We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmmmmm, lovely!”
Review of Porcinis

Porcinis
Ranked #206 of 535 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mmmmmmm, lovely!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I wanted to go to a renowned gastro pub nearby but it was fully booked so I went to Porcinis, I haven't been for a few years as I was always disappointed so entered with some trepidation. However, we 6 ladies had a lovely meal, great service and reasonable prices. I think that there are some staf changes but not sure but i was all lovely and I am so glad I couldn't get into my first choice as went for a drink there (Rams Head Longton) afterwards and it was terrible service! The only thing I would change about Porcinis is that it needed a few more customers...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really wouldn't bother”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had eaten here regularly a few years ago so decided to buy a voucher from Deal Monster. We booked to eat on a Fri night. Firstly, unless the restaurant is full it does lack some atmosphere, it wasn't very busy for Friday night. The service was quite slow but the waiter was pretty much on his own and doing his best. One positive is that the place is pretty family friendly. That is unfortunately the only good thing that I can say. The food was very bland and average. I had a cream sauce pasta which had no taste at all and left me with an upset stomach! My husband didn't get any vegetables with his main course and my fudge cake was hard like it had been in the fridge for weeks. At one point there was a distinct burning smell-not a good smell in a restaurant, Then the bill arrived and this is where I get annoyed, I understand that restaurants need to make their margins-no problem but don't try and rip people off who have purchased a deal in good faith. I understand that margins must be squeezed when they offer these deals but my answer to that is 'Then don't do them'. The bill arrived and we had been charged for our desserts, I was told that they weren't included in the offer-only when I challenged this were they taken off-am sure there are people out there that would have ended up paying it, perhaps I might have considered doing so if the meal hadn't been so disappointing. If we had been impressed by this restaurant then we would have returned again at full price-won't be returning and after our experience it is no wonder that they keep having to offer these deals to get people through the door.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Called in on a rainy Sunday lunchtime. One of party had set sunday lunch menu chocie of 4 starters & couple of mains, excellent quality, well worth price of £9.95. Other party member had chicken livers and being an expert of such declared best ever tasted. Garlic bread fresh and crispy.

Will certainly call again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnslancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food at best”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited here for a meal a couple of weeks ago the place seemed nice but the place was cold and empty! We were one of only 3 tables the whole evening which should have told us it was not a popular place! My lasagne was dry and my other halfs steak was very thin not worth the £16 they would charge for it! Beware - do not order a large wine as they charge £9 and it is not listed in the menu and they do not inform you until the final bill! I would not go back here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gemmaholmes1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great food, great service, no complaints, atmosphere was good and very nice inside, it's a shame the huge and excellent San Marco is close enough to take a lot of business away; I would reccommend Porcini's certainly

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank woody3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcinis also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Porcinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing