We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of Punchbowl Lapworth

Punchbowl Lapworth
Reserve with OpenTable
Punchbowl Lapworth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 297 Restaurants in Solihull
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Evesham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I took her mother there last Sunday (Mothers Day). Nice decor and atmosphere, excellent service. But the food was just OK, nothing memorable. And we were sitting near the emergency exit, which was used frquently by staff and customers to access the smoking area, letting the icy wind in. We mentioned it to our otherwise excellent waitress but the problem persisted - the problem being that there was no handle on the outside of the door and it had to be left ajar in order to get back in! On a freezing cold day. Management - either stop using this door in cold weather or make it into proper entrance/exit. Simples!

The other issue was the ludicrous pricing. There was a special Mothers Day menu, 2 courses for £22, when many of the same dishes could be selected from the normal menu for £6-8 less! So that's what we did. Was this special menu a cynical attempt to fleece the customers or just plain management incompetence?

We won't be going back, mainly because there are much better pubs in the area, properly managed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    98
    60
    44
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been going to the Punchbowl for over 4 years and the consistency of the food and service has not changed. Firstly the setting of the pub is idyllic with lots of parking and situated amidst fields in a local village not far from Solihull.

The owners are very friendly and the pub is warm and initimate without being pretentious. The menu very rarely changes but they do have seasonal specials and daily specials which change from time to time. The portion sizes are quite large but not overwhelming especially as they also do some lovely desserts too.

The atmosphere is buzzing when busy without being loud and noisy and is a perfect family place where children are very welcome. Most of the waiting staff are Australian and they have all been trained to a high level as over the past 4 years I haven't come across an unhappy waiter/waitress.

Overall a lovely place for a celebration or a quiet dinner or lunch - lovely hearty food in a idyllic setting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quality food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went to the Punchbowl with my better half on Jan 16th 2013 and was delighted. The food was perfect, especially the pate and the portions were plentiful. The fish and chips were cooked to perfection and very nicely presented. I had a goats cheese salad which was really delicious and also very nicely presented. The staff were attentive and i really enjoyed the quality of wine on offer. Overall this restaurant is classy and cosy. Compliments to the head chef who is clearly delivering exactly what people want. We will be returning very soon. I would highly recommend this restaurant to adults looking for a relaxing evening of fine wine and dining. This is not really a place for children, unless you are attending a private function.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rockin”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I visited the pub (now far from just a 'pub') for the first time in about 20 years for dinner with some friends and had a wonderful evening. The atmosphere is friendly and smart and the food really was delicious. Once of the best places i have ever been to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_mcg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable lunchtime”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Four of us went to the Punchbowl to relax and enjoy time together over lunch. We were welcomed and taken care of by cheerful and efficient staff throughout our two hours there. Food was very good and there was a good choice available at each course.desserts were very attractively presented as well as being delicious.The belly pork crackled beautifully.
I am already looking forward to the next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punchbowl Lapworth also viewed

Lapworth, Warwickshire
Lapworth, Warwickshire
 
Knowle, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Punchbowl Lapworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing