We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good location - room for improvement”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently stayed overnight as the hotel is convenient for the motorway network. Communal areas are nice, although a little cold. Room and bathroom were looking a bit tired and our room was next door to a maintenance unit which made a constant humming noise all night. Despite the hotel being a little disappointing the standard of the food in the restaurant was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    345
    160
    65
    50
See reviews for
226
352
33
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel itself is excellent particularly the accommodation and facilities and food was delicious but the restaurant has no atmosphere at all (felt like a funeral parlour - afraid to break the silence)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight on our way to Fort William with Lochs & Glens, had a lovely room, food was o.k. I've had better, price of drinks were very expensive, glass of wine £7. Food was average I don't know if that was because we were a coach party

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights quite recently, taking the deluxe room (basically the cheapest from what I could fine), and while absolutely fine, it was some way short of deluxe!
We checked in late at night, and the receptionist was very pleasant. Arriving in the room though, it was fairly cramped, and dated by way of decoration. In particular it was the bathroom that was particularly disappointing. The fittings were generally very cheap- nasty taps/faucets, and poor quality shower head that could not disperse a decent fan of water. The toiletries were cheap too. The in-room kettle was terrible and the range of teas and coffees well below what one would expect in a 4 star hotel.
Overall- fairly disappointed. And the final nail in the coffin: £6/hour for WiFi internet. Cellular coverage is poor in the area, though I was able to get a low-speed 3G connection in certain parts of the room. The hotel-provided internet is more expensive than London, Hong Kong or the US!
We'd prefer not to go back, and instead may try out the nearby Barton Grange Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkqd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night on the champagne package. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room was clean and spacious and well presented. There were a few minor areas which needed attention, however overall we were vey impressed. On checking in we were given a 2 for 1 voucher for cocktails which we decided to try out. Although it took some time for the cocktails to come, they were very good.
Dinner in the restaurant was also very good. We dined from the set menu, which had a good and varied choice. The couple sat next us complained constantly about the quality of the food and service, however we felt that their complaints were unwarranted.
After an excellent night's sleep, we were pleased to find that the breakfast was as good as dinner.
Overall we found this hotel to be excellent. The staff are also helpful and friendly, which is rare.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I normally send positive reviews to Trip Advisor since the vast majority of hotels in which I have stayed are doing their best to give customers good service in these demanding economic times. It is sometimes to easy to criticize, and besides I feel that the most important function of Trip Advisor is to inform the public of good establishments.
However my experience of the last couple of days has forced me to make an exception to my reports.What was meant to be a two-day treat for my wife at the Preston Marriott turned into a total nightmare. And just in case a manager wishes to take up the veracity of my complaints I shall be very specific about dates.
At this time of year we intended making full use of the leisure centre. However on the 7th. March we were told that men had to change in the women's changing room and vice versa. On returning to the changing room I was told that all the men's showers were out of action, and that I could only wash on the pool side. There there was no soap, but just a plastic box that had been dumped under the showers. This was supposed to contain soap but it did nor work.
On 8th.March the steam room was closed all day. We were not given any prior notice of these events.
On leaving we did see a notice that stated that on the 12th, 13th, and 14th. March the men's shoers would be closed again. No doubt future customers will not be informed of this in advance.
My advice - avoid this hotel if you are intersted in the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pwilliamsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment my husband & I arrived Friday evening we felt relaxed and welcome. It was a very pleasant atmosphere & the staff couldn't do enough for us from checking in (they had noted it was for my hubby's birthday) until we left, especially at breakfast. The room was very cosy, spacious, and spotless. The only thing we were disappointed with was the bar meal which was expensive & ordinary. would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: booked an exec room as it was a special occasion, near to exit and lift but not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxyinbpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing