted us out of there. On the first night we ordered room service and the food was alright not anything special although the waiter was very polite and the food was served withing 20 minutes of ordering piping hot. The breakfast was wonderful definitely the highlight of my stay. There was plenty of choice and they cater for everyone. One problem for us was we didn't take the car and the hotel is literally in the middle of no where. There is no restraunts around. The closest restraunt was an Indians at least a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The beds were incredibly comfortable. On the morning of check out the reception staff was a bit useless, as we had paid in advance for the hotel yet they were adamant we hadn't paid and they tried to charge us twice. After they had checked the paperwork they realised they had made a mistake and apologised. Would definitely stay in another Marriott just not this one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geekchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The service and rooms were second to none. My wife and i stayed the weekend of our wedding. Had a dinner the night before and they hosted us well. Our family stayed as well and everyone came back with positive reviews. Thank you very much. We will be staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

stayed here one night as at a function in Preston. The room was pleasant for standard double room. Good facilities in room -: trouser press, iron & board,tea & coffee etc. The bed was comfy and the bedding/pillows perfect.. The bathroom was ok , but needed in my opinion re-grouting , re-painting and new floor. We where on the ground floor and had a horrible and unsightly out-look - onto a 'boiler' and pipes. If we had been staying for any length of time we would have asked for another room. Used the swimming pool and spa, all of which was lovely. Had a sandwich in the Lounge Bar, which was very good and had excellent service from 'Dan' the waiter. Had the in-room breakfast option, this was delivered piping hot and was of excellent quality. Very generous potions to the extent we couldn't eat it all.There was no noise at night.

Room Tip: Ask what the view is like from the room, if on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights & were very happy. Our room was spacious & comfortable, air-con quiet & we were not disturbed by noise outside at all. The pool is lovely. All staff were polite and friendly. We thought the food was excellent, both in the main restaurant & lounge bar. Also the breakfast buffet was superb. The hotel is outside the city centre in a quiet spot but near to the motorway & off the A6. We will definitely stay again & can recommend it based on our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went to this hotel with a group five friends to celebrate two birthdays. We arrived at 2pm and was able to check in straight away, the reception staff were really friendly. We had three rooms all on the same floor, our rooms were lovely, we had two nice big comfy beds.....surely bigger than a double bed!
The rooms had air con at no additional cost which was great as we were in the middle of a heatwave!
Showergel, shampoo, moisturiser, soap and toilet roll was fully stocked along with a kettle, tea, coffee, milk and sugar. Towels were also provided.
The room had an iron and board too and a TV with the option to purchase extra channels, movies.

Wifi and phone signal isnt great in there and there is an option to pay for wifi, not sure how much though as I didnt use it.

We popped out for some drinks in our room and the nearest shop was a good 5 minute drive away but as long as you have a car you will be fine :-) The nearest supermarket we could find was Sainsburys which was about 10-15 minute drive away.

We had sandwiches for lunch which were a bit pricey but did the job. Then we had dinner in the restaurant which was very reasonable. It cost approx 25.00 each for a starter, main and a couple of bottles of wine. Breakfast came as part of our room booking and it was amazing! All you can eat buffet style with chef on hand to cook fresh poached eggs and omlettes. Full English was available along with continental and cereal. A range of fresh juice and tea/coffee was also on offer. Breakfast was served between 7am and 11am.

After dinner we just sat and drank in the bar having a catch up, it was a nice break. The only problem we had was that we didnt have a deposit at reception and at 11.30pm one of the girls wanted a diet coke yet they didnt take cash or card at that time, they could only add the service to your room.

Overall though it was a lovely night away with great company, great food and a lovely sleep :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip for business and was only here for one night. The hotel is very easy to get to just off the motorway and has a big free car park for guests. The staff on check in were very friendly and chatty, which is not always the case in some big hotels. The rooms are small but just big enough for 1 person, I certainly would not want to stay in the room I had with 2 people in the room. The decor was a little tired although it was clean and tidy with a reasonable climate control that allowed me to keep it at a good temperature despite the 28 degree heat outside. The only thing I would say is that Marriott insist on charging £15 for internet access for 24 hrs! This seems ridiculous in this day and age particularly when a lot of hotels are now offering it for free. I would say it is one of the better breakfasts I have had in a chain hotel complete with a chef available in the servery area to cook eggs however you like in front of you, this is a great touch. The food was also top notch and I would recommend. Not sure if I would stay here again but the location and breakfast would be difficult to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_tuBBymAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
712 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Preston International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
591 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing