We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but could be cleaner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad but could be cleaner!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in jan 2013. The building itself is nice with lovely grounds but hotel service and rooms were okay.

In our room there were plenty facilities, tea, coffee,iron etc but the mini bar was 'out of service'

The rooms weren't very clean, especially the bathroom and I had to search for a clean plate at breakfast,

The food was very nice and there was plenty choice for breakfast but the restaurant was closed on a Friday night. I can only presume this was because it was quiet? people were eating in the bar though but we decided to venture elsewhere.

Overall it was okay but needs to up it's game if it is to compete with other marriott hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicity c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    339
    156
    64
    47
See reviews for
222
348
32
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely hotel. Have stayed there a few times now. Lovely grounds. Great if you want to be away from the town, bus stop outside to take you into town if you want or jump in a cab. Great rooms, great staff. Very relaxing. Take your swim wear so you can enjoy the pool and spa. Will always book it if available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It's refreshing to be made to feel like a valued customer.
The hotel was comfortable, room excellent and the staff very attentive and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.
I stayed on business for only one night and would definitely re visit if given the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,114 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,387 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a Gold member, I stay at many Marriott hotels and this one maintains the very high Marriott brand standards. Out of town but within walking distance of an excellent Indian and a Vintage Inn. There is a bus stop immediatly outside the hotel if you want to go into the City Centre or taxis are available. Great environment in the public areas and quite a few congerations of bedroom and location within the hotel.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the newer built section slightly bigger than those in old house building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights, with our last night being on New Year's Eve. We generally found everything satisfactory overall. The building itself is beautiful and there is ample free parking available. However, on arrival, we noted that the front windows (looking out from the dining room) were dirty, with children's handmarks on practically every window, and the general appearance of the front entrance was untidy and not particularly welcoming, which does not give a good first impression. However, our room was large and clean and had all the usual benefits of excellent bed linen, bathroom products etc which were of the usual high standard, which you expect from Marriott. Our bedroom was not hoovered the whole time we were there, which I feel should be addressed. The noise from the corridors outside our room on New Year's Eve was horrendous, with unsupervised children running up and down from 11 pm to well past 1.45 am. We expected some noise of course, being New Year's Eve, but would have expected hotel management to moniter noise levels in the public areas, especially after midnight. We did report this to reception, but no action appeared to be taken. Breakfast at this hotel is excellent. Plenty to choose from, great variety and the hot breakfast is fresh and tasty. Breakfast service was efficient and friendly and the breakfast staff were excellent. Unfortunately, the carpets in the breakfast restaurant had not been hoovered and still had signs of the party from the night before, which was a shame. All in all, a nice stay, comfortable room, excellent breakfast but housekeeping should be addressed, for the reasons above.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

All good at this hotel, Nice pool, decent restaurant menu, nice clean rooms, everything worked etc etc.

However still resent being charged for wi-fi in room (1 hour free in public areas). Rip-off.

On the whole, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The reception staff were very friendly, but God only knows how they can work in the reception with that air freshner, it nearly knocks you out. Needs dropping down a tone.
I had 4 kids with me, got interconnecting rooms, rooms really clean. Small but clean and comfy, no complaints.
Pool is a bit awkward, i think the gym members use it and they dont seem to want to have other people in it. OK i have 4 kids, but i have paid a lot of money and if we want to use the pool i think we should be able to without feeling guilty. Incidently my little girls clothes got stolen from the changing rooms as she forgot to put them in a locker, this wasnt nice but not hotels fault.
Evening meal, the waitress was really really nice and was by far the friendliest face there. Nice to have someone like that in a hotel.
Wife also had spa treatment and said it was really professional.
It is a nice stay but it feels a little souless, Breakfast really nice, plenty to choose from unless your veggie.
All in all nice, not cheap but clean. Just needs a bit more character and loose the air freshner in reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinlong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,282 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#12 of 15 in Preston
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing