We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a1 superior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Preston International
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2009

ultra modern hotel,room clean very up to date wi fi large tv,
near to town,good views from 5th of preston old & new,attentive staff,great breakfast, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrausPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 638 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

Finding the hotel was a joke, I knew where it was but the one way system is a nightmare to the unsuspecting.
Check-in, terrible, served straight away but still took 20mins. Staff poorly trained or simply not given the information they need.
Room was very clean, and quiet. The utmost respect to the house keeping team for the room. Unfortunatly cleanliness stops there, the stair wells, lift, and corridoors need desperate attention. Hand rails grubby and window ledges filthy on stairs.
Service, well here we go. OMG this hotel sets the standard of how not to run a resteraunt. 20 mins waiting to get someone to take my order! 1 hour later still no starter.
I went to the bar where staff where lounging and having a laugh, was totally ignored for 5 mins. When I asked about my order I was looked at as I was dirt, and told bluntly by the lady in her un-ironed uniform that sorry where busy! I ordered soup, what is hard about that? Many guests around me where obviously unhappy with the service as was I, suprise. My main course arrived, before my soup! I was so annoyed but took it as I was starving, then came my soup. Faulty Towers is back?
I sat with a friend in the lounge, to my amazement the staff disappeard and left one person on to serve the bar, man the reception desk and run around like an idiot trying to cope with everyone. Impressed by the commitment to guests by a very charming member of staff who went out of his way with a very dificult individual.
None smoking hotel what a laugh, definatley not a family hotel if you get my drift.
Breakfast, well Legacy say they use fresh local produce of the highest quality. Bland, cheap, and tasteless served in the basement? Staff where rude and milk was off.
I checked out early and relocated at the nearby Holiday Inn.
I have stayed at several Legacy hotels this year and was amazed that a good name was associated with this total disaster. Its nothing more than a cheap B+B. Lots of potential in an excellant location but poorly staffed, offering nothing more than a clean room and comfy bed.
Stay here but eat in town.
Lovely building, some staff very ammicable but let down by others, realy is a shame.
Would love to see this place turned around as it is potentailly a little gem. Sorry I cant recommend it as things are.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WISEWONDERER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Hotel had nice modern decor with amble free parking. Staff were very helpful and room was again modern and clean. Hotel is well placed for anywhere in central Preston. View isnt much (overlooking main road) but is still quiet. would highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed here for a night with our 3 year old daughter and 5 week old son. Rooms are spacious and modern with excellent toiletries provided. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and a good range of items. The real highlight of the hotel was the views of the railway line from the 5th floor. This constantly entertained our 3 year old who waved at practically every train. Don't worry, there are a good 100m away and can't see back into the room! When you shut the windows you can't hear a thing, nice and quiet overnight.

Can't recommend this hotel enough, vastly superior to the Holiday Inn we often stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentWindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I returned to the hotel last week, and promised a 2nd review after the disasters of last time. Sadly things were no better - I had a different room, but again one of the light bulbs didn't work and the safe didn't work (deja vue). The TV and choice of channels is ace. though.

This time there was no shower gel or shampoo in the room. I thought they had just missed out my room, and the staff went through a play of trying to locate some (presumably they thought I was staying only for the one night so I wouldn't realise they had none all week). I later spoke to a colleague who had stayed the previous week, who told me the hotel had been without shower gel and shampoo for at least 2-and-a half weeks. Not good. Why not just tell people when they check in.

The students are back, so it is now a noisy location (not the hotel's fault) and if you park in the wrong place, you are likely to get the remains of someone's dinner (in our case, pizza) thrown out of a window onto your car below. I also now understand the problem with parking - people were leaving their cars all over the place once the spaces were full. Just a warning - there is now a building site next door - and they started using a pile-driver at 7.15ak - you have been warned!

Oh - and be prepared for a hefty credit card surcharge, if you want to settle your bill by credit card.

My booking for the next time I return to Preston is now being moved to the Holiday Inn (as will my colleagues) - the customer service in this hotel is not good. Sorry Legacy - but I did give you a 2nd chance. it's a shame - as this hotel could be so good!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soots_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

The first impression of this hotel where we booked a double room for the night while walking the Ribble Way was that it was clean and modern, unlike the surrounding area. Although on arrival there was no soap and only one towel in the bathroom this was soon put right on phoning reception. It was slightly disappointing to find there was no air conditioning, but what can you expect at these prices? The buffet breakfast was of good quality and the dining area was stylish and pleasant.

On the whole it was a pleasant experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hisneilness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I stayed here for one weeks holiday in June 2009. Preston itself is not a holiday or short break destination but it does have some really attractive buildings and landscaped parks and river walks, and the shopping is not too bad either. It is also a good base from which to make day trips by rail ( and car) to a wide variety of places further afield.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from Preston main line train station which has regular direct trains to Manchester, Leeds, Bradford, York, Liverpool, Blackpool, Carlisle, Windermere, Scotland, Barrow, Cumbrian Fells and coast, North York Dales and Moors. etc.. Most of these are included in a 7 day unlimited travel North West rail rover ticket which costs only £70.00, which I used during my stay.

The rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean, modern, spacious and stylish, but without being clinical and sterile. Decor is neutral. The rooms all have wall mounted plasma TV as well as abundant lighting which can be adjusted to create a varying degrees of mood and ambience. The beds are also really soft and very comfortable.


I believe I read somewhere that the rooms are air conditioned, but this is not the case. However, for the most of the year, given the UK climate, this wouldn't really matter that much. The public areas (bar, reception, restaurant etc..), however, all are air conditioned.

Though some of the rooms overlook a busy dual carriageway, with the windows closed the noise is minimal.

The towels are changed daily and there is none of this phoney eco claptrap nonsense about re-using them in order to save the planet, preserving fossil fuels, energy etc..

The breakfast is self service unlimited hot and cold buffet, including full range of cooked items, cereals, juices, fresh baked pastries and rolls, and various selections of fruits. The coffee machine does expresso, latte, cappucino, chocolate etc.. The quality and variety on offer is exceptional and there are plenty of tables and seating in the breakfast room, which is also air conditioned, affording a very relaxed and civilised start to the day.

At weekends, the clientiele is leisure travellers (but not rowdy) and during the week almost exclusively business travellers, so no problems with noise or getting a good nights sleep. It certainly does not look or feel like a budget hotel but, then, I did not expect it to be as I have stayed in Legacy Hotels before. The only budget thing about it was the bargain price which, through lastminute.com, was only about one third of the advertised rack rate of £110.00 a night.

The staff were fine and no problems regarding quality of service.

The only negative point is that there is no draught beer, with the bottled beer being very expensive at £3.20 for a 275ml bottled lager, which would induce you to want to do much of your drinking elsewhere unless you are on a business expense account.

I counted only 48 car parking spaces for a hotel with 75 rooms, so parking might also be a bit tight at times, as it appeared to be on the Saturday night. If you travel by rail, as I did, this will not affect you.

Ovreall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel or in staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
664 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Preston Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Preston International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Preston International

Address: Marsh Lane, Preston PR1 2YF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Preston
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Preston International 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Preston International Hotel. This hotel is ideally located close to the ring road, and within easy reach of the M6 Motorway, making it an ideal accommodation base for both business and leisure. The Legacy Preston International Hotel offers guests the following up to date facilities: 75 contemporary-style bedrooms, disabled-friendly bedrooms available on request, all rooms fitted with iron & ironing board & 'in-room' safes, guest lift to all floors, flat-screen satellite televisions with remote control, FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel, meeting rooms - 3, 24-hour Reception with secure door entry between 11.00pm & 7.00am, Cafe Bar Menu served DAILY 10.00am until 10.00pm, Extensive Lounge Menu, Licensed Bar, FREE Car Parking for 40 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Preston International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Preston International Hotel Preston
Legacy Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing