We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, average and shocking service.”
Review of POND - CLOSED

POND
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A quirky bespoke tapas restaurant.. bar and deli with a difference... Serving fresh local produce with a Peruivan twist...We are allgery aware and can assist with ease...Recently Renovated with a funky bar and merged with our sister restaurant duk .... we are the perfect destination restaurant... bar and deli...Vegan...vegetarian and gluten free..
UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive, average and shocking service.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The food was ok when it appeared although I feel very over priced. The service was shocking. We waited and waited for every aspect of our meal. We ordered dessert, they had run out of something but did not bother to mention the fact until all other desserts had been served to the table and we questionned the whereabouts of the apple pie to be told there is none left. Comical really after being sat for over 3 hours in all. Definitely would not go back. Moka is much better Tappas style in Preston. Superior service and far better value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback i appreciate you taking the time to do so ... i have addressed the issue you raised about your dessert.. i believe we ran out of apple turnover .. as we make all our desserts each morning we only have a limited amount of each , the young man that served you didn't realize until he got to the section that this had occurred he apologize for you not receiving it ,
He should have offered an alternative , i understand the rest of your table received and enjoyed theirs.
As all our food is freshly prepared and not out of a packet as with some other restaurants we get the food to you as quickly as we can...
i do understand that you feel you had to wait and i have noted that with the kitchen ...
If you prefer elsewhere i cannot comment on that... but suffice to say we are a family company doing our best to please everyone,
we take all comments seriously and act on each appropriately , i don't think you will come back but if you want to please do not hesitate to contact me ... as i am more than happy to help

Yours sincerely
Andrea Mellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    30
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had read so many good reviews about this place. I decided that it would be a good choice for a girls night out. It was a busy friday evening and there was a good atmosphere. The tapas menu looked great although some of the dishes seemed a little on the expensive side. I do think that the staff could have given an explanation about the size of the dishes. We asked one of the waitresses and she said it was up to is us what we ordered! We chose a good selection of meat, fish and veggie dishes. The food was ok but it was nothing to rave about. The patatas bravas were poor, just seemed tasteless. There was no spice to them. My main concern was the service. We had to ask three times for a bottle of mineral water and it took over twenty minutes to arrive. At over £28 per head, it was disappointing!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carleymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review... i am sorry to hear that you had to wait for your water,, i agree that you should have not had to i have discussed this with the Team and it won't happen again..
We were extremely busy on the night and although this is not an excuse i think the staff genuinely got distracted by trying to serve all customers at once.

The potatoes we use fresh chillies and sometimes they are very hot and sometimes not ... i have addressed this with the chef and he will make sure they use more ( although for customers wanting less spicy this is possible and all dishes are hand finished to order)

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the atmosphere and i do hope you will call again


Yours sincerely
Andrea Mellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After hearing so many good things about this place, me and the Gf finally decided to give it a try. My initial impression of the place was that it seemed great ; the interior is nice, the lighting was perfect, and ambient music was playing in the back ground.

We were shown to our table. We then sat there puzzled trying to work out which menu was the early bird menu. The waitress came over to to take our drinks order, we asked which menu we should order from... it turns out that our table was missing the early bird menu. OK, no biggy. She grabbed us a menu from an empty table, and we ordered a bottle of wine, and the waitress went. It's quite hard to order from one menu for two people (especially Tapas), so I had to get up and grab a second menu from an empty table.

The waitress came back with the wine, and left us to decide on what to order. We then realized that we were missing wine glasses. Brilliant. The waitress came over to take our food order, we asked for some wine glasses, and she said something along the lines of "you could have just grabbed some from an empty table". This was already turning into a poor experience, but I remained hopeful as I had heard good things about the food.

I think we ordered 8 dishes between us; mussels in a white wine sauce, grilled goats cheese, pita and dips, black pudding with port sauce, patatas bravas, 'sticky chicken' and chorizo in a red wine sauce.

The mussels and goats cheese were very pleasant. The patatas bravas and black pudding were OK. The chorizo dish was very strange; it consisted of chorizo cubes in a bowl covered in an overly sweet, sickly sauce, that completely over whelmed the dish.

The 'sticky chicken' was bloody horrible, and bordered on inedible. It was pretty much just a unseasoned reheated chicken breast doused in sweet chilli sauce (clearly store bought). I could tell the chicken was reheated because it was dry and had that 'left over' chicken taste. Similar to when you eat Sunday's chicken on a Monday.

For desert we ordered a cheese cake, which was good.

Overall, I am extremely disappointed. The waitress was very inattentive (she bordered on being rude), and the food was well below par. The place claims to serve 'tapas', yet they have dishes like "Thai Green Curry Vegetables" on the menu, which doesn't really make much sense. The one thing that we did enjoy was the restaurant itself; the place had a warm ambiance to it, and they played fitting music. But even then, they had the same, short CD on all night. So we were forced to listen to the same songs multiple times.

I won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review , i appreciate your comments and i have held a staff meeting to iron out the issues you mentioned.
The waitress has been reprimanded and apologizes...
I'm glad you enjoyed the ambiance as we are quite unique...
i also note the music you say you heard the same CD all night, this has been corrected now as on the particular evening our ipod broke and we have to quickly revert to the only CD that the staff had to hand ,which they played via the laptop... so there would be at least something playing ... technical difficulties can happen and usual at the busiest time, i m sorry if this was not suitable but the team did their best at that time.

We take great care to ensure all of guests enjoy their visits and that we deal with all issues, i hope that you may call again
Yours sincerely

Andrea Mellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“okay (at best)”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

visited for my girlfriends birthday but wont be going back any time soon. the staff were unattentive and the food was very average, patatas bravas were basically new potatoes warmed through with tinned tomatoes, no seasoning at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank preston_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello,
thank you for your review we appreciate your comments and apologize as you have not enjoyed your visit.
The person concerned in your staff comment as been reprimanded and re trained, they have been experiencing difficulties which is not your problem however we endeavour to be very honest in our approach and do deal with all reviews no matter what the content...

The potatoes you mention...we do use new potatoes roasted then finished in sauce and i have tested the chefs recipe and he now uses more chillies ( although sauces are finished per serving on order so we can make them spicy of not as customers prefer different heat).

Again thank you for your comments and i assure you any errors have been dealt with.
Yours sincerely

Andrea Mellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate here and although it wasnt for us, it doesn't mean that it isn't for you, we like tapas, and this advertises as tapas but it is a mix, peruvian style tapas with a hint of middle eastern spices, some of the food we had we enjoyed, others not so much, but that just means we didnt like the spices that were used, i always try to be constructive and hence why i am saying that you may enjoy it if you like spices from the middle east and not the normal tapas one may be used to. But, certainly glad i tried it, as i say, i enjoyed some of them more than others, but well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your most honest and constructive review... we really appreciate your time and although we weren't for you ... i hope that if you do decide to call in again we would be delighted to cook without the spices as we cook fresh to order and we should be able to give you a lovely taste experience...
I hope others will benefit from your comments too
Kind regards

Andrea Mellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed POND also viewed

 
Woodplumpton, Preston
Preston, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing