We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Massive Improvement”

The Walled Garden Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 558 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Walled Garden Restaurant occupies the site of what was originally kitchen vegetable plot for Barton Grange. We felt that the garden with it’s mellow brick walls and pergola would make a good foundation for our restaurant – and we liked the idea of retaining it’s culinary purpose – so we covered it with a roof and filled it with tables and chairs. Diners can now relax over their meals in the conservatory, enjoy semi-private dining in the summer house – or even gather around the sink in the old wash house, should they choose! We are open throughout the day for lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our extensive menu or to try one of the select few bottles of open wine & fizz see on our our blackboard menu. At the Walled Garden Restaurant we take great pride in using the best local Lancashire produce.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a disappointing meal at this restaurant in September, we were invited back.

What an improvement! The meal we had was wonderful, and the best British food we have eaten in England. The steaks are recommended, beautifully cooked, and very tasty, The service was excellent and very attentive.

In September we said we would never come back....but now we can't wait to go back!

Thank you The Walled Garden....keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john_farnden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic Review!! We're delighted you found your last experience a great improvement. We always take customer feedback on board and it's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the changes we made. So glad you enjoyed our steaks, our new Inka grill certainly adds a delicious flavour to the meat. We'll look forward to seeing you in the Bistro next time,
Laura James Burgess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for The Walled Garden Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

have been to walked garden on numerous occasions usually at lunch time with friends and always find the food great and bistro menu excellent value went last week in evening again with friends and the atmosphere is really comforta le and warm would recommend 2 anyone

Thank pb_berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Afternoon tea was lovely. Warm and friendly atmosphere very helpful service and can't wait to return ..... Soon - I recommend you visit too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My mother and I always come to this eating place for special occasions and have never been disappointed. The restaurant is cosy and the staff are always very helpful. The steaks have always been excellent and their French Fries are delicious. This is definitely a firm favourite of ours and we have been going for a number of years now.

It's not the cheapest place to go but then they do say you get what you pay for and it is certainly well worth the money in my opinion!

Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent feedback. I'm delighted to hear we are among your firm favourites for dining out. We do pride ourselves on our delicious steaks which we purchase from Honeywells. In the not too distant future we'll be teaming up directly with Honeywells and bringing you steaks cooked on our fabulous new charcoal grill which you'll love. I look forward to welcoming you to the Bistro again soon.
Laura James Burgess (Restaurant Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service was spot on not to obtrusive for two friends wanting to catch up. A varied menu to suit all customers' tastes and when we wanted to make changes to the sides there was no issue this was dealt with smoothly and efficiently. You can't fault this venue for the quality of food, ambience and lovely staff.

Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We always try to go out of our way to provide the best service with nothing being too much trouble, so it's lovely that you've acknowledged this. I'll look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro soon.
Laura James Burgess (Restaurant Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walled Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Walled Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing