We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

we needed san overnight stop coming north and this Premier Inn was right where we needed to be, conveniently situated just off the M42. Plenty of parking, and the quality of the the hotel was excellent. Friendly efficient reception, room good size, very clean, well equipped. Used the on site restaurant food quality good and a good breakfast selection to start the day. Have found Premier Inns offer consistent quality for a simple no fuss overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricthevic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Solihull South M42 Premier Inn.
It’s wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay and your kind comments will be passed onto the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was only a one night stay, while we visited family in Birmingham, but it was really nice. We've stayed here before in the past and really enjoyed it. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The check in process was very efficient, and the wifi was good.

It is close to the motorway network, but it's located in a quiet suburban area.
It is a 2 minute drive to the local supermarket which is situated close to a few fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and that the team looked after you.


We hope to welcome you back to Solihull South M42 Premier Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellent hotel, staff friendly & The Plough service & food was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

Worth going just to see the friendly and infectious from one particular waitress who served my evening meal

The only thing l would add premier Inns in general, few more channels on the TV especially sports


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Solihull South M42 Premier inn, it is a delight to hear we could make your stay so enjoyable.

I will definitely pass on your lovely comments regarding the restaurant and the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Modern and surprisingly quiet. Helpful cheerful staff with a good sized room. Easy access from M42 with plenty of car parking. Better perhaps to have a first floor room as it sounds like elephants are cleaning the room this morning.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Dilliondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Solihull South M42 Premier Inn, it is great to hear we could make your stay so comfortable. I apologise for the noise on the first floor in the morning, noise within the hotel is something we focus a lot of our attention on in order to give our guests the quietest night possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in the future,

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for work as we had a meeting in the area. There is plenty of parking and the check in was good.

I was very surprised by the rooms... lots of room, a choice of pillows and a big, new flat screen TV on the wall.

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and modern with wall dispensed soap units.

I used the wifi, which was a good speed and really cheap at only £3 for 24h.

Had breakfast across the road for just £8.75 and the choice was wide, with all ingredients fresh. We also had dinner in the restaurant the night before. The menu is really varied, but the food was quick and actually really nice (which I wasn't expecting as I haven't eaten in a Beefeater in years). There is however a Harvester also, just down the road.

My only gripe is with the quality of the pillows - other than that, a really good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Premeir Inn, the team here at Solihull South M42 are always striving to provide the best customer service possible to our guests.

I apologise you didn't find the pillows too comfy, please note we are getting a lovely new box of pillows soon! When you next stay with us we hope they will be more to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you to Solihull again in the future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night so we could visit the Gadget Show at the NEC. It was in good travelling distance to the NEC and was clean and comfortable. It has been refurbished so this was a bonus. Only negative comment would be we were on the ground floor and the people in the room above were very heavy footed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Solihull South M42 Premier Inn, and I apologise that on this occasion your expectations were not met with regards to noise. Please be aware we are currently tackling this issue and will be passing your comment on, and our team constantly strive to provide the best nights sleep we can for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in the future,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stay here twice a year for business.
Comfortable pleasant room. Good mattress, pillows and cotton bed linen.
A bit stingy on the towels. A bath towel each but have to share a hand towel.
Only real niggle is only 1/2 hour free WiFi - not good enough these days.




  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightsparkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Solihull South M42 Premier Inn, I apologise the change to one hand towel is not sufficient and will pass on this comment on your behalf. Please know we always have plenty of spares ready and waiting in reception if you would like another!

Alternatively if you could give us a quick call once you have made your next booking we can ensure there is already one waiting in the room for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solihull hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
679 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
1.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,848 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Address: Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Solihull
#11 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: $61 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quiet spot is handy for big acts at the NEC, Birmingham Airport and many local golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing